General Assembly of North Carolina

COMMISSION COCHAIRS SENATOR TRUDY WADE

REPRESENTATIVE JIMMY DIXON REPRESENTATIVE CHUCK MCGRADY

VICE CHAIR REPRESENTATIVE PAT MCELRAFT

COMMISSION MEMBERS

SENATOR DAN BISHOP SENATOR ANGELA BRYANT SENATOR BILL COOK SENATOR BRENT JACKSON SENATOR NORM SANDERSON SENATOR ERICA SMITH-INGRAM SENATOR ANDY WELLS

REPRESENTATIVE KYLE HALL REPRESENTATIVE PRICEY HARRISON REPRESENTATIVE CHRIS MILLIS REPRESENTATIVE BOB STEINBURG REPRESENTATIVE LARRY YARBOROUGH

ADVISORY MEMBERS
REPRESENTATIVE WILLIAM BRISSON
REPRESENTATIVE TED DAVIS
REPRESENTATIVE HOLLY GRANGE
REPRESENTATIVE FRANK ILER

Environmental Review Commission State Legislative Building Raleigh, Porth Carolina



AGENDA
1:30 p.m. Wednesday, August 23, 2017
Andre Mallette Training Center
Human Resources Suite
New Hanover County Government Center
Wilmington, North Carolina

COMMISSION STAFF
JEFF HUDSON
COMMISSION COUNSEL
545 LEGISLATIVE OFFICE BUILDING
300 NORTH SALISBURY STREET
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27603
(919) 733-2578

JENNIFER McGINNIS COMMISSION COUNSEL

JEFF CHERRY COMMISSION COUNSEL

CHRIS SAUNDERS COMMISSION COUNSEL

MARIAH MATHESON COMMISSION ASSISTANT

ROBERT MAYS KIMBERLY NEPTUNE MICHAEL WIGGINS COMMISSION CLERKS

1. Call to order

Senator Trudy Wade

2. Introductory remarks by Cochairs

Senator Trudy Wade Representative Jimmy Dixon Representative Chuck McGrady

- 3. Comments from Senator Michael Lee and other legislators representing the lower Cape Fear Region
- 4. Comments from local elected officials

Woody White, Chairman New Hanover County Board of Commissioners

Bill Saffo, Mayor Wilmington, North Carolina

Frank Williams, Chairman Brunswick County Board of Commission 5. Staff overview of general water quality permit requirements and the issue of emerging contaminants

Jeff Hudson, Commission Counsel

Jennifer McGinnis, Commission Counsel

6. Comments on local scientific perspective

Dr. Larry Cahoon, Biological Oceanographer & Professor University of North Carolina, Wilmington

7. Questions for Chemours representative

Michael Johnson, Environmental Manager

Chemours

8. Questions for the Secretaries of the Department of Health and Human Services and the Department of Environmental Quality

Mandy Cohen, Secretary

Department of Health and Human Services

Michael Regan, Secretary Department of Environmental Quality

- 9. Public comment
- 10. Commission discussion and announcements
- 11. Adjourn

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

Persons having questions about the Commission meeting or other matters related to the Commission may contact Jeff Hudson or Jennifer McGinnis, Commission Counsels, or other Commission staff at (919) 733-2578 or may visit the Commission's website at:

http://www.ncleg.net/gascripts/DocumentSites/browseDocSite.asp?nID=12