H D

HOUSE BILL 906 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE H906-PCS30483-CMxfr-2

Short Title:	Pittsboro and Sanford Annexation Changes.	(Local)
Sponsors:		
Referred to:		

April 25, 2024

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 2 AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF 3 PITTSBORO AND REMOVING THE PROHIBITION ON THE CITY OF SANFORD 4 FROM ANNEXING NONCONTIGUOUS AREAS WITHIN CHATHAM COUNTY. 5

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards.

8

(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

10 11 12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19 20

21

22 23

24

25

26 27

28 29

30

31

32

33

34

35

6

7

9

The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area (5) within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Archdale, Asheboro, Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Kings Mountain, Locust, Lowell, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Shelby, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Belville, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Franklinton, Franklinville, Fuguay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Goldston, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Liberty, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, North Wilkesboro, Norwood, Oak Island, Oakboro, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pittsboro, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ramseur, Ranlo, Richlands, Rockwell, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Vass, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Wingate, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and Zebulon.

36



- **SECTION 2.** Section 2 of S.L. 2007-43 is repealed. **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law. 1 2