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Title V Permit Program

• Refers to “Title V” of the Federal Clean Air
Act of 1990

• Title V facilities are those which emit
– 100 tons/year of regulated pollutants, or

– 10 tons/year of any hazardous air pollutant, or

– 25 tons/year of all hazardous air pollutants

• Title V air permit program MUST be funded
only by Title V permit fees



Title V Permit Program

• North Carolina Clean Air Act Advisory Council,
Final Report (1992)
– Program is more than just issuing the initial permit, it

includes all aspects of running the program

– Air modeling, modifying permits to add new processes,
renewing permits on periodic basis, performing
compliance inspections, initiating enforcement for
violations if warranted, responding to complaints,
evaluating test results, monitoring, public participation,
small business assistance, legal counsel

– Administrative costs related to Title V program; rent,
utilities, travel, etc.



Authority for Title V Permit Fees

• NCGS § 143-215.3A authorizes fees

– Set by the EMC, 15A NCAC 02Q .0203

• Statute allows a surplus balance

– Compensate for temporary dips or delays in
revenue streams

• Rebates offered to industry if surplus is too
large



Title V Permit Program

• North Carolina has 300+ Title V facilities
– Utilities (Duke Energy, Progress Energy)

– Manufacturing facilities (Goodyear, Firestone, Triangle
Brick, Blue Ridge Paper)

– Other industrial sites (Nucor, PCS Phosphate)

– Animal processing plants (Smithfield, Perdue)

– Public landfills, universities, and hospitals

• Over 600 other facilities have accepted operating
restrictions to opt out of the Title V program
– Still permitted, but not subject to Title V or Title V fees



Title V Permit Program
• Fee structure

– One-time permit application fee
• Five-year renewals are no-cost

– All Title V facilities
• Annual flat basic permit fee

• Annual tonnage fee

– Certain Title V facilities, depending on geographical
locale and types of emissions

• Additional annual flat nonattainment area fee, applied in
counties that do not attain the Federal air quality standards

– Caps
• Tonnage fee is capped at 4,000 tons per pollutant



Title V Permit Fees

$3,297$6,311$18.102007

$2,600$5,100$14.631994

Nonattainment Area
Added Fee

Basic Permit
Fee

Tonnage
Factor

Year

• Fees were initially set in 1994

– Annual inflation adjustment is allowed, but not
always applied



Title V Program:
Looming Deficits

• No Consumer Price Index (CPI) adjustment for a
number of years, revenues were flat

• Expenses increased

– Office space, utilities, other support costs

– Recent legislative pay raises to employees

• Zero appropriations

• Cost of program must be met through permit fees



• Workload is not decreasing

– Growing state economy

– Increasing regulatory demands
• Tighter environmental standards (ozone, fine particles)

• New issues (climate change)

• Maintain service to industry and public

– Timely permit issuance

– Timely response to concerns

– Timely response to requested permit modifications

Title V Program:
Looming Deficits



Proposed Permit Fee Increases

• Discussed concept with affected industry
last summer (2007)

• Took draft rule to the EMC in September

• Public hearing was held in November

• EMC approved rules in January 2008

• Fee increases could become effective in
March/April 2008



Proposed Fee Increases

Fee increase would match the Consumer
Price Index (CPI) to keep up with inflation

2012 and on

$3,500$6,500$30.002011

$3,500$6,500$27.502010

$3,500$6,500$25.002009

$3,500$6,500$22.502008

$3,297$6,311$18.102007

Nonatt’t
Area Added

Basic
Permit Fee

Tonnage
Fee

Year



Current Title V Permit Fees of
Neighboring States ($/ton)

$41.02South Carolina

$28.05Georgia

$37.00Tennessee

$42.55Virginia

$18.10 (current)

$30.00 (effective 2011)

North Carolina



Consequences of Inadequate
Title V Funding

• Title V is required by the Federal Clean Air Act
– EPA has delegated operation of program to NC DAQ

• If NC’s program is deemed inadequate by EPA
– EPA could revoke the delegation

– EPA would operate the program themselves out of
their regional office in Atlanta, GA

• EPA’s program would cost more ($42/ton)
– Title V permits issued by EPA employees

– Inspections performed by EPA employees

– Enforcement (penalties) determined by EPA managers


