March 22, 2007

S 1470. COUNCIL OF STATE IMPLEMENTING STATUTE. Filed 3/22/07. TO MAKE NECESSARY STATUTORY CHANGES TO IMPLEMENT A PROPOSED CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT TO PROVIDE THAT THE ELECTED MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL OF STATE ARE THE GOVERNOR, LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR, AUDITOR, TREASURER, AND ATTORNEY GENERAL.

Article II of the NC Constitution provides that the Council of State consists of the following ten officials elected every four years: the Governor, Lt. Governor, Secretary of State, Auditor, Treasurer, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Attorney General, Commissioner of Agriculture, Commissioner of Labor, and Commissioner of Insurance. Effective upon voter approval of a constitutional amendment limiting the Council of State to the five officials indicated in the title, the act makes statutory changes to provide for appointment by the Governor of the following five officials: Secretary of State, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Commissioner of Agriculture, Commissioner of Labor, and Commissioner of Insurance.

Intro. by Albertson.

GS 58, 95, 106, 115C, 147, 163