GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

Н

Short Title:

Sponsors:

HOUSE BILL 296 Committee Substitute Favorable 3/31/11 PROPOSED SENATE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H296-PCS70291-SA-79

Sampson-Delinquent Taxpayers.

]	Referred to:		
March 10, 2011			March 10, 2011
			A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
4	AN ACT TO AUTHORIZE SAMPSON COUNTY TO PROHIBIT THE ISSUANCE OF A		
	SPECIAL USE OR CONDITIONAL USE PERMIT, OR A BUILDING PERMIT, TO A		
	DELINQUENT TAXPAYER, AND TO AUTHORIZE SAMPSON COUNTY TO		
	REQUIRE THE PAYMENT OF DELINQUENT PROPERTY TAXES BEFORE		
	RECORDING DEEDS CONVEYING PROPERTY.		
The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:			
SECTION 1.(a) G.S. 153A-340 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:			
'	'§ 153A-	340. G	rant of power.
	<u>(c2)</u>	A co	unty may by ordinance provide that a special use permit or conditional use
1	permit m	<u>ay not l</u>	be issued under subsection (c1) of this section to a person who owes delinquent
property taxes, determined under G.S. 105-360, on property owned by the person. Such			
ordinance may provide that a special use permit or conditional use permit may be issued to a			
1	person pr	otesting	g the assessment or collection of property taxes.
	"		
		SEC	TION 1.(b) This section applies to Sampson County only.
		SEC	TION 2. G.S. 153A-357(c) reads as rewritten:
'	'§ 153A-	357. P	ermits.
	(c)	(1)	A county may by ordinance provide that a permit may not be issued under subsection (a) of this section to a person who owes delinquent property taxes, determined under G.S. 105-360, on property owned by the person. Such ordinance may provide that a building permit may be issued to a person protesting the assessment or collection of property taxes.
		(2)	This subsection applies to Alexander, Alleghany, Anson, Bertie, Catawba,
		(-)	Chowan, Currituck, Davie, Gates, Greene, Lenoir, Lincoln, Iredell,
			<u>Sampson, Stokes, Surry, Tyrrell, Wayne, and Yadkin Counties only.</u>
	"		<u>Sumpson,</u> Stokes, Surry, Tyrren, Wayne, and Taakin Counties only.
	••••	SEC	TION 3. G.S. 161-31(b) reads as rewritten:
,	'8 161 . 3'		certification.
	3 101-9.	10 I AA	
	•••		



D

(Local)

General Assembly Of North Carolina

Applicability. - This section applies only to Alamance, Alexander, Anson, Beaufort, 1 (b) 2 Bertie, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, 3 Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, Durham, 4 Edgecombe, Forsyth, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax, Harnett, Haywood, 5 Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, 6 Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, 7 Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Sampson, Stanly, 8 Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Wilson, Yadkin, and 9 Yancey Counties." 10 **SECTION 4.** This act is effective when it becomes law.