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Background 

 
The North Carolina State Education Assistance Authority administers the Grants to Students 
Attending Certain Private Education Institutions (CPEI) pursuant to North Carolina G.S. 
§116-43.5 and established rules. For the 2010-2011 academic year, the General Assembly 
appropriated $321,900, of which $283,976 was awarded to 159 students who attended the two 
approved institutions. 
 
 
 
CPEI Award Eligibility and Determination 
 
CPEI Grant recipients must: 

1) have maintained at least part-time (3/4-time) enrollment for the entire academic year 
at an approved institution as of the certification date; 

2) not be eligible for a similar grant under another State program for the same 
academic year; 

3) have either met the registration requirements of the Military Service Act or is excused 
therefrom, in accordance with G. S. § 143B-421.1; 

4) not be incarcerated in a State or federal correctional facility for committing (i) a Class 
A, B, B1 or B2 felony or (ii) a Class C through I felony and is not eligible for parole or 
release within 10 years; and 

5) be certified by the approved institution as eligible to receive a State Grant in 
accordance with the program’s regulations. 

 
 
 

Grant Amounts and Conditions 
 
For the 2010-2011 academic year, full-time recipients received grants of $1,850; grants for 
students classified as three-quarter time enrollment status were prorated to 75%, $1,388. A 
grants reduction of 25% was applied to students with attempted credits of 140 semester hours 
or more. Funds were disbursed directly to students after July 1 in accordance with G.S. §116-
43.5(c).  

 
 
 

2010-2011 Program Summary 
 

Institution Students 
Awarded 

 Amount 
Awarded 

Mid-Atlantic Christian University 58 $103,830 
The College at Southeastern 101 $180,146 

Total 159 $283,976 
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§ 116-43.5.  State grants to aid eligible students attending certain private institutions of higher education; 

administrative procedure. 
(a)        Definitions. – The following definitions apply in this section: 

(1)        "Institution" means a nonprofit educational institution with a main permanent 
campus located in this State that satisfies all of the following: 
a.         Is not owned or operated by the State of North Carolina or by an 

agency or political subdivision of the State or by any combination 
thereof. 

b.         Is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools 
under the standards of the College Delegate Assembly of the 
Association. 

c.         Awards a postsecondary degree as defined in G.S. 116-15. 
d.         Its students are not eligible for a similar State grant under another State 

program. 
(1a)      "Licensure student" means a person who: 

a.         Has a bachelor's degree; 
b.         Is enrolled either full-time or less than full-time in a program intended 

to result in  licensure in teaching or nursing; 
c.         Attends an institution located in the State; and 
d.         Qualifies as a resident of North Carolina in accordance with 

definitions of residency that may from time to time be adopted by the 
Board of Governors of The University of North Carolina and 
published in the residency manual of the Board. 

(2)        "Main permanent campus" means a campus that is owned by the institution 
that provides permanent on-premises housing, food services, and classrooms 
with full-time faculty members and administration that engage in 
postsecondary degree activity as defined in G.S. 116-15. 

(3)        "Student" means a person enrolled in and attending an institution located in 
the State (i) who qualifies as a resident of North Carolina in accordance with 
definitions of residency that may from time to time be adopted by the Board 
of Governors of The University of North Carolina and published in the 
residency manual of the Board, and (ii) who has not received a bachelors 
degree, or qualified therefor, and who is otherwise classified as an 
undergraduate under such regulations as the Board of Governors of The 
University of North Carolina may promulgate. Qualification for in-State 
tuition under G.S. 116-143.3 makes a person a "student" as defined in this 
subdivision. 

(b)        Eligibility of Students. – A student is eligible for a State grant under this section for 
an academic year if the student is a North Carolina undergraduate student attending an institution 
as defined by this section and is not eligible for a similar State grant under another State program 
for the same academic year. A full-time North Carolina undergraduate student shall be eligible 
for the full amount of the State grant provided by this section. A part-time North Carolina 
undergraduate student who is enrolled to take at least nine hours of academic credit per semester 
shall be eligible for a State grant under this section calculated on a pro rata basis. 

(b1)      Eligibility of Licensure Students. – Each full-time licensure student who is enrolled 
in a program intended to result in a license in teaching or nursing shall also be eligible for the 
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State grant provided by this section. The State grant provided by this section shall be paid on a 
pro rata basis to any part-time licensure student who is enrolled to take at least nine hours of 
undergraduate academic credit per semester in a program intended to result in a license in 
teaching or nursing at an approved institution. The State grant and prorated State grant 
authorized under this subsection shall be paid for undergraduate courses only. If a course is 
required for licensure, but is designated as both an undergraduate and graduate course, for 
purposes of this subsection, the course shall be considered an undergraduate course. 

(c)        Administration. – The State grants provided for in this section shall be administered 
by the State Education Assistance Authority pursuant to rules adopted by the State Education 
Assistance Authority not inconsistent with this section. The State Education Assistance 
Authority shall pay the State grant to each student eligible under this section. The amount of the 
grant shall be determined by the General Assembly. The State grant shall be paid to a student 
only after the student completes the academic year. The grant shall be paid directly to the student 
on or after July 1 following the completion of the academic year. The State Education Assistance 
Authority shall not remit any grant until it receives proper certification from an institution that 
the student applying for the grant is an eligible student. 

(d)       Shortfall. – In the event there are not sufficient funds to provide each eligible student 
with a full grant or prorated grant: 

(1)        Each full-time student or full-time licensure student eligible for a full grant 
under this section shall receive a pro rata share of funds for the full grant then 
available for the appropriate academic year within the fiscal period covered by 
the current appropriation. 

(2)        Each part-time student or part-time licensure student eligible for a prorated 
grant under this section shall receive a pro rata share of the funds for the 
prorated grant then available for the appropriate academic year within the 
fiscal period covered by the current appropriation. 

(e)        Reversion. – Any remaining funds shall revert to the General Fund. 
(f)        Reduction of Grant Amount for Certain Students. – A State grant authorized by this 

act shall be reduced by twenty-five percent (25%) for any individual student who has completed 
140 semester credit hours or the equivalent of 140 semester credit hours. 

(f1)      Student and Licensure Student Enrollment Documented. – The State Education 
Assistance Authority shall document the number of full-time equivalent and part-time North 
Carolina undergraduate students and the number of licensure students that are enrolled in private 
institutions and the State funds collected by students and licensure students at each institution 
under this section. The State Education Assistance Authority shall report those findings to the 
Secretary of Administration, the House and Senate Appropriations Subcommittees on Education, 
and the Joint Legislative Education Oversight Committee. 

(g)        Limitation on Expenditures. – The State grant shall not be used for any student who: 
(1)        Is incarcerated in a State or federal correctional facility for committing a 

Class A, B, B1, or B2 felony; or 
(2)        Is incarcerated in a State or federal correctional facility for committing a 

Class C through I felony and is not eligible for parole or release within 10 
years. (2003-429, s. 1; 2007-323, s. 9.13(b).) 
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