GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

S

SENATE BILL 741 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE S741-PCS45187-TD-45

Short Title: Bladen, Columbus, Franklin/Tax Cert.

(Local)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

May 15, 2014

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT TO ALLOW BLADEN COUNTY, COLUMBUS COUNTY, AND FRANKLIN 3 COUNTY TO NOT ACCEPT THE REGISTRATION OF A DEED TRANSFERRING 4 REAL PROPERTY WHEN TAXES ARE DELINQUENT. 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 6 SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31 reads as rewritten: 7 "§ 161-31. Tax certification. 8 Tax Certification. - The board of commissioners of a county may, by resolution, (a) 9 require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property for registration 10 unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valorem county taxes, ad 11 valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the 12 property described in the deed. The county commissioners may describe the form the 13 certification must take in its resolution. 14 (a1) Exception to Tax Certification. - If a board of county commissioners adopts a resolution pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, notwithstanding the resolution, the register 15 of deeds shall accept without certification a deed submitted for registration under the 16 17 supervision of a closing attorney and containing this statement on the deed: "This instrument 18 prepared by: , a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent taxes, if any, to be paid 19 by the closing attorney to the county tax collector upon disbursement of closing proceeds. Applicability. - This section applies only to Alamance, Alexander, Anson, Beaufort, 20 (b) Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba, 21 22 Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Columbus, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin, 23 Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifax, 24 Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee, Lenoir, 25 Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton, Onslow, 26 Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowan, Rutherford, Sampson, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warren, 27 Washington, Wayne, Wilson, Yadkin, and Yancey Counties." 28

29

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.



D