## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2025

S

## SENATE BILL 219 PROPOSED COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE S219-PCS45143-CWxfr-1

	Short Title: Stallings/Marvin Satellite Annexations.	(Local)
	Sponsors:	
	Referred to:	
	March 3, 2025	
1 2 3 4 5 6 7	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE STALLINGS AND THE VILLAGE OF MARVIN. The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten: "§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards.	TOWN OF
8 9	(b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the standards:	following
10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34	<ul> <li>(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten per of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. This subdivision does not apply to (i) the Cities of Archdale, Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Kings Mountain, Locust, Lowe Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randlema Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Shelby, Statesville, and Washington and Washington, (ii) the Towns of Angier, Apex, Ayden, Belville, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridge Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks Franklinton, Franklinville, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ri Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, K Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Laurel Park, Liberty, Lillington, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Mocksville, Princeton, Ramseur, Ranlo, Richlands, Rockwell, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Sp <u>Stallings,</u> Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, T Troutman, Troy, Vass, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Wingete, Y</li> </ul>	cent (10%) y. Asheboro, y, Gastonia, ell, Marion, n, Roanoke Southport, of Ahoskie, ton, Bunn, Columbia, , Franklin, Goldston, idge, Holly Kenansville, Louisburg, Midland, Wilkesboro, Pine Level, Rolesville, ring Lake, aylorsville, e, Weldon, Yadkinville,
35 36	Youngsville, and Zebulon.Zebulon, and (iii) the Village of Marvir "	<u>1.</u>



D

1

**SECTION 2.** This act is effective when it becomes law.