S D

## **SENATE BILL 41**

## State and Local Government Committee Substitute Adopted 2/24/21 Finance Committee Substitute Adopted 3/3/21 PROPOSED HOUSE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE S41-PCS45443-TMxfr-18

Short Title:	Remove Certain Satellite Annexation Caps.	(Local)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		
	February 3, 2021	
KINGS FRANKLI The General A SE	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED MOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR MOUNTAIN, LOWELL, AND SHELBY AND TOWNILLE, LIBERTY, RAMSEUR, STANLEY, AND VASSASSEMBLY OF North Carolina enacts:  CTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:  Petition for annexation; standards.	THE TOWNS OF
(b) A standards:	noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet	all of the following
(5)	The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed the area within the primary corporate limits of the anal This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Hickory, Kannapolis, Kings Mountain, Locust, Lowell, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randlem Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Shelby, South Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Application, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Cartle Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Crest Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Franklinville, Fud Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Har Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jan Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Liberty, Lillington Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ramse Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smith Lake, Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Ta Troy, Vass, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, W. Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, Young	red ten percent (10%) nexing city.  Asheboro, Belmont, Gastonia, Greenville, Marion, Mount Airy, an, Roanoke Rapids, hport, Statesville, and bex, Ayden, Benson, hage, Catawba, China well, Dallas, Dobson, quay-Varina, Garner, rrisburg, Holly Ridge, nestown, Kenansville, n, Louisburg, Maggie Midland, Mocksville, n, Ocean Isle Beach, bur, Ranlo, Richlands, field, Spencer, Spring nylorsville, Troutman, eldon, Wendell, West



1 **SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.