Grants to Students Attending Certain Private Education Institutions (CPEI) Annual Report October 1, 2006

Executive Summary

The North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority administers the grant pursuant to North Carolina G.S. §116-43.5 and established rules. For the academic year 2005-2006 the General Assembly appropriated \$420,000, of which \$297,000 was awarded to 165 students attending two approved institutions.

Funding for the 2006-07 fiscal year is \$420,000; the number of recipients and total dollars expended will be available at the conclusion of the academic year.

Selection Eligibility

To be a recipient of a CPEI Grant, a student must:

- 1) have carried the minimum academic load for credit the entire academic year;
- 2) be enrolled at an approved institution on the certification date;
- 3) not be eligible for a similar State Grant under another State program for the same academic year;
- 4) have either met the registration requirements of the Military Service Act or is excused therefrom, in accordance with G. S. § 143B-421.1;
- 5) not be incarcerated in a State or federal correctional facility for committing (i) a Class A, B, B1 or B2 felony or (ii) a Class C through I felony and is not eligible for parole or release within 10 years; and
- 6) be certified by the approved institution as eligible to receive a State Grant in accordance with the Act and the Program Regulations.

Value of Tuition Grant

The maximum amount of the State Grant payable to each student who qualifies for the grant for any academic year will be determined by SEAA based upon the appropriations made available to the program by the General Assembly and the amount of the NCLTG award. In the event there are insufficient funds to provide the maximum state grant to each student who qualifies for the grant, each student shall receive a prorate share of the available funds. The grant will be reduced by 25% if the qualified student has completed more than 140 hours of instruction.

2005-2006 Program Expenditure Summary

Institution	No. of Students Awarded	Total Amount Awarded
Roanoke Bible College Southeastern College at Wake Fore	38 st <u>127</u>	\$ 68,400 _228,600
Total	165	\$ 297,000

§ 116-43.5. State grants to aid eligible students attending certain private institutions of higher education; administrative procedure.

- (a) Definitions. The following definitions apply in this section:
 - (1) "Institution" means a nonprofit educational institution with a main permanent campus located in this State that satisfies all of the following:
 - a. Is not owned or operated by the State of North Carolina or by an agency or political subdivision of the State or by any combination thereof.
 - b. Is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools under the standards of the College Delegate Assembly of the Association.
 - c. Awards a postsecondary degree as defined in G.S. 116-15.
 - d. Its students are not eligible for a similar State grant under another State program.
 - (2) "Main permanent campus" means a campus that is owned by the institution that provides permanent on-premises housing, food services, and classrooms with full-time faculty members and administration that engage in postsecondary degree activity as defined in G.S. 116-15.
 - (3) "Student" means a person enrolled in and attending an institution located in the State (i) who qualifies as a resident of North Carolina in accordance with definitions of residency that may from time to time be adopted by the Board of Governors of The University of North Carolina and published in the residency manual of the Board, and (ii) who has not received a bachelors degree, or qualified therefor, and who is otherwise classified as an undergraduate under such regulations as the Board of Governors of The University of North Carolina may promulgate. Qualification for in-State tuition under G.S. 116-143.3 makes a person a "student" as defined in this subdivision.
- (b) Eligibility. A student is eligible for a State grant under this section for an academic year if the student is a full-time North Carolina undergraduate student attending an institution as defined by this section and is not eligible for a similar State grant under another State program for the same academic year.
- (c) Administration. The State grants provided for in this section shall be administered by the State Education Assistance Authority pursuant to rules adopted by the State Education Assistance Authority not inconsistent with this section. The State Education Assistance Authority shall pay the State grant to each student eligible under this section. The amount of the grant shall be determined by the General Assembly. The State grant shall be paid to a student only after the student completes the academic year. The grant shall be paid directly to the student on or after July 1 following the completion of the academic year. The State Education Assistance Authority shall not remit any grant until it receives proper certification from an institution that the student applying for the grant is an eligible student.
- (d) Shortfall. In the event there are not sufficient funds to provide each eligible student with a full grant: Each eligible student shall receive a pro rata share of funds then available for the appropriate academic year within the fiscal period covered by the current appropriation.
 - (e) Reversion. Any remaining funds shall revert to the General Fund.
- (f) A State grant authorized by this act shall be reduced by twenty-five percent (25%) for any individual student who has completed 140 semester credit hours or the equivalent of 140 semester credit hours.

- (f1) The State Education Assistance Authority shall document the number of full-time equivalent North Carolina undergraduate students that are enrolled in private institutions and the State funds collected by students at each institution under this section. The State Education Assistance Authority shall report those findings to the Secretary of Administration, the House and Senate Appropriations Subcommittees on Education, and the Joint Legislative Education Oversight Committee.
 - (g) The State grant shall not be used for any student who:
 - (1) Is incarcerated in a State or federal correctional facility for committing a Class A, B, B1, or B2 felony; or
 - (2) Is incarcerated in a State or federal correctional facility for committing a Class C through I felony and is not eligible for parole or release within 10 years. (2003-429, s. 1.)