GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2009

S

SENATE BILL 56 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE S56-PCS75251-LL-22

Short Title: District Court District 13 Residency.

(Public)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

February 4, 2009

1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED	
2	AN ACT TO AMEND THE LAW PROVIDING BALANCE AMONG THE COUNTIES IN	
3	THE RESIDENCY OF DISTRICT COURT JUDGES IN DISTRICT COURT DISTRICT	
4	13.	
5	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:	
6	SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(b2) reads as rewritten:	
7	"(b2) The qualified voters of District Court District 13 shall elect all six judges	
8	established for the District in subsection (a) of this section, but only persons who reside in	
9	Bladen County may be candidates for one of those judgeships, only persons who reside in	
10	Columbus County may be candidates for one two of those judgeships, and only persons who	
11	reside in Brunswick County may be candidates for two three of those judgeships. The district	
12	court judgeship established for residents of Bladen County by this subsection shall be the	
13		tly held by Judge Phillips, who resides in Bladen County. The district court
14	judgeship established for residents of Columbus County by this subsection shall be the	
15	judgeship currently held by Judge Jolly, who resides in Columbus County. The district court	
16	judgeships established for residents of Brunswick County by this subsection shall be the	
17	judgeships currently held by Judge Barefoot and Judge Warren, who reside in Brunswick	
18	County. Those judges' successors shall be elected for four year terms in the 2008 general	
19	election. Candidates for the remaining judgeships in District 13 may be residents of any county	
20	within the district. These district court judgeships shall be numbered and assigned for residency	
21	purposes as follows:	
22	<u>(1)</u>	Seat number one, established for residents of Brunswick County by this
23		section, shall be the seat currently held by Judge Barefoot.
24	<u>(2)</u>	Seat number two, established for residents of Brunswick County by this
25		section, shall be the seat currently held by Judge Fairley.
26	<u>(3)</u>	Seat number three, established for residents of Brunswick County by this
27		section, shall be the seat currently held by Judge Warren.
28	<u>(4)</u>	Seat number four, established for residents of Columbus County by this
29		section, shall be the seat currently held by Judge Jolly.
30	<u>(5)</u>	Seat number five, established for residents of Columbus County by this
31		section, shall be the seat currently held by Judge Tyler.
32	<u>(6)</u>	Seat number six, established for residents of Bladen County by this section,
33		shall be the seat currently held by Judge Ussery."



SECTION 2. This act becomes effective on the date upon which Section 1 of this
act is approved under section 5 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965.