GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2015

H D

HOUSE BILL 390 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H390-PCS30297-TC-14

Short Title:	Beaufort Co. CC/Washington Co.	(Local)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		

March 31, 2015

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO AUTHORIZE THE EXPANSION OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF BEAUFORT COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE AND TO PROVIDE THAT BEAUFORT COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE SHALL SERVE ALL OF WASHINGTON COUNTY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

1 2

 SECTION 1.(a) G.S. 115D-12(a) reads as rewritten:

"(a) Each community college established or operated pursuant to this Chapter shall be governed by a board of trustees consisting of 13 members, or of additional members if selected according to the special procedure prescribed by the third paragraph of this subsection, who shall be selected by the following agencies. No member of the General Assembly may be appointed to a local board of trustees for a community college.

Group One – four trustees, elected by the board of education of the public school administrative unit located in the administrative area of the institution. If there are two or more public school administrative units, whether city or county units, or both, located within the administrative area, the trustees shall be elected jointly by all of the boards of education of those units, each board having one vote in the election of each trustee, except as provided in G.S. 115D-59. No board of education shall elect a member of the board of education or any person employed by the board of education to serve as a trustee, however, any such person currently serving on a board of trustees shall be permitted to fulfill the unexpired portion of the trustee's current term.

Group Two – four trustees, elected by the board of commissioners of the county in which the main campus of the institution is located. Provided, however, if the administrative area of the institution is composed of two or more counties, the trustees shall be elected jointly by the boards of commissioners of all those counties, each board having one vote in the election of each trustee. Provided, also, if the administrative area of the institution is composed of two or more counties, the board of trustees of the institution may authorize the county commissioners of any county in which the main campus is not located to elect an additional board member. Provided, also, the county commissioners of the county in which the community college has established a satellite campus may elect an additional two members if the board of trustees of the community college agrees. No more than one trustee from Group Two may be a member of a board of county commissioners. Should the boards of education or the boards of commissioners involved be unable to agree on one or more trustees the senior resident superior court judge in the superior court district or set of districts as defined in G.S. 7A-41.1 where the institution is located shall fill the position or positions by appointment.

Group Three – four trustees, appointed by the Governor.



1	
2	
3	
4	
5	

6

7 8 Group Four – the president of the student government or the chairman of the executive board of the student body of each community college established pursuant to this Chapter shall be an ex officio nonvoting member of the board of trustees of each said institution."

SECTION 1.(b) This section applies only to Beaufort County Community College. **SECTION 2.** The State Board of Community Colleges shall designate all of Washington County in the service area of Beaufort County Community College.

SECTION 3. Section 2 of this act is effective July 1, 2015. The remainder of this act is effective when it becomes law.

Page 2 House Bill 390 H390-PCS30297-TC-14