State of North Carolina

Department of Justice REPLY TO: VALERIE L. BATEMAN

SERVICE TO STATE AGENCIES

ROY COOPER
ATTORNEY GENERAL PO BOX 629 ) TEL: (919) 716-6800
Raleigh, North Carolina Fax: (919) 716-6755
TDD: (919) 715-5704
27602 E-MAIL: VBATEMAN@NCDOJ.COM

23 October 2008

Representative Joe Hackney

Senator Marc Basnight

Chairs, Joint Legislative Commission on Governmental Operations
NC General Assembly

16 West Jones Streeet

Raleigh, NC 27601

RE: N.C. State Board of Hearing Aid Fitters & Dealers
Proposed Rule Change for 21 NCAC 22B .0603 CORRECTED

Dear Representative Hackney and Senator Basnight:

This letter is a corrected request for consultation, submitted on behalf of the above-
referenced board, pursuant to G.S. 12-3.1.

1. The Board’s rule currently provides that the Board charges seventy-five (§75) to
each applicant who sits for the Board’s examination required to obtain a license to
fit and sell hearing aids. The Board’s rule also currently provides that the Board
charges one hundred and fifty doliars ($150) for the annual license renewal.

2. The Board sought and was granted statutory authority to increase its fee for taking
the examination for the fitting and selling of hearing aids to three hundred dollars
($300). The Board also sought and was granted statutory authority to increase its
fee for annual license renewal to two hundred and fifty dollars ($250).

3. The statutory authority for these fee increases is Session Law 2007-406 (attached).

4. The Board is receipt-supported and increasing costs incurred in maintaining the
level of services that the Board is charged by the General Assembly with
providing, including the costs of validating and developing the licensure
examination, have increased to the point that an increase in the fees was necessary
in order for the Board to maintain a balanced budget.
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Thank you in advance for your consideration of the request for consultation.

Sincerely, (rﬁ/&
Valerie L. Bateman
Special Deputy Attorney General

VLB/s
cc: Johnnie Sexton, President, NCBHAFD
Catherine Jorgensen, Administrator, NCBHAFD
Members of the Joint Legislative Commission on Governmental Operations
Commission Assistant
General Assembly Fiscal Research Division
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21 NCAC 22B .0603 is proposed to be amended as follows:

Proposed Amendment for Publication in the Register

.0603 FEE SCHEDULE

The Board hereby establishes the following fees:

(1)

(2)

()
(4)
)
(6)
(7)
(8
®)
(10)

(11)
(12)

(13)

For a continuing education make-up class provided
by the Board, not to exceed two days (per person,
per day).

For a license examination preparation course

provided by the Board, not to exceed three days

(per person, per day).

For approval of a continuing education program

provider.

Verifying and recording attendance at a continuing

education program (per program, per person).

For a voluntary apprentice training workshop (per

person, per day, not to exceed three days).

Examination fee.

Application for a license by examination.

Application for a license to fit and sell hearing

aids in this state by a licensee of another state

or territory.

Issuance of certificate of license after

successfully passing examination.

Application for registration as an apprentice

Renewal of apprentice registration.

Annual license renewal.

(a) Late fee to reinstate expired license
within 60 days after license expiration (in
addition to renewal fee).

(b) Late fee to reinstate expired license more
than 60 days after license expiration (in
addition to renewal fee).

To reissue a suspended license more than 90 days

after but not more than two years after license

suspended.

Authority G.S. 12-3.1; 93D-3;

NOTES:

History Note:
Temporary Adoption Eff.

Eff January 1, 1992;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2001. Amended Eff March 1, 2009,

50.00

50.00

40.00
15.00
50.00
75-60 300.00

150.00
150.00

July 11, 1991, For a Period of 180 Days to Expire on January 7, 1992;



GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA
SESSION 2007

SESSION LAW 2007-406
SENATE BILL 1332

AN ACT AUTHORIZING THE NORTH CAROLINA STATE HEARING AID DEALERS
AND FITTERS BOARD TO INCREASE CERTAIN FEES AND AMENDING AND
UPDATING CERTAIN OTHER PROVISIONS UNDER THE LAWS REGULATING
HEARING AID DEALERS AND FITTERS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 93D-3(c)(14)f. reads as rewritien:
"(c) The Board shall:

(1-4) Have the power to set and collect fees in accordance with Chapter 150B of the
General Statutes for the items listed in this subdivision and for other items for
which this Chapter gives the Board the authority to set a fee:

f For administering an examination, a fecc met—te—exeeed seventy-five
. deHars($75-063+0f three hundred dollars ($300.00); and
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. 93D-3(d) reads as rewritten:
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- - embers of the Board shall be entitled to travel, per diem, and other
expenses authorized by G.S. 93B-5. The expenses shall be paid from the fees and assessments
received by the Board under the provisions of this Chapter. No part of these expenses or any
other expenses of the Board, in any manner whatsoever, shall be paid out of the State treasury.
All moneys received in excess of expense allowance and milea%e, as above provided, shall be
held by the secretary-treasurer as a special fund for meeting other expenses of the Board and
carrying out the provisions of this Chapter.
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G.S.93B-2."

. SECTION 3. G.S. 93D-5 reads as rewritten:
~ "(a)* No person shall begin the fitting and selling of hearing aids in this State unless the
person has been issued a license by the Board or is an apprentice working under the sutpervision
of a licensee. Except as hereinafter provided, each applicant for a license shall pay a fee set by
the Board, not to exceed ene-hundred-fifry-deoHars-(5+56:663;two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00),
which fee may be prorated by the Board, and shall show to the satisfaction of the Board that the

applicant:

http://www.ncleg.net/Sessions/2007/Bills/Senate/HTML/S1 332v5.html 10/7/2008
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(1)  Is a person of good moral eharaetercharacter.
(2; Is 18 years of age or eldersolder.
(3 Has an education equivalent to a four-year course in an accredited high

seloetschool.

(b) Except as hercinafter provided, no license shall be issued to a person until he has
successfully passed a qﬁlalifying examination administered by the Board.

(c)  No license shall be issued to any person until ethe person has served as an apprentice
as set forth in G.S. 93D-9 for a period of at least one year; provided, that this subsection shall
not apply to those persons qualified under G.S. 93D-6 nor to those persons holding mmasters
degreesa license in Audiology issued by the North Carolina Board of Examiners for Speech and
Language Pathologist and Audiologist who have undergone 250 hours of supervised activity
fitting and selling hearing aids under the direct supervision of a licensed hearing aid deafer
dispenser_approved by the Board, or have met the licensure requirements under Article 22 of
Chapter 90 of the General Statutes and have worked full time for one year fitting and selling
hearing aids in the office of and under the direct supervision of an otolaryngologist and have
ﬁartipipat_eg in 250 hours of Board-supervised, continuing professional education in fitting

earing aids."
& SECTION 4. G.S. 93D-11 reads as rewritten:
"§ 93D-11. Annual fees; failure to pay; expiration of license; occupational instruction
courses.

Every licensed person who engages in the fitting and selling of hearing aids shall pay to the
Board an annual license renewal fee in an amount set by the Board, not to exceed enehumdred

=065 two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00). The payment shall be made
prior to the first day of April in each year. In case of default in payment the license shall expire
30 days after notice by the secretary-treasurer to the last known address of the licensee by
registered satkmail, certified mail, or in a manner provided by G.S. 1A-1, Rule 4(j)(1)d. The
Board may reinstate an expired license upon the showing of good cause for late payment of fees,
upon payment of said fees within 60 days after expiration of the license, and upon the further
payment of a late penalty of twenty-five dollars (825.00). After 60 days after the expiration date,
the Board may reinstate the licensé for good cause shown upon application for reinstatement and
payment of a late penalty of fifty doltars ($50.00) and the renewal fee. The Board may require
all licensees to successfully attend and complete a course or courses of occupational instruction
funded, conducted or approved or sponsored by the Board on an annual basis as a condition to
any license renewal and evidence OF satisfactory attendance and completion of any such course
or courses shall be provided the Board by the licensee."

SECTION 5. G.S. 93D-13 reads as rewritten:

"§ 93D-13. Discipline, suspension, revocation of Heemses:licenses; records.

(a) The Board may in its discretion administer the pumishment of private reprimand,
suspension of license for a fixed period or revocation of license as the case may warrant in their
judgment for any violation of the rules and regulations of the Board or for any of the following

causcs.

Habtua-dranicenress

(2 Gross meempetenee incompetence.

(3 cHrerRrHe s ing-and-seHiehearing-atds-white-suffering-with-aeontagrons-or
infeettons—diseaselnability to perform the functions for which the person is

licensed or substantial {mpairment of the person's ability to perform the

functions for which the person is licensed by reason of physical or mental
disability.
(4)  Commission of a criminal offense indicating professional unfressunfitness.
(5)  The use of a false name or alias in kis-bastnesshis or her business.
(6) Conduct involving willful deeestdeceit.

(7) Conduct involving fraud or any other business conduct involving moral
farptiadeturpitude.

(8) Advertising of a character or nature tending to deceive or mislead the
pebiepublic.

http://www.ncleg net/Sessions/2007/Bills/Senate/HTML/S1332v5.html 10/7/2008
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-

)] Advertising declared to be unethical by the Board or prohibited by the code of
ethics established by the BeardBoard.

(10)  Permitting another person to use kis-Heenseshis or her license.

(10a) Failure by a licensee to propetly supervise an apprentice under his-supervisten;
andhis or her supervision.

(11) For violating any of the provisions of this Chapter.

b) Board action in revoking or suspending a license shall be in accordance with Chapter
150B of the General Statutes. Any person whose license has been suspended for any of the
grounds or reasons herein set forth, may, after the expiration of 90 days but within two years,
apply to the Board to have the same reissued; upon a showing satisfactory to the Board that sweh
reissuance will not endanger the public health and welfare, the Board may reissue a license to
such person for a fee set by the Board, not to exceed two hundred dollars ($200.00). If
application is made subsequent to two years from date of suspension, reissuance shall be in
accordance with the provisions of G.S. 93D-8.

C Records, papers, and_other documents containing information collected or compiled
by or on behalf of the Board as a result of an investigation, inquiry, or interview conducted in
connection with registration, licensure, or a disciplinary matter shall not be considered public
records within the meaning of Chapter 132 of the General Statutes. Any notice or statement of
charges. notice of hearing, or decision rendered by the Board in connection with a hearing is a
public record. However, information that identifies a consumer who_has not consented to the
public disclosure of services rendered to the consumer by a person re istered or licensed under
this Chapter shall be deleted from the public record. All other records, papers, and documents
confaining_information collected or compiled by or on behalf of the Board shall be public
records, provided that any information that identifies a consumer who has not consented to the
public disclosure of services rendered to the consumer is deleted."

SECTION 6. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the ond day of August,

2007.

s/ Beverly E. Perdue
President of the Senate

s/ Joe Hackney .
Speaker of the House of Representatives

s/ Michacl F. Easley
Governor

Annraved 1:22 a m thic 7118 Aov af Ananct 2007
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