## November 5, 2001

H 1477. HOUSE CONGRESSIONAL PLAN. TO DIVIDE NORTH CAROLINA INTO THIRTEEN CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS. Creates 13 congressional districts as title indicates. District 1 includes Bertie, Chowan, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Warren, and Washington counties, and portions of Beaufort, Craven, Granville, Jones, Lenoir, Nash, Pitt, Vance, Wayne, and Wilson counties. District 2 includes Franklin, Harnett, Johnston, and Lee counties, and portions of Chatham, Cumberland, Nash, Sampson, Vance, and Wake counties. District 3 includes Camden, Carteret, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, Onslow, Pamlico, and Tyrrell counties, and portions of Beaufort, Craven, Duplin, Jones, Lenoir, Nash, and Wayne counties. District 4 includes Durham and Orange counties, and portions of Chatham and Wake counties, District 5 includes Alexander, Alleghany, Ashe, Davie, Stokes, Surry, Wilkes, and Yadkin counties, and portions of Forsyth, Iredell, Rockingham, and Watauga counties. District 6 includes Randolph County and portions of Alamance, Cabarrus, Davidson, Guilford, Moore, Rowan, and Stanly counties. District 7 includes Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover, Pender, and Robeson counties, and portions of Cumberland, Sampson, Scotland, and Duplin counties. District 8 includes Anson, Hoke, Montgomery, and Richmond counties, and portions of Cabarrus, Cumberland, Mecklenburg, Moore, Scotland, and Stanly counties. District 9 includes Union County and portions of Catawba, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, and Mecklenburg counties. District 10 includes Avery, Caldwell, McDowell, and Mitchell counties, and portions of Buncombe, Burke, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Haywood, Henderson, Lincoln, Polk, Rutherford, Transylvania, and Watauga counties. District 11 includes Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Jackson, Macon, Madison, Swain, and Yancey counties, and portions of Buncombe, Burke, Cleveland, Gaston, Haywood, Henderson, Polk, Rutherford, and Transylvania counties. District 12 includes portions of Cabarrus, Davidson, Forsyth, Guilford, Mecklenburg, and Rowan counties. District 13 includes Caswell, and Person counties, and portions of Alamance, Granville, Guilford, Rockingham, and Wake counties.

Intro. by Wright, Alexander, Hill.

······································	
Ref. to Congressional Redistricting	GS 163

## November 14, 2001

H 1477. CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING WRIGHT 3A. Intro. 11/5/01. House committee substitute makes the following changes to 1st edition. Creates Congressional districts as follows: Dist. 1—Bertie, Chowan, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perguimans, Warren, Washington, and portions of Beaufort, Granville, Jones, Lenoir, Nash, Pitt, Vance, Wayne, and Wilson counties; Dist. 2-Franklin, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, and portions of Chatham, Cumberland, Nash, Sampson, Vance, and Wake counties; Dist. 3-Camden, Carteret, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, Onslow, Pamlico, Tyrrell, and portions of Beaufort, Craven, Jones, Lenoir, Nash, and Wilson counties; Dist. 4-Durham, Orange, and portions of Chatham and Wake counties; Dist. 5-Alexander, Ashe, Davie, Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and portions of Forsyth and Rockingham counties; Dist. 6—Moore, Randolph, and portions of Alamance, Davidson, Guilford, and Rowan counties; Dist. 7-Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover, Pender, Robeson, and portions of Cumberland, Duplin, Sampson, and Scotland counties; Dist. 8—Anson, Hoke, Montgomery, Richmond, Stanly, and portions of Cabarrus, Cumberland, Mecklenburg, and Union counties; Dist. 9-portions of Gaston, Mecklenburg, and Union counties; Dist. 10-Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Lincoln, Mitchell, and portions of Gaston and Iredell counties; Dist. 11-Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, McDowell, Macon, Madison, Polk, Swain, Transylvania, Yancey, and portions of Rutherford counties; Dist. 12-portions of Cabarrus, Davidson, Forsyth, Guilford, Mecklenburg, and Rowan counties; Dist. 13-Caswell, Person, and portions of Alamance, Granville, Guilford, Rockingham, and Wake counties.

## November 14, 2001

**H 1477. CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING WRIGHT 3A.** Intro. 11/5/01. House committee substitute makes the following changes to 1st edition. Creates Congressional districts as follows: Dist. 1—Bertie, Chowan, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Martin, Northampton,

Pasquotank, Perquimans, Warren, Washington, and portions of Beaufort, Granville, Jones, Lenoir, Nash, Pitt, Vance, Wayne, and Wilson counties; Dist. 2-Franklin, Harnett, Johnston, Lee, and portions of Chatham, Cumberland, Nash, Sampson, Vance, and Wake counties; Dist. 3-Camden, Carteret, Currituck, Dare, Hyde, Onslow, Pamlico, Tyrrell, and portions of Beaufort, Craven, Jones, Lenoir, Nash, and Wilson counties; Dist. 4-Durham, Orange, and portions of Chatham and Wake counties; Dist. 5—Alexander, Ashe, Davie, Stokes, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and portions of Forsyth and Rockingham counties; Dist. 6-Moore, Randolph, and portions of Alamance, Davidson, Guilford, and Rowan counties; Dist. 7-Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus, New Hanover, Pender, Robeson, and portions of Cumberland, Duplin, Sampson, and Scotland counties; Dist. 8-Anson, Hoke, Montgomery, Richmond, Stanly, and portions of Cabarrus, Cumberland, Mecklenburg, and Union counties; Dist. 9-portions of Gaston, Mecklenburg, and Union counties; Dist. 10—Avery, Burke, Caldwell, Catawba, Cleveland, Lincoln, Mitchell, and portions of Gaston and Iredell counties; Dist. 11-Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, McDowell, Macon, Madison, Polk, Swain, Transylvania, Yancey, and portions of Rutherford counties; Dist. 12-portions of Cabarrus, Davidson, Forsyth, Guilford, Mecklenburg, and Rowan counties; Dist. 13-Caswell, Person, and portions of Alamance, Granville, Guilford, Rockingham, and Wake counties.

## November 29, 2001

SL 2001-471 (H 1477). CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING WRIGHT 3A. AN ACT TO DIVIDE NORTH CAROLINA INTO THIRTEEN CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS. Summarized in Daily Bulletin 11/5/01 and 11/14/01. Enacted Nov. 28, 2001. Effective Nov. 28, 2001.