JOINT LEGISLATIVE EDUCATION OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE AGENDA January 8, 2008

10:00 A.M., ROOM 643 Legislative Office Building

Senator Swindell, presiding

Welcome

Senator Swindell, Co-Chair

Future Ready Core Curriculum (Behind Tab 4)

- Dr. Rebecca Garland, Executive Director State Board of Education
- Dr. Wandra Polk, Director Division of Middle and Secondary Education, DPI

Career and Technical Education Follow-Up (Behind Tab 5)

- Rebecca Payne, Director
 Career and Technical Education, DPI
- Cindy Marks, Marketing Teacher
 Cape Hatteras School of Coastal Studies
- Caroline Jarvis, Student East Carolina University
- Bill Downey, President L.A. Downey and Son

Graduation Project (Behind Tab 6)

- Dr. Rebecca Garland, Executive Director State Board of Education
- Dr. Wandra Polk, Director Division of Middle and Secondary Education, DPI
- Karen Burden, Graduation Project Coordinator Holly Springs High School, Wake County Public Schools

North Carolina Common Education Data Analysis and Reporting System (NC CEDARS) (Behind Tab 7)

Adam Levinson, Director
 Policy and Strategic Planning, DPI

Lunch Break

Role Counselors Play in Providing Dropout Prevention and Intervention Services to Students in Middle and High School – Report (Behind Tab 8)

• Teresa Smith, Consultant Middle and Secondary Student Support Services, DPI

Implementation of State Board Policy Delineating the Job Description and Performance Criteria for School Counselors – Report (Behind Tab 8)

- Teresa Smith, Consultant Middle and Secondary Student Support Services, DPI
- Eric Sparks, President, American School Counselor Association, and Director of Counseling and Student Services, Wake County Public Schools
- Dr. Renee Evans, President, NC School Counselor Association, and Assistant Professor, Appalachian State University
- Deirdra Williams, Government Relations, North Carolina School Counselor Association, and
 School Counselor Make School Webs County Dublic Cohools

School Counselor, Wakefield High School, Wake County Public Schools

JOINT LEGISLATIVE EDUCATION OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE AGENDA

January 9, 2008

9:00 A.M., ROOM 643 Legislative Office Building

Representative Yongue, presiding

Welcome

Representative Yongue

Speaker's Dropout Initiative (Behind Tab 9)

- Representative Earline Parmon
- Representative Susan Fisher

Teacher Mentoring Program (Behind Tab 10)

- Danny Holloman, Section Chief
 NC Center for Teacher Recruitment and Retention
- Fred Williams, Executive Director of Recruitment and Retention Durham County Public Schools
- Angela Cogdill, Professional Development Coordinator Granville County Schools

Blue Ribbon Testing Commission

- Howard Lee, Chairman, State Board of Education
- Dr. Sam Houston, Chairman Blue Ribbon Testing Commission
- Dr. Terry Holiday, Superintendent Iredell-Statesville Public Schools

Blue Ribbon Charter School Commission

- Howard Lee, Chairman State Board of Education
- Dr. Michael Fedewa, Chairman Blue Ribbon Charter School Commission