GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2017

Η

HOUSE BILL 8 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H8-PCS30064-BK-1

Short Title: Even Yr Municipal Election/Towns of Troy/Star. (Local) Sponsors: Referred to: January 26, 2017 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 2 AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT REGULAR MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS IN BOTH THE TOWN OF TROY AND THE TOWN OF STAR SHALL BE HELD IN EVEN-NUMBERED 3 4 YEARS. 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: 6 **SECTION 1.** Section 1 of Chapter 125 of the 1957 Session Laws reads as rewritten: "Section 1. At the regular election for mayor and commissioners of the Town of Troy to be 7 8 held May, 1957, there shall be elected a mayor and five commissioners. The officers for the Town 9 of Troy shall consist of a mayor and five commissioners. Beginning in 2018, regular municipal elections shall be held in each even-numbered year. The mayor shall serve for a term of two years 10 11 years, except that the mayor whose term expires in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018. In 12 2018, and biennially thereafter, the mayor shall be elected for a term of two years and shall serve until his-the mayor's successor is elected and qualified. At said election the three candidates 13 14 receiving the highest number of votes shall serve for terms of four years, and the two candidates 15 receiving the next highest number of votes shall serve for terms of two years. Thereafter, at the regular biennial elections, as their terms of office expire, the commissioners shall be elected and 16 17 shall serve for terms of four years and until their successors are elected and qualified. At the 18 biennial elections held subsequent to 1957, the mayor shall be elected for a term of two years and 19 shall serve said term until his successor is elected and qualified. The three commissioners whose 20 terms expire in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018. In 2018, and quadrennially thereafter, as 21 their terms of office expire, three commissioners shall be elected to fill the expired seats and shall 22 serve four-year terms. The two commissioners whose terms expire in 2019 shall continue to serve 23 until 2020. In 2020, and quadrennially thereafter, as their terms of office expire, two 24 commissioners shall be elected to fill the expired seats and shall serve four-year terms. 25 Commissioners shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified." 26 SECTION 2. Section 1 of Chapter 448 of the 1957 Session Laws reads as rewritten: 27 "Section 1. At the regular election for Mayor and Commissioners of the Town of Star to be 28 held May, 1957, there shall be elected a mayor and five commissioners. The officers for the Town of Star shall consist of a mayor and five commissioners. Beginning in 2018, regular municipal 29 30 elections shall be held in each even-numbered year. The mayor shall serve for a term of two years 31 years, except that the mayor whose term expires in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018. In 2018, and biennially thereafter, the mayor shall be elected for a term of two years and shall serve 32 33 until his-the mayor's successor is elected and qualified. At said election the three candidates 34 receiving the highest number of votes shall serve for terms of four years, and the two candidates 35 receiving the next highest number of votes shall serve for terms of two years. Thereafter, at the regular biennial elections, as their terms of office expire, the commissioners shall be elected and 36



D

General Assembly Of North Carolina

1 shall serve for terms of four years and until their successors are elected and qualified. At the 2 biennial elections held subsequent to 1957, the mayor shall be elected for a term of two years and 3 shall serve said term until his successor is elected and qualified. The three commissioners whose 4 terms expire in 2017 shall continue to serve until 2018. In 2018, and quadrennially thereafter, as 5 their terms of office expire, three commissioners shall be elected to fill the expired seats and shall serve four-year terms. The two commissioners whose terms expire in 2019 shall continue to serve 6 7 until 2020. In 2020, and quadrennially thereafter, as their terms of office expire, two 8 commissioners shall be elected to fill the expired seats and shall serve four-year terms. 9 Commissioners shall serve until their successors are elected and qualified."

10 **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held 11 on or after that date. No municipal elections shall occur in the towns of Troy and Star in 2017, and 12 municipal elections shall next occur in Troy and Star in 2018

12 municipal elections shall next occur in Troy and Star in 2018.