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Plan for Adjusting Medicaid Personal Care Services to Provide
Additional Safeguards for qualified individuals and to Report to the
House Appropriations Subcommittee on Health and Human Services,
the Senate Appropriations Committee on Health and Human Services
and to the Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on Health and Human
Services

SESSION LAW 2013-306
HB 492

State of North Carolina
Department of Health and Human Services

Division of Medical Assistance

November 1, 2013
IMPLEMENTATION REPORT




1.

Legislative Mandate

Session Law 2013-306 HB 492 Section 3 mandated that the Department of Health
and Human Services submit to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services a
Medicaid State Plan Amendment on or before August 15, 2013 adding an additional
50 hours of Personal Care Services to qualified recipients for a total of up to 130
hours per month in accordance with an assessment and a plan of care. The State Plan
Amendment is to include an effective date of July 1, 2013, or as soon after July 1,
2013, as allowed by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

a.

SECTION 10.9F.(c) A Medicaid recipient who meets each of the following
criteria is eligible for up to 80 hours of personal care services:

(1) The recipient has a medical condition, disability, or cognitive impairment
and demonstrates unmet needs for, at a minimum, (i) three of the five
qualifying activities of daily living (ADLs) with limited hands-on assistance;
(ii) two ADLs, one of which requires extensive assistance; or (iii) two ADLs,
one of which requires assistance at the full dependence level.

(2) The recipient (i) resides in a private living arrangement, a residential
facility licensed by the State of North Carolina as an adult care home, or a
combination home as defined in G.S. 131E-101(1a); or (ii) resides in a group
home licensed under Chapter 122C or the General Statues Statutes and under
10A NCAC 27G .5601 as a supervised living facility for two or more adults
whose primary diagnosis is mental illness, a developmental disability, or
substance abuse dependency, and is eligible to receive personal care services
under the Medicaid State Plan.

The five qualifying ADLs are eating, dressing, bathing, toileting, and
mobility. For Medicaid recipients meeting the criteria above, Personal care
services shall be available for up to 80 hours per month in accordance with an
assessment conducted under subsection (d) of this section and a plan of care
developed by the service provider and approved by the Department of Health
and Human Services, Division of Medical Assistance, or its designee.

SECTION 10.9F. (c) (3) A Medicaid recipient who meets the eligibility
criteria provided in subdivisions (1) and (2) of this subsection and all of the
criteria provided below is eligible for up to 50 additional hours of Medicaid
Personal Care Services (PCS) per month for a total of up to 130 hours per
month in accordance with an assessment and a plan of care.

i. The recipient requires an increased level of supervision.

ii. The recipient requires caregivers with training or experience in caring
for individuals who have a degenerative disease, characterized by
irreversible memory dysfunction, that attacks the brain and results in
impaired memory, thinking, and behavior, including gradual memory
loss, impaired judgment, disorientation, personality change, difficulty
in learning, and the loss of language skills.




iii. Regardless of setting, the recipient requires a physical environment
that includes modifications and safety measures to safeguard the
recipient because of the recipient's gradual memory loss, impaired
judgment, disorientation, personality change, difficulty in learning,
and the loss of language skills.

iv. The recipient has a history of safety concerns related to inappropriate
wandering, ingestion, aggressive behavior, and an increased incidence
of falls.

2. SECTION 4. (a) On or before August 1, 2013, the Department of Health and Human
Services shall make an interim report on the implementation of this act to the Joint
Legislative Oversight Committee on Health and Human Services and to the Fiscal
Research Division. The report shall include the following: (i) an estimate of the
number of Medicaid recipients that would be eligible for Medicaid Personal Care
Services under this act, (ii) an estimate of the number of PCS hours potential
recipients would need broken out in increments of 10 hours between 80 and 130
hours, (iii) a copy of the draft Medicaid State Plan Amendment (SPA), (iv) an
estimated time line for approval of the SPA and a projected implementation date, and
(v) the rate reductions necessary to implement this act.

3. SECTION 4. (b) On or before November 1, 2013, the Department of Health and
Human Services shall report on the implementation of this act to the Joint Legislative
Oversight Committee on Health and Human Services.

Implementation Summary

State Plan Amendment (SPA) for PCS

On October 2, 2013 the NC-Department of Health & Human Services (DHHS) submitted
State Plan Amendment 13-009 (Personal Care Services) to the Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS) for review and approval. The state plan changes outlined in
SPA 13-009 reflect the mandates by North Carolina Session Law 2013-306. Though the
SPA has an effective date of October 1, 2013, the changes to the program contained in
the SPA will not be implemented by DMA until approval is obtain from CMS.

Clinical Coverage Policy PCS-3L

The Personal Care Services (PCS) clinical coverage policy was amended to adjust the
criteria for eligibility and service limits in accordance to North Carolina Session Law
2013-306. Clinical Coverage Policy 3L was posted for DHHS internal comment
September 13, 2013 through September 23, 2013 for feedback and recommendations. In
addition, the policy was submitted to NC Division of Medical Assistance (DMA)
Physician Advisory Group (PAG) for review and consultation. The PAG met on
September 26, 2013 and gave approval to move forward with PCS 3 L clinical coverage
policy. Policy recommendations and feedback were reviewed and changes were made as




necessary. Clinical Coverage Policy 3L was posted for 30-day public comment for
stakeholder feedback and recommendations in early October, 2013.

Independent Assessment Entity (IAE) Transition

In May 2013, the Independent Assessment Entity (IAE) contract was awarded to Liberty
Health Care Corporation- NC. The IAE processes requests for assessments that
determine eligibility and level of service for the PCS program as well as processes
changes of status and provider. In addition, the IAE conducts face-to-face assessments
statewide and communicates technical denials, adverse notices, and prior approvals (PAs)
to the beneficiaries and providers. The IAE was fully operational on October 1, 2013.
The IAE utilizes QiRePort, an automated provider interface, to manage scheduling and
processing assessments, and determining eligibility and level of service.

Referral Form & Independent Assessment

In accordance with Session Law 2013-306, the PCS program made enhancements to the
PCS referral form and independent assessment tool to adjust the availability of hours for
personal care services. The PCS referral form now includes a physician attestation,
requiring a physician to attest that a beneficiary meets the eligibility criteria mandated by
Session Law 2013-306. The PCS referral form was developed by the DMA with input
from the PCS Stakeholder group. DMA will continue to work with stakeholders and
contractors to make refinements to the form as needed.

Effective October 1, 2013, Liberty Healthcare Corporation-NC was the independent
assessment entity IAE designated by the DMA. DMA provided guidance to the IAE on
how to accept and process the PCS referral form for additional hours of PCS mandated
by Session Law 2013-306. The updated PCS referral form was effective October 1, 2013.

DMA is authorizing a 30 day grace period for the submission of referral forms for
additional PCS hours. The grace period is offered to ensure beneficiaries have adequate
time to receive physician attestation and submit a timely referral for additional PCS
hours. Pending a timely submission of the PCS referral form beneficiaries will receive
additional hours of PCS if deemed eligible through an independent assessment conducted
by the IAE.

Rate

The DMA submitted a state plan amendment, which amends the rate of PCS to
implement session law 2013-306 from $3.88 per 15 minutes of service per unit to $3.28
per 15 minutes of service per unit. Once approval is received from CMS, the rate will
take effect October 1, 2013 as stated in the public notice posted August 16, 2013.

Stakeholder Communications

DMA continues to host weekly stakeholder meetings to provide the opportunity for
stakeholders in North Carolina who have an interest in the development and
implementation of the PCS program to collaborate and share their recommendations.
The meetings are conducted face to face and by teleconference. The meetings are
designed to share project status, gather input and identify next steps.




On September 25, 2013, the NC-DMA hosted a PCS Summit in Durham, NC for the PCS
stakeholder community. The purpose of the PCS Summit was to provide a platform for
all interested stakeholders (internal and external) to receive updates regarding the
upcoming changes to the PCS program. The Summit addressed upcoming changes to the
PCS program, such as the implementation of Session Law 2013-306, the PCS referral
form, and the introduction of the new independent assessment entity (IAE) Liberty
Healthcare Corporation-NC. Over 350 participants attended the PCS Summit.

In addition, DMA convenes weekly PCS Transition Meetings with Contractors. Other
participants include staff from the Division of Aging and Adults Services, Health Service
Regulation, and Mental Health/Developmental Disabilities and Substance Abuse
Services. Participating contractors are Liberty Healthcare-NC, VieBridge, Public
Consulting Group (PCH), Office of Administrative Hearings, and others as needed.




