GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2011

S

SENATE BILL 859 State and Local Government & Committee Substitute Adopted 6/5/12 PROPOSED HOUSE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE S859-PCS75210-TH-16

Short Title: Pilot Mountain/Dobson Even-Year Elections.

(Local)

D

Sponsors:

Referred to:

May 23, 2012

1

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

- AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT REGULAR MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS IN THE TOWN OF
 PILOT MOUNTAIN AND THE TOWN OF DOBSON ARE HELD IN
 EVEN-NUMBERED YEARS.
- 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

6 **SECTION 1.** Section 3.3 of the Charter of the Town of Pilot Mountain, being 7 Chapter 28 of the Session Laws of 1971, as amended by Town Ordinance 217, adopted April 8 22, 2002, reads as rewritten:

9 "Sec. 3.3. Terms; Qualifications; Vacancies.

(a) The Mayor shall and members of the Board of Commissioners shall serve for terms
of four (4) years, beginning the day and hour of the organizational meeting following their
election, as established by ordinance in accordance with this Charter; provided, they shall serve
until their successors are elected and qualify.qualify, provided further that (i) the Mayor elected
in 2011 shall serve a term of three years, but the Mayor's successors shall serve terms of four
years; and (ii) the members of the board of commissioners elected in 2009 and 2011 shall serve
terms of three years, but the members' successors shall serve terms of four years.

17

...."

18 SECTION 2. Section 4.1 of the Charter of the Town of Pilot Mountain, being
 19 Chapter 28 of the Session Laws of 1971, is rewritten to read:

20 "Sec. 4.1. Regular Elections. Elections shall be held biennially on the Tuesday after the first Monday in November, beginning in 2012. In the 2014 election and quadrennially thereafter, the 21 candidate for Mayor who receives the largest number of votes cast for Mayor shall be declared 22 23 elected for a term of four years. In the 2012 election and guadrennially thereafter, the two 24 candidates for Commissioner who receive the largest numbers of votes cast for Commissioner 25 shall be declared elected for terms of four years. In the 2014 election and quadrennially 26 thereafter, the two candidates for Commissioner who receive the largest numbers of votes cast 27 for Commissioner shall be declared elected for terms of four years. Regular municipal elections 28 shall be held biennially in even-numbered years, but shall otherwise be conducted in 29 accordance with the general law governing municipal elections, except that absentee ballots 30 shall be available on the same schedule as for county and State officers at that election."

31 **SECTION 3.** Section 3.3 of the Charter of the Town of Dobson, being Chapter 232 32 of the Session Laws of 1975, as amended by Town Ordinance dated February 18, 2010, reads 33 as rewritten:



General Assembly Of North Carolina

1 "Sec. 3.3. Terms; qualifications; vacancies. 2 The members of the Board of Commissioners shall serve for terms of four years, (a) 3 and the Mayor shall serve for a term of four years, beginning the day and hour of the 4 organizational meeting following their election, as established by ordinance in accordance with 5 this Charter; provided, they shall serve until their successors are elected and qualify.qualify, 6 provided further that (i) the Mayor elected in 2009 shall serve a term of five years, but the 7 Mayor's successors shall serve terms of four years; and (ii) the members of the board of 8 commissioners elected in 2009 and 2011 shall serve terms of five years, but the members' 9 successors shall serve terms of four years. 10 No person shall be eligible to be a candidate or to be elected as Mayor or as a (b) 11 member of the Board of Commissioners or to serve in such capacity, unless he is a resident and a qualified voter of the Town. 12 13 In the event a vacancy occurs in the office of Mayor or Commissioner, the Board (c) 14 shall by majority vote appoint some qualified person to fill the same for the remainder of the 15 unexpired term." 16 **SECTION 4.** Section 4.1 of the Charter of the Town of Dobson, being Chapter 17 232 of the Session Laws of 1975, reads as rewritten: 18 "Sec. 4.1. Regular municipal elections. Regular municipal elections shall be held biennially 19 in odd-numbered even-numbered years on the day set by general law for municipal elections.the 20 Tuesday after the first Monday in November, beginning in 2014. In the 1975-2014 regular 21 municipal election and biennially quadrennially thereafter there shall be elected a Mayor for a 22 term of two-four years. In the 1975–2016 regular municipal election and quadrennially 23 thereafter, three Commissioners shall be elected to serve terms of four years each. In the 1977 24 2014 regular municipal election and quadrennially thereafter, two Commissioners shall be 25 elected to serve terms of four years each."

26

SECTION 5. This act is effective when it becomes law.