

President
Richard S. Weinbaum, DPM
1814 Westchester Dr.
High Point, NC 27262

Vice President
David R. Kirlin, DPM
251 Wilmot Dr.
Gastonia, NC 28054

Secretary-Treasurer Ronald A. Maskarinec, DPM 707 N. Morgan St. Shelby, NC 28150

THE BOARD OF PODIATRY EXAMINERS OF THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

1500 Sunday Drive, Suite 102 Raleigh, North Carolina 27607-5151

(919) 861-5583 FAX (919) 787-4916 <u>www.ncbpe.org</u> email: info@ncbpe.org Attorney
J. Mac Boxley
P.O. Drawer 1429
Raleigh, NC 27602

Public Member Kenya Smith 417 Spruce Hollow Dr. Fuquay-Varina, NC 27526

Executive Secretary
David J. Feild
Asst. Executive Secretary
Penney De Pas, MA, CAE
(919) 861-5583

MEMORANDUM

TO: Joint Legislative Commission on Governmental Operations

SUBJ: Request for Fee Consultation FROM: NC Board of Podiatry Examiners

DATE: October 24, 2012

Pursuant to § 12-3.1, the North Carolina Board of Podiatry Examiners is proposing to adopt 21 NCAC 52 .0613 "FEE SCHEDULE." Although all the fees in this proposed fee schedule are already included in the Podiatry Practice Act, N.C.G.S. 90-202.2 through 90-202.14, the Professional Corporations Act, N.C.G.S. 55B-10 through 55B-13, and/or in the Board's already existing Administrative Rules, the fees are not listed in one central Administrative Rule as suggested by the legal staff of the Rules Review Commission.

(i) the amount of the current fee or charge, if applicable,

- (1) Application for examination (non-refundable) \$300.00
- (2) Examination (non-refundable) \$50.00
- (3) Re-Examination (application + exam fee, non-refundable) \$350.00
- (3) Initial license certificate \$100.00
- (4) Duplicate license certificate \$25.00
- (5) Annual License Renewal \$ 200.00
- (6) License Renewal Late Fee (per month, up to 6 months) \$25.00
- (7) Database Listing for Pharmaceutical Verification \$300.00
- (8) Returned check: the fee as set in Rule .0612. As of the effective date of this rule that fee was \$12.00
- (9) Incorporation for PA/PC/PLLC \$50.00
- (10) Annual Corporate Renewal \$25.00
- (11) Corporate Renewal Late Fee \$10.00

(ii) the amount of the proposed new or increased fee or charge,

The fees are the same as already authorized by existing state statutes or administrative rules.

(iii) the statutory authority for the fee or charge, and

G.S. 55B-10; 55B-11; 90-202.5(a); 90-202.6(c);90-202.9; 90-202.10; 21 NCAC 52.0201; 21 NCAC 52.0204; 21 NCAC 52.0210; 21 NCAC 52.0301; 21 NCAC 52.0302; 21 NCAC 52.0303; and 21 NCAC 52.0612

(iv) a detailed explanation of the need for the establishment or increase of the fee or charge.

The Board does not currently have a single Administrative Rule outlining its fees.

The proposed rule has been submitted to the Office of Administrative Hearings/Rules Division for publication in the *Register* on this date.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. If you have any questions, please contact our Rulemaking Coordinator, Penney De Pas, (919) 861-5583 or info@ncbpe.org.