H D

## HOUSE BILL 24 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H24-PCS30121-SVxr-1

Short Title: Various Satellite Annexations/No Cap. (Local)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

## February 1, 2021

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE CITIES OF

KINGS MOUNTAIN AND SHELBY AND THE TOWNS OF FRANKLINVILLE,

LIBERTY, RAMSEUR, AND STANLEY.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards.

8 ...

(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

10 11 12

13 14

15

16

17 18

19

20

21 22

23

24

25

2627

28 29

30

31

32 33

34

36

5

6

7

9

(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Asheboro, Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Franklinville, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Kings Mountain, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Liberty, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ramseur, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Shelby, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.

35 ...."

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.

