GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

H HOUSE BILL 569

HOUSE BILL 569 PROPOSED SENATE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H569-PCS10579-TQ-74

D

Short Title: Foxfire/Satellite Annexations. (Local)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

April 4, 2013

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT REMOVING CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE VILLAGE OF FOXFIRE AND TO REMOVE CERTAIN RESTRICTIONS ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF HARRISBURG.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22 23

2425

26

2728

29

30

SECTION 1.(a) G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(4) is repealed.

SECTION 1.(b) This section applies to the Village of Foxfire only.

SECTION 2.(a) G.S. 160A-58.1(b)(5) reads as rewritten:

"(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Smithfield, Spencer, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon."

SECTION 2.(b) This section applies to the Town of Harrisburg only.

SECTION 3. This act becomes effective June 30, 2014.

