April 12, 2001

H 1271. N.C. NATIONAL HERITAGE AREA/COMMISSION. TO ESTABLISH THE NATIONAL HERITAGE AREA COMMISSION TO SEEK THE DESIGNATION THROUGH THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS OF THE NORTH CAROLINA APPALACHIAN HERITAGE AREA AS A NATIONAL HERITAGE AREA. As title indicates. Sets out method of appointment of 16 comm'n members and lists 5 ex officio non-voting members. Requires Comm'n to elicit public involvement in the required suitability and feasibility study within the 23-county area. Requires the Western North Carolina Regional Economic Development Comm'n to provide administrative and funding support, to develop a regional heritage tourism plan, and to present the plan to the 2002 Regular Session of the 2001 General Assembly by May 1, 2001. Effective July 1, 2002. Intro. by Haire.

Ref. to Rules UNCODIFIED

August 2, 2001

H 1271. N.C. NATIONAL HERITAGE AREA/COMMISSION. Intro. 4/12/01. House committee substitute makes the following changes to 1st edition. Adds provision specifying counties to be included in the 23 county mountain region: Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Burke, Buncombe, Caldwell, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, and Yancey.

August 21, 2001

H 1272. ENERGY CONSERVATION/PILOT PROGRAM. Intro. 4/12/01. Senate amendment makes the following changes to 3rd edition. Makes technical changes only.