GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

FILED SENATE
Jan 31, 2013
S.R. 40
PRINCIPAL CLERK

 \mathbf{S}

SENATE RESOLUTION DRSR15035-LG-22A* (01/24)

Sponsors: Senator Jenkins (Primary Sponsor).
Referred to:
A SENATE RESOLUTION HONORING THE FOUNDERS OF THE TOWN OF CONWAY.
Whereas, the Town of Conway in eastern Northampton County was settled around
1835; and
Whereas, the area was first known as Martin Crossroads and then as Kirby; and
Whereas, in 1888, a small depot was built in the area and named Conway in honor
of the wife of an officer of the railroad; and
Whereas, in the late 1880s the residents of Conway petitioned the government to
establish a post office in the area; and
Whereas, the Town of Conway was incorporated by an act of the General Assembly
in 1913; and
Whereas, the Town's first officers included Mayor J.E. Taylor, Constable J.P. Garriss, and Commissioners Abner Lassiter, W.T. Bridges, R.T. White, J.O. Flythe, and D.C.
Bridges; and
Whereas, Conway has always been primarily an agricultural community, producing
such crops as peanuts, cotton, corn, and soybeans; and
Whereas, Conway's citizens are very proud of their heritage and small town friendly
atmosphere; and
Whereas, Conway has continued to prosper through the continued dedication,
insight, and planning of the Town's leaders and citizens; and
Whereas, 2013 marks the 100th anniversary of the Town of Conway, an occasion
worthy of celebration by all North Carolinians; Now, therefore,
Be it resolved by the Senate:
SECTION 1. The Senate honors the founders of the Town of Conway and joins the
Town's citizens in recognizing the Town's 100th anniversary. SECTION 2. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution
to the Mayor of the Town of Conway.
to the mayor of the Town of Conway.



SECTION 3. This resolution is effective upon adoption.