## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2023

Η

## HOUSE BILL 285 Committee Substitute Favorable 5/23/23 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H285-PCS30383-TMxf-13

Short Title: Archdale No Satellite Annex. Cap/Zoo Annex.

(Local)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

March 7, 2023

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2	AN ACT REMO	VING T	THE CAP C	N SATELLI	TE ANNEXAT	TONS FOR THE	E CIT	Y OF
3	ARCHDALE	AND	ADDING	CERTAIN	DESCRIBED	PROPERTIES	TO	THE
4	CORPORATE LIMITS OF THE CITY OF ASHEBORO.							

5 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

. . .

**SECTION 1.** G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards.

7 8

11

12

13

14

6

1

- 9 (b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following 10 standards:
  - (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Archdale, Asheboro, 15 Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, 16 17 Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Kings Mountain, Locust, Lowell, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke 18 19 Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Shelby, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, 20 Belville, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, 21 22 Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, 23 Four Oaks. Franklin. Franklinton. Franklinville. Dallas. Dobson. Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Goldston, Granite Quarry, Green Level, 24 25 Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, 26 Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Liberty, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, 27 Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, 28 29 North Wilkesboro, Norwood, Oak Island, Oakboro, Ocean Isle Beach, 30 Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ramseur, Ranlo, Richlands, 31 Rockwell, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, 32 Spencer, Spring Lake, Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Vass, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, 33 34 Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Wingate, 35 Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.



D

## General Assembly Of North Carolina

1	" ••••
2	<b>SECTION 2.(a)</b> The following described properties, identified by Randolph County
3	Parcel Identification Numbers, are added to the corporate limits of the City of Asheboro:
4	7677 15 6291; 7678 22 9463; 7678 32 7275; 7678 36 8428; 7678 40 9289; 7678 41
5	6419; 7678 50 8381; 7678 51 5400; 7678 62 7658; 7678 65 3318; 7678 87 1097; 7678 67 4202;
6	7678 69 2465; 7678 73 6792; 7678 98 3390; 7678 98 9678; 7688 09 5314; 7668 54 4623; 7668
7	55 8905; 7668 86 0860; 7677 28 7093; 7678 07 5774; 7678 21 2748; 7678 40 1818; 7678 40
8	2273; 7678 50 2254; 7679 20 7881; 7678 08 5025.
9	SECTION 2.(b) This section becomes effective June 30, 2023. Property in the
10	territory described in this section as of January 1, 2023, is subject to municipal taxes for taxes
11	imposed for taxable years beginning on or after July 1, 2023.
12	<b>SECTION 3.</b> Except as otherwise provided, this act is effective when it becomes
13	law.