## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

H D

## HOUSE BILL 1673 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H1673-PCS30496-RN-49

Short Title: Municipal Tax Certification.	(Local)
Sponsors:	
Referred to:	
May 13, 2010	
A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
AN ACT TO HELP MUNICIPALITIES COLLECT DELINQUENT PROP	ERTY TAXES.
The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:	
<b>SECTION 1.</b> G.S. 161-31 reads as rewritten:	
"§ 161-31. Tax certification.	
(a) Tax Certification. – The board of commissioners of a county	may, by resolution,
require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real properties.	•
unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valore	m county taxes, ad
valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charge	ed are a lien on the
property described in the deed. all of the following:	
(1) That no delinquent ad valorem county taxes are a lie	en on the property
described in the deed.	
(2) That no delinquent ad valorem municipal taxes are a li	
described in the deed. If a county tax collector is not char	•
ad valorem municipal taxes for a municipality in the	
resolution shall direct how the county tax collector	
certification from the tax collector charged with coll	lecting ad valorem
municipal taxes.	1 11 .1
(3) That no other taxes with which the collector is charged	d are a lien on the
property described in the deed.	1
The county commissioners may describe the form the certification	1 must take in its
resolution.	missionens adamts a
(a1) Exception to Tax Certification. – If a board of county common resolution pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, notwithstanding the res	<u>-</u>
of deeds shall accept without certification a deed submitted for regi	_
supervision of a closing attorney and containing this statement on the deep	
prepared by:, a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent	
paid by the closing attorney to the county tax collector upon disbursement of	=
(b) Applicability. – This section applies only to Alexander, Anson	
Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, Cherokee, Chowa	
Currituck, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gasto	
Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyd	
Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, M	
Northampton Onclow Pasquotank Pander Parquimans Parson Dit	•



## **General Assembly Of North Carolina**

Session 2009

- Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Stanly, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, 1
- 2 Washington, Wayne, Wilson, and Yadkin Counties."
- **SECTION 2.** This act applies to Duplin County only.
- 4 **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law.