GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2025

S D

SENATE BILL 115 Second Edition Engrossed 2/18/25

PROPOSED HOUSE COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE S115-PCS45084-LG-1

Short Title: General Assembly Appointments. (Public)

Sponsors:

Referred to:

February 18, 2025

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE
RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE AND
THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

5 6 7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14

15

16 17

18 19

20

PART I. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 1.1. A. Graham Shirley of the Third Judicial Division is appointed as a Special Superior Court Judge for a term expiring December 31, 2032.

SECTION 1.2. Montell W. Irvin of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Turnpike Authority for a term expiring January 13, 2029.

SECTION 1.3. Effective March 1, 2025, Phil Byrd of Guilford County and Benjamin Curtis of Rockingham County are appointed to the Governor's Crime Commission for terms expiring February 28, 2027.

SECTION 1.4. Effective July 1, 2025, Michael C. Brown of New Hanover County is appointed to the Local Government Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2029.

SECTION 1.5.(a) Katherine Martin of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Child Care Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2026.

SECTION 1.5.(b) Terra Flint of Rockingham County is appointed to the North Carolina Child Care Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2025, to fill the unexpired term of Ashley B. Snyder.

21 22 23

24

2526

27

28 29

30

31 32

33

34

PART II. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 2.1. Ryan D. Holden of Johnston County is appointed to the 911 Board for a term expiring December 31, 2028, to fill the unexpired term of Earl W. Struble.

SECTION 2.2. Amy S. Pearson of Nash County is appointed to the Nash Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2025, to fill the unexpired term of James Martin.

SECTION 2.3. The Honorable Mike Woodard of Durham County is appointed to the Durham Technical Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2025, to fill the unexpired term of Dr. Mike Lee.

SECTION 2.4. Lindalyn Kakadelis of Moore County is appointed to the North Carolina Charter Schools Review Board for a term expiring June 30, 2025, to fill the unexpired term of David Machado.



	General Assembly Of North Caronna Session 2023
1	SECTION 2.5. Seth Ellington of Wake County is appointed to the Building Code
2	Council for a term expiring January 1, 2027.
3	SECTION 2.6. Paul Boney of New Hanover County is appointed to the Building
4	Code Council for a term expiring January 1, 2029.
5	SECTION 2.7. Mark Smith of Guilford County is appointed to the Building Code
6	Council for a term expiring January 1, 2031.
7	

DADTIII (

PART III. CORRECTIONS

SECTION 3.1. Section 1.3 of S.L. 2024-56 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.3.** Effective January 1, 2025, the Honorable Wayne Sasser of Stanly County is appointed to NCInnovation for a term expiring June 30, 2027, September 30, 2027, to fill the unexpired term of Beth A. Friedrich."

SECTION 3.2. Section 1.11 of S.L. 2024-56 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.11. If Senate Bill 382 of the 2023 General Assembly becomes law, then effective January 1, 2025, Thomas Currin of Wake County S. Thomas Currin, II, of the Third Judicial Division is appointed as a Special Superior Court Judge for a term that expires January 1, 2032.expiring January 1, 2033."

17 18 19

20

21

8

9

10 11

12 13

14

15

16

PART IV. EFFECTIVE DATE

SECTION 4.1. This act is effective when it becomes law. Unless otherwise provided, terms begin upon the effective date of this act.

Page 2 Senate Bill 115 S115-PCS45084-LG-1