GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2023

Η

HOUSE BILL 152 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H152-PCS10113-BK-5

Short Title: Even Yr Elections/Maysville & Pollocksville.

(Local)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

February 21, 2023 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 2 AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT REGULAR MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS IN THE TOWNS OF 3 MAYSVILLE AND POLLOCKSVILLE SHALL BE HELD IN EVEN-NUMBERED 4 YEARS. 5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: SECTION 1.(a) Section 7 of the Charter of the Town of Maysville, being Chapter 6 7 171 of the 1897 Private Laws, as amended by Chapter 284 of the 1905 Private Laws, Chapter 47 8 of the 1915 Private Laws, and Town Ordinance No. 04-01 adopted August 5, 2004, reads as 9 rewritten: 10 "Sec. 7. That until the next town election to be held in the town of Maysville, the following persons are hereby appointed and shall constitute the officers of said town, to-wit: Frank M. 11 Jenkins, as mayor: Dr. N.G. Shaw, A.C. Fosene, J.E. McCutchen, B.L. Mattocks and Lewis 12 Bynum, as commissioners, who shall qualify before some justice of the peace within twenty days 13 14 after the ratification of this act, and said officers shall continue in office until their successors 15 shall be elected and qualified. The said commissioners are hereby authorized and empowered to appoint a town marshal, to hold office until his successor is elected and qualifies. That hereafter 16 the officers in said town of Maysville, Jones County, shall elected under the law as provided in 17 18 chapter seven hundred and fifty of the Public Laws of one thousand nine hundred and one, and said chapter is hereby made applicable to the town of Maysville.Regular municipal elections 19 20 shall be held every four years at the time of the general election in an even-numbered year. Election of the mayor and commissioners shall be on a nonpartisan plurality basis and the results 21 determined in accordance with G.S. 163-292. Except as otherwise provided by this act, the 22 23 election shall be conducted in accordance with the uniform municipal election laws in Chapter 24 163 of the General Statutes." SECTION 1.(b) The terms of office for the mayor and all commissioners serving on 25 the effective date of this act whose terms are set to expire in 2025 shall be reduced by one year. 26 27 Regular municipal elections shall be conducted in the Town of Maysville in even-numbered years 28 beginning in 2024. 29 SECTION 2.(a) Section 3 of the Charter of the Town of Pollocksville, being Chapter 30 410 of the 1907 Private Laws, as amended by Chapter 163 of the 1911 Private Laws and Chapter 31 202 of the 1965 Session Laws, reads as rewritten: 32 "Sec. 3. That the The officers of said the town shall consist of a mayor, mayor and five 33 commissioners and a town constable, commissioners, each of whom shall be elected by vote of 34 the people at the time and in the manner prescribed for holding elections in incorporated towns.in regular municipal elections held at the time of the general election in each even-numbered year. 35 36 Election of the mayor and commissioners shall be on a nonpartisan plurality basis and the results



н 1 5 2 – р с s 1 0 1 1 3 – в к – 5

D

General Assembly Of North Carolina

1	determined in accordance with G.S. 163-292. Except as otherwise provided by this act, the
2	election shall be conducted in accordance with the uniform municipal election laws in Chapter
3	163 of the General Statutes."
4	SECTION 2.(b) No municipal elections shall be conducted in the Town of
5	Pollocksville in 2023. The terms of office for the three commissioners serving on the effective
6	date of this act whose terms are set to expire in 2023 shall be extended by one year. The terms of
7	office for the two commissioners and mayor serving on the effective date of this act whose terms
8	are set to expire in 2025 shall be extended by one year. Regular municipal elections shall be
9	conducted in the Town of Pollocksville in even-numbered years beginning in 2024.
10	SECTION 2.(c) In 2024 and quadrennially thereafter, three commissioners shall be
11	elected to serve four-year terms. In 2026 and quadrennially thereafter, two commissioners and a
12	mayor shall be elected to serve four-year terms.
13	SECTION 3. This act is effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held
14	on or after that date.