## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2013

S D

## **SENATE BILL 741**

## Finance Committee Substitute Adopted 6/11/14 PROPOSED HOUSE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE S741-PCS35564-TM-57

Short Title: Bladen, Columbus, Franklin, Hoke/Tax Cert. (Local
Sponsors:
Referred to:
May 15, 2014
A BILL TO BE ENTITLED  AN ACT TO ALLOW BLADEN COUNTY, COLUMBUS COUNTY, FRANKLIS COUNTY, AND HOKE COUNTY TO NOT ACCEPT THE REGISTRATION OF A DEED TRANSFERRING REAL PROPERTY WHEN TAXES ARE DELINQUENT.  The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:  SECTION 1. G.S. 161-31 reads as rewritten:  "§ 161-31. Tax certification.  (a) Tax Certification. – The board of commissioners of a county may, by resolution require the register of deeds not to accept any deed transferring real property for registratio unless the county tax collector has certified that no delinquent ad valorem county taxes, a valorem municipal taxes, or other taxes with which the collector is charged are a lien on the property described in the deed. The county commissioners may describe the form the certification must take in its resolution.  (a1) Exception to Tax Certification. – If a board of county commissioners adopts resolution pursuant to subsection (a) of this section, notwithstanding the resolution, the register
of deeds shall accept without certification a deed submitted for registration under the supervision of a closing attorney and containing this statement on the deed: "This instrumer prepared by:, a licensed North Carolina attorney. Delinquent taxes, if any, to be paid by the closing attorney to the county tax collector upon disbursement of closing proceeds.  (b) Applicability. – This section applies only to Alamance, Alexander, Anson, Beaufor Bertie, Bladen, Brunswick, Buncombe, Burke, Cabarrus, Camden, Carteret, Caswell, Catawba
Cherokee, Chowan, Clay, Cleveland, Columbus, Currituck, Dare, Davidson, Davie, Duplin Durham, Edgecombe, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Gates, Graham, Granville, Greene, Halifan Harnett, Haywood, Henderson, Hertford, Hoke, Hyde, Iredell, Jackson, Johnston, Jones, Lee Lenoir, Lincoln, Macon, Madison, Martin, McDowell, Montgomery, Nash, Northampton Onslow, Pasquotank, Pender, Perquimans, Person, Pitt, Polk, Robeson, Rockingham, Rowar Rutherford, Sampson, Stanly, Stokes, Surry, Swain, Transylvania, Tyrrell, Vance, Warrer Washington, Wayne, Wilson, Yadkin, and Yancey Counties."



**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.