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Current and Inflation-Adjusted Member

Compensation and Expense

Rates

In 1995
Dollars
Current
Pay Items BLS CPI
Rate
Factor
Annual Salary
Member $ 13,951 | S 21,764
Majority & Minority Leaders S 17,048 | S 26,595
Speaker Pro Tempore & Senate Deputy Pro Tempore | S 21,739 | S 33,913
Speaker and President Pro Tempore S 38,151 | S 59,516
Monthly Expense Allowance
Member S 559 | $§ 872.04
Majority & Minority Leaders S 666|5S 1,039
Speaker Pro Tempore & Senate Deputy Pro Tempore | S 836 | S 1,304
Speaker and President Pro Tempore S 1,413 | S 2,204
Daily Subsistence Allowance S 104 | S 162
Private Vehicle Per Mile S 02958 0.45

Source: Prepared by Program Evaluation Division from data provided
by the Division of Administration of Legislative Services Office




Definitions Used in NCSL
Categorization of Legislatures

Category of Legislature Time on the Job (1) Compensation (2) Total Staff (3)
Green 82% $81,079 1,340
Gray 70% $43,429 479
Gold 54% $19,197 169
Notes:

1. Estimated proportion of a full-time job spent on legislative work including time in session, constituent
service, interim committee work, and election campaigns. Source: 2002 NCSL survey of all state legislators.
2. Estimated average annual compensation of legislators including salary, per diem, and any other
unvouchered expense payments. Source: NCSL 2014.

3. Average number of staff--partisan and nonpartisan--working for the legislature. Source: NCSL 2011.

Source: Brenda Erickson, National Conference of State Legislatures,
Full- and Part-Time Legislatures, June 1, 2014

Available February 3, 2016: www.ncsl.org/research/about-state-
legislatures /full-and-part-time-legislatures.aspx#side by side




Types of Legislatures

~

4

-
.

4

B .4

Green - Full-time, well paid, large staff
Green-Lite ! Full-time Lite

Gray - Hybrid

Gold-Lite [Z] Part-time Lite

Gold Part-time, low pay, small staff

Source: Brenda Erickson, National Conference of State Legislatures,
Full- and Part-Time Legislatures, June 1, 2014
@ Available February 3, 2016: www.ncsl.org/research/about-state-

legislatures /full-and-part-time-legislatures.aspx#side by side




Comparison of NC Compensation and
Expenses to Similar State Legislatures

Alabama
Arizona
Arkansas
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Hawaii
Indiana
lowa
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maryland
Minnesota
New Jersey

Gray

Missouri
Nebraska
North Carolina
Oklahoma
Oregon

South Carolina
Tennessee
Texas

Virginia
Washington

Category of Legislature Time on the Job (1) Compensation (2) Total Staff (3)
Green 82% $81,079 1,340
Gray 70% $43,429 479
Gold 54% $19,197 169
Notes: North Carolina 2014 $43,227 315

1. Estimated proportion of a full-time job spent on legislative work including time in session, constituent
service, interim committee work, and election campaigns. Source: 2002 NCSL survey of all state legislators.
2. Estimated average annual compensation of legislators including salary, per diem, and any other
unvouchered expense payments. Source: NCSL 2014.

3. Average number of staff--partisan and nonpartisan--working for the legislature. Source: NCSL 201 1.

Sources: Brenda Erickson, National Conference of State Legislatures, Full- and Part-Time
Legislatures, June 1, 2014 Available February 3, 2016: www.ncsl.org/research/about-
state-leqgislatures /full-and-part-time-legislatures.aspx#side by side and NC Legislative

Services Office, Division of Administration.




States Where an Independent Commission Sets
Legislative Salaries

State Legal Reference
Constitutional Amendment 57. Salary is equal to Alabama median
Alabama annual household income as determined annually by the State

Personnel Board.
Okla. Stat. Ann. title 74, §291 et seq.; Art V, §21; Title 74, §291.2

Oklahoma et seq.; Legislative Compensation Board sets amount every two
years.
Article 11 §§23 and 43.03.060, Washington Rev. Code Ann.
Washington §43.03.028. The salary commission sets salaries for each term of

office based on market study and input from citizens.

State Constitution - Art. lll, §8 establishes a Citizens Compensation
California Commission that sets salary, which is fixed annually in July effective
the following December.

Source: Prepared by the Program Evaluation Division review of State Constitutional provisions
cited by the Council of State Governments, Book of the States, 2015 , pages 80-81.




Reference Tables and State Comparative
Information from National Conference of State
Legislatures and Council of State Governments

* How States Establish Legislator Compensation

* Session and Interim Compensation and Expense
Rates

* Legislative Fringe Benefits

* Legislative Retirement Provisions

* Office Supplies and District Salaries




STATE LEGISLATURES The Book of the States 2015

METHOD OF SETTING LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION

State Method
Alabama ...ceeeveeererereneeeenes Constitutional Amendment 57
AlasKAcuuierenienirennsanscnssanes Compensation Commission; Alaska Stat. §24.10.100, §24.10.101; §39.23.200 thru 39.23.260
PN 77 71) | T DO Compensation Commission Send to a Public Vote Arizona Revised Statutes 41-1103 and 41-1904
ATKaNSaS..cceeesersersessassasnsens Amendment 70, Ark. Stat. Ann. §10-2-212 et seq.
California ...coeceseescesceecassasens State Constitution— Art. III, §8, which establishes a compensation commission.
Colorado...eencesesencsesenes Colorado Stat. 2-2-307 (1)
Connecticut coueeeensecscssnesens Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. §2-9a; The General Assembly takes independent action pursuant to recommendations of a com-

pensation commission.

Delaware Del. Code Ann. Title 29, §710 et seq.; §§3301-3304; Are implemented automatically if not rejected by resolution.

Florida Statutes §11.13(1); statute provides members same percentage increase as state employees.
Ga. Code Ann. §45-7-4 and §28-1-8

Hawaii State Constitution Article XVI §3.5; Legislative Salary Commission recommendations take effect unless rejected
by concurrent resolution.

) F:1 1T J Idaho Code 67-406a and 406b; Citizen’s Committee on Legislative Compensation makes recommendations that the
legislature can reduce or reject, but not increase.

TIlNOIS cuoveeeerenenesnrsesnssnensenes 25 ILCS 120—Compensation Review Act and 25 ILCS 115—General Assembly Compensation Act

Indiana....eccesnseeneenencnnns 1C2-3-1-1: An amount equal to 18% of the annual salary of a judge under IC 33-38-5-6, as adjusted under IC 33-38-5-8.1.

) (1) Towa Code Ann. §2.10; lowa Code Ann. §2A.1 thru 2A.5

Kansas c..ccceeeveecseesncsnssansnne Kan. Stat. Ann. §46-137a et seq.; §75-3212

Kentucky ...ceueeeeeseeresenenenen Kentucky Rev. Stat. Ann. §6.226-229. The Kentucky committee has not met since 1995; the most recent pay raise was
initiated and passed by the General Assembly.

Louisiana.....ceecueeessesessenes La. Rev. Stat. 24:31 & 31.1

D7 T | T, Maine Constitution Article IV, part third, §7 and 3 MRSA, §2 and 2-A. Increase in compensation is presented to the
legislature as legislation; the legislature must enact and the governor must sign into law. Takes effect only for subsequent
legislatures.

Maryland .......ceeeeeerenenienenn Article 11, §15. Commission meets before each four-year term of office and presents recommendations to the General

Assembly for action. Recommendations may be reduced or rejected.

Massachusetts .......ceeeeereneen Massachusetts Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 3, §§9, 10. In 1998, the voters passed a legislative referendum that, starting with the
2001 session, members will receive an automatic increase or decrease according to the median household income for the
commonwealth for the following two-year period.

Michigan.....ooeeesenercreens Article IV §12. Compensation Commission recommends legislature by majority vote; must approve or reduce for change
to be effective for the session immediately following the next general election.

Minnesota...eesscereseesenenes Minn. Stat. Ann §3.099 et seq.; §15A.082; The Council submits salary recommendations to the presiding officers by May 1
in odd numbered years.

MiSSISSIPPI cereserererersreaensasans Miss. Code Ann. 5-1-41

JL7 EETYITT PO Art. 111, §§16, 34; Mo. Ann. Stat. §21.140; Recommendations are adjusted by legislature or governor if necessary.

Montana ...eeeccveeeresenensnens Mont. Laws 5-2-301; Tied to executive broadband pay plan.

Nebraska ..cecoeecceecseeccsecanes Neb. Const. Art. III, §7; Neb. Rev. Stat. 50-123.01

Nevada..ecseseesessasesennes §218.210-§218.225

New Hampshire .......ceueuee Art. XV, part second

New Jersey .cooeeessssenennes Article TV Sec. TV 7, 8; NJSA 52:10A-1; NJSA 52:14-15.111-114

NeW MEXICO ceverrereraraesassanes Art. IV. §10;2-1-8 NMSA

New YOrK...coveereessaecsacsnne Constitution— Art. 3, §6; Consolidated Laws of NY —Legislative Law, Section 5

North Carolina........cceeueueee N.C.G.S.120-3

North Dakota......cceeneuenene NDCC 54-03-10 and 54-03-20

[0) 1T, Art. II, §31; Ohio Rev. Code Ann. title 1 ch. 101.27 thru 101.272

OKIahomMA....ccerrereercercassasens Okla. Stat. Ann. title 74, §291 et seq.; Art V, §21; Title 74, §291.2 et seq.; Legislative Compensation Board

Oregon..ccssusssssassssanes Or. Rev. Stat. §171.072

Pennsylvania ....oeceevecenenes Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. 46 PS §5; 65 PS §366.1 et seq.; Legislators receive annual cost of living increase that is tied to the
Consumer Price Index.

Rhode Island.........coceerueeneen Art. VI, §3

See footnotes at end of table.

The Council of State Governments
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METHOD OF SETTING LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION — Continved

State Method
South Carolina.........ccceenene S.C. Code Ann. 2-3-20 and the annual General Appropriations Act
South Dakota.....eeeeereeenns Art. II1, §6 and Art. XXI, §2; S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §20402 et seq.
TENNESSEE cvveerererercrarcnsesaae Art. 11, §23; Tenn. Code Ann. §3-1-106 et seq.

Washington...

West Virginia....ooeeeeesessasnens

Wisconsin .

WYoming ...ceeeeeereseenenennnen

Art. 111, §24; In 1991, a constitutional amendment was approved by voters to allow Ethics Commission to recommend the
salaries of members. Any recommendations must be approved by voters to be effective. The provision has yet to be used.

Art. VI, §9; Utah Code Ann. §36-2-2, et seq.
Vt. Stat. Ann. title 32, §1051 and §1052
Art. 1V, §5; Va. Code Ann. §30-19.11 thru §30-19.14

Article IT §§23 and 43.03.060, Washington Rev. Code Ann. §43.03.028. The salary commission sets salaries of the legislature
and other state officials based on market study and input from citizens.

Art. 6, §33; W. Va. Code §4-2A-1 et seq.; Submits by resolution and must be concurred by at least four members of the
commission. The Legislature must enact the resolution into law and may reduce, but shall not increase, any item established
in such resolution.

Wisconsin Statutes §§20.923 and 230.12, created by Chapter 90, Laws of 1973, and amended by 1983 Wisconsin Acts 27
and 33. Generally, compensation is determined as part of the state compensation plan for non-represented employees
and is approved by vote of the joint committee on employment relations.

Wyo. Stat. §28-5-101 thru §28-5-105

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2015.

The Council of State Governments
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LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION AND LIVING EXPENSE ALLOWANCES DURING SESSIONS

11

Salaries
Regular sessions
Limit
State Per-diem salary ondays  Annual salary Mileage cents per mile Session per diem rate
Alabama ......cecueeeenereenne $42,849 (a) 10/mile for a single roundtrip per session. ~ Alabama Legislators no longer receive a set per diem rate while in session.
57.5/mile interim cmte. attendance. Legislators are reimbursed for in-state travel expenses which include
mileage and per diem in accordance with rates and procedures applicable
to state employees. All out-of-district reimbursable travel must be for
official business and in the interests of the state or in the performance of
official duties, as approved by the applicable Presiding Officer.
PN T ' PO $50,400 56/mile for approved travel. $223 or $249/day (depending on the time of year) tied to the federal rate.
Legislators who reside in the Capitol area receive 75% of the Federal rate.
Arizona... $24,000 44.5/mile on actual miles. $35/day for the first 120 days of the regular session and for special sessions
and $10/day thereafter. Members residing outside Maricopa County receive
an additional $25/day for the first 120 days of the regular session and for
special sessions and an additional $10/day thereafter (V). Set by statute.
ArKansas.....eeesssssesenes $39,400 56/mile. $150/day (V) plus mileage; tied to the federal rate.
California .....eeeeeeenenene $97,197 53/mile. $168/day for each day in session.
Colorado... $30,000 50/mile. State reimbursement rate $99/day for members living outside Denver (V). Set by the legislature;
is 90% of federal rate. $45/day for members who live 50 or fewer miles from the Capitol.
Connecticut .....coeuerenen $28,000 57.5/mile. No per diem is paid.
Delaware .......cceeevuerrenne $44,541 40/mile set by Del. Code Ann. Title 29 No per diem is paid.
§7102.
Florida ....eceeererereenenennnns $29,697 44.5/mile for business travel. $129/day based on the number of days in session. Travel vouchers are filed
to substantiate.
Georgia.. $17.342 50/mile Ga. Code Ann. §50-19-7 sets $173/day (U); set by the Legislative Services Committee.
rate of reimbursement at the same
mileage rate established by the U.S.
General Services Administration.
Hawaiivoinereresereenen $59,004 Members can file a claim for mileage $150/day for members living outside Oahu during session;
reimbursement based on the federal $10/day for members living on Oahu.
mileage reimbursement rate.
Idaho.....eeeeeeeeereeeeesesennnnn $16,684 One roundtrip per week at state rate. $129/day for members establishing a second residence in Boise;
$49/day if no second residence is established and up to $25/day travel (V).
Set by the compensation commission.
LT I T1) (O, $67,836—Members are  39/mile. $111 per session day.

required to forfeit one
day of compensation per
month.

See footnotes at end of table.

The Council of State Governments
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LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION AND LIVING EXPENSE ALLOWANCES DURING SESSIONS — Continued

Salaries
Regular sessions
Limit
State Per-diem salary on days Annual salary Mileage cents per mile Session per diem rate

| E1T 1711 P — . o $24.,140.16 56/mile. $159/day (U); tied to the federal rate.

) (137 SN ... ... $25,000 39/mile. $148/day (U); $111/day for Polk County legislators (U). Set by the

legislature to coincide with the federal rate. State mileage rates apply.

Kansas .....ceenensenenenens $88.66/day (C) .. . 56/mile, set by Dept. of Admin. $129/day.

Kentucky ..ceceeceecnecsecnes $188.22/day . . 55.5/mile. $141.90/day.

Louisiana... $16,800 plus additional ~ 56/mile; tied to the federal rate. $150/day (U); tied to the federal rate.
$6,000/year (U) expense
allowance.

Maine.. $14,074/year for first 44/mile. $38/day for lodging, or mileage and tolls in licu of housing (at a rate of
regular session; $0.44/mile up to $38/day) plus $32/day for meals. Set by statute.
$9,982/year for second
regular session. (b)

Maryland .....cocuececneenenees . ... $45,207 57.5/mile. $500 annual allowance for Meals: $45/day; mileage: $.575/mile; lodging: $100/day.

in-district travel as taxable income,
members may decline the allowance.

Massachusetts ........eeueee . .. $60,032 Between $10-$100 reimbursed per From $10/day-$100/day, depending on distance from State House (V)

trip, determined by distance from set by the legislature.
the State House.

Michigan... $71,685 56/mile. $10,800/year expense allowance for session and interim (V); set by the

compensation commission.

Minnesota....oeeeseesesnes o . $31,141 House: during session, members can $86/day for senators and $66/day for representatives.

request up to 1 roundtrip/week if
they live more than 50 miles from
the Capitol; $100-$1,650/month for
mileage reimbursement for travel
in the legislative district during interim.
Senate: a reasonable allowance.
Mississippi $10,000 Determined by Federal Register and $129/day.
Legislature.
MiSSOUNicurersrsaeasasasananns . .. $35,915 37/mile. $103.20/day (U); tied to the federal rate. Verification of per diem is by roll call.
Montana ......eeeeesesesnens $82.64 (L) ... .. 56/mile, based on IRS rate; reimbursement  $112.85/day (U).
for actual mileage traveled in connection
with legislative business.
Nebraska ....ooeeerieennnnns .. .. $12,000 56/mile; tied to federal rate. $129/day for members residing 50 miles or more from the Capitol;

$46/day for members inside the 50-mile radius.

See footnotes at end of table.

The Council of State Governments
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LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION AND LIVING EXPENSE ALLOWANCES DURING SESSIONS — Continued

Salaries
Regular sessions
Limit
State Per-diem salary ondays  Annualsalary Mileage cents per mile Session per diem rate
Nevada.....ceeenessenesesnene $146.29/day (c) Max. of . Federal rate, currently 56/mile. $152/per day.
60 days
of session.

New Hampshire............ .. $200/2-year term Roundtrip home to the State House at No per diem is paid.
38/mile for the first 45 miles and 19/mile
thereafter, or members will be reimbursed
for actual expenses and mileage will be
paid at the maximum IRS mileage rate.

New Jersey $49,000 None. No per diem is paid.

New MeXiCo oeveererenne . e . 55/mile; tied to the federal rate. $165/day (V); tied to the federal rate.

New YorK..ovuueesesessenns . ... $79,500 Varies (V) tied to Federal GSA rate — $172/full day (including overnight); $61/partial day.
currently 55.5/mile.

North Carolina............. e . $13,951 29/mile, 1 roundtrip/week during session; ~ $104/day (U) set by statute. $0.29/mile set by statute. Monthly expense
1 roundtrip for attendance at interim allowance: $559/month, member; $666/month.
cmte. mtgs.

North Dakota........ccu.... $167/day during . . 56/mile; 1 roundtrip/week during session.  Lodging reimbursement up to $1,569 per month (V).

legislative sessions (C)

L0117 YNSRI . .. $60,584 52/mile; 1 roundtrip/week from home No per diem is paid.
to the State House for legislators outside
Franklin County only.

OKlahoma....ueeeeceecsnenee ... s $38,400 56/mile; tied to the federal rate. $160/day (U): tied to federal rate.

Oregon $23,052 56/mile. $129/day (U); tied to federal rate

Pennsylvania ......ceeeuee .. . $85,339 56/mile; tied to the federal rate. $159/day.

Rhode Island................ . ... $15,171—Per Article VI, 56.5/mile to and from session. No per diem is paid.

Section 3 of the Rhode
Island Constitution, the
rate of compensation

is adjusted annually to
reflect changes in the
cost of living.

South Carolina............. . e $10,400 Current IRS rate. $140/day for meals and housing for each statewide session day and

committee meeting; tied to the federal rate.

South Dakota........cu.... $129/day for $6,000/session 37/mile for 1 roundtrip from Pierre to $129/legislative day (U); set by the legislature.

interim committees home each weekend; one trip is also

paid at 5/mile. During the interim, 37/mile
for scheduled committee meetings.

See footnotes at end of table.

The Council of State Governments
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LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION AND LIVING EXPENSE ALLOWANCES DURING SESSIONS — Continued

14

Salaries
Regular sessions
Limit
State Per-diem salary on days Annual salary Mileage cents per mile Session per diem rate
TeNNESSEE cuuvurerreressernes $20,884 47/mile. $198/legislative day (U); tied to federal rate.
TeXAS eerererrrsaersaresasaerenen $7.200 50/mile set by General Appropriations $190/day (U); set by ethics commission.
bill; an allowance for single, twin and
turbo engines of $1.24/mile is also given.

U171 PO $273/day (C) 56/mile, roundtrip from home to Capitol. ~ Up to $100 plus tax/calendar day (V) for lodging reimbursement, tied to
in-state travel reimbursement lodging rate for Salt Lake City metropolitan
area; up to $39/date meal reimbursement (V), tied to in-state travel meal
reimbursement rates (includes tax and tips).

Vermont.. $676.56/week during Federal mileage rate, now about 56/mile; ~ $110/day for lodging (overnight stay) or $61/day for meals and mileage if

legislative session only.  state employee reimbursement rate. commuting.

Virginia....eeeeeesessnsenens $18,000/year for Senate; 56/mile. $180/day for senators;

$17,640/year for House. $179/day for House members.

Washington......cecseuees $42,106 56/mile $120/day.

West Virginia.......eeueue. $20,000 48.5/mile based on Dept of Admin. $131/day during session (U); set by compensation commission.

travel regulations.

Wisconsin ....oeeeeeseesenes $50,950 51/mile; 1 roundtrip/week to the Capitol Wisconsin Senate — Current authorized amount is up to $88 per day
($44 per day for legislators living in Dane County). This rate is 64% of the
maximum per diem rate for Madison.

Wisconsin Assembly —Current authorized amount is up to $138 per day
for members staying overnight on legislative business, and up to $69 per
day when conducting legislative business and not staying overnight. The
maximum number of per diem that can be claimed per year is 153 days.
This overnight rate is the maximum allowed of the per diem rate for Madison.
Wyoming ......ceeeseesnnnes $150/day during session 55/mile. $109/day (V), including travel days for those outside of Cheyenne; set by

the legislature.

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2015.
Key:

C — Calendar day

L — Legislative day

(U) — Unvouchered

(V) — Vouchered

... — Not applicable

(a) Alabama legislators receive a taxable compensation equal to the Alabama median annual household
income, as ascertained and adjusted yearly by the State Personnel Board. The State Personnel Board
met on Oct. 22,2014, and set the median annual household income amount.This current median annual
household amount went into effect on November 5, 2014 and is effective until December 31, 2015.

(b) Annual cost of living adjustments apply. In addition, legislators receive a constituent service
allowance ($2,000/year for Senators and $1,500/year for Representatives).

(c) The members of the 78th Regular Session pledged to voluntarily take a 2.3 percent reduction of
their salaries for the session. The reduction does not apply to those who did not vote in favor of the

voluntary reduction.

The Council of State Governments
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LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION: OTHER PAYMENTS AND BENEFITS

R Insurance benefits
Transportation

Legislator’s compensation for Phone offered to Disability Life insurance
State office supplies, district offices and staffing  allowance legislators Health Dental Vision insurance benefits

Alabama.........couuue. None, although annual appropriation to Yes (a) None S.A.,OP. S.A.,OP. N.A. N.A. N.A.
certain positions may be so allocated.

Alaska...cerereserenseee Senators receive up to $20,000/y and repre- Yes (a) None S.PP. S.PP. O.P;unless included Optional;if selected Small policy available;
sentatives receive up to $16,000/y for postage in Health Ins. is included in health additional is optional at
per their choice for postage, stationery and insurance. legislator’s expense.
other legislative expenses. Staffing allowance
determined by rules and presiding officers,
depending on time of year.

ATIZONAucrerecrreernee None. (2) (b) S.PP,S.A. S.A., OP. S.A.,O.P. S.PP. State pays 15K policy:
additional amount is paid
by legislator.

Arkansas.....oeeees Legislators receive a maximum reimburse- No None S.PP. (cc) O.P. O.P. (cc) OP— State pays for $30K as part
ment of $14,400/y for legislative expenses. Supplemental of the health plan;
Committee chairs, vice chairs, and standing additional is optional at
subcommittee chairs may claim additional legislator’s expense.
reimbursement up to $3,600/y.

California .....ceueeeee Assembly members have a base allowance of No (c) S.PP. (dd) (dd) (dd) Assembly members  $250,000 term policy for the
$263,000/y to cover these expenses. Senate do not have Assembly: members pay
member expenses are paid directly and main- disability insurance  18% of the premium plus
tained by the Senate Rules Committee. coverage; senators  the taxable value on

are covered by a coverage above $50,000.

long-term disability ~ Senators are eligible for up

insurance policy. to $250,000 term coverage:
members pay 18% of the
age-based premium plus the
taxable value on coverage
above $50,000.

Colorado.......ceeerenee None. Yes (a) None S.PP.— Amount S.PP.— Amount N.A. N.A. State pays full amount for

differs according to  differs according to $50,000 policy; additional is
plan selected. plan selected. optional at legislator’s
expense.

Connecticut............ Senators receive $5,500/y and representatives ~ Yes. (d) None S.PP. S.PP. Some health O.P. O.P.
receive $4,500/y in unvouchered expense insurance plans
allowance. include discounts on

eyewear.
Delaware .. Office supplies are distributed out of the Yes (a) None S.PP. OP. O.P. N.A. O.P.

general House supply budget.

See footnotes at end of table.

The Council of State Governments
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LEGISLATIVE COMPENSATION: OTHER PAYMENTS AND BENEFITS — Continued

16

Insurance benefits

Transportation
Legislator’s compensation for Phone offered to Disability Life insurance
State office supplies, district offices and staffing allowance legislators Health Dental Vision insurance benefits

Florida ....cceveeuenennnn Senate: $2,921/m for district office expenses; No (e) Legislators pay SP. O.P. S.P. S.P.

House: $2,482/m for district office expenses. $50/m for individual
coverage and
$180/m for family
coverage.

Georgia s Legislators have $7,000/y reimbursable expense  No None S.A,S.PP. O.P. O.P. S.PP. S.PP.
account. If the member requests and provides
receipts, the member is reimbursed for per-
sonal services, office equipment, rent, supplies,
transportation, telecommunications, etc.

Hawaiicooeiinensasnns No district offices. The allocation for session (r) (f) SPP— SPP— SPP— S.PP. S.PP.—Same options as
staffing is approximately $5,000-$8,000/m for Same options Same options Same options legislative employees.
the January—April legislative session. as legislative as legislative as legislative

employees. employees. employees.

Idaho......cucueeeueuennnes $1,875/y for unvouchered constituent expense.  No None S.PP. S.PP. S.P.P. S.PP. S.PP.
No staffing allowance.

TNOiS cecverererenenersnnn Senators receive $83,063/y and representatives  No None S.PP. S.PP. S.PP. S.P. S.PP.
$69.409/y for office expenses, including
district offices and staffing.

Indiana.......cceeuereeee These expenses come out of one main Senate  No None S.A. S.A. S.A. Legislators are not ~ S.A.
budget. No district offices. offered disability

insurance.

) (1)1 7 PS—" $300/m to cover district constituency postage, No None S.PP. S.PP. N.A. S.P. State pays first $20,000,
travel, telephone and other expenses. No additional at legislator
staffing allowance. expense.

Kansas .... Allowed $7,083/y which is taxable income for ~ Yes None S.PP. S.P, legislator pays ~ O.P. S.P. 150% of annual salary if
the legislators. Staffing allowances vary for dependent portion. part of KPERS. Additional
leadership, which has its own budget. Legisla- insurance is optional at
tors provided with secretaries during session legislator’s expense.
only.

Kentucky $1,788.51/y for district expenses during No (h) S.A. O.P. O.P. O.P. State pays $20,000;

interim.

additional is optional at
legislator’s expense.

See footnotes at end of table.
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Insurance benefits

Transportation
Legislator’s compensation for Phone offered to Disability Life insurance
State office supplies, district offices and staffing  allowance legislators Health Dental Vision insurance benefits

Louisiana.......ceueuees Allowed $500/m. Senators and representatives ~ Yes (i) None S.P.P.—State pays S.P.P.—State pays O.P. O.P. S.P.P.—State pays 50% and
receive an additional $1,500/m supplemental 50% and legislator ~ 50% and legislator legislator pays 50%.
allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent, pays 50%. pays 50%; Senators
and travel mileage in district. Senators and Rep- pay 100%.
resentatives staff allowance $2,000/m starting
salary up to $3,000/m with annual increases.

A7 BT T ——— None. However, supplies for staff offices are No None S.A.—The state S.A.,OP— O.P. N.A. Legislators are eligible for a
provided and paid for out of general pays 95% or 100%  State pays 100% of group life insurance program
legislative account. of legislator cov- legislators’ coverage. with coverage in amount

erage and 50% of equal to legislators’ salary;
dependent coverage. plan is 100% legislator-paid.

Maryland................. $18,265/y for normal expenses of an office No None S.A.—The state pays S.A., O.P.—The state Covered under the  N.A. Term insurance; optional at
with limits on postage, telephone and publica- 80-85% depending  pays 50%. medical plan. legislator’s expense.
tions. Legislators must use $5,800 for clerical on the plan selected;
services. Senators receive one administrative legislator pays
assistant and session secretary. 20% for PPO,

17% for POS or
15% for HMO.
Massachusetts . Allowed $7,200/y for office expenses. No None S.PP. (State currently S.PP. S.PP. O.P. $5,000 policy provided;
pays 80%.) Additional up to 8 times
salary at legislator’s expense.

Michigan.......ceueeeee $51,900 per majority senator for office budget ~ Yes (a) None Health, vision, life, cancer, prescription, offered via cafeteria plan. N.A. Offered at different levels
and $51,900 for minority senator for office as part of cafeteria plan.
budget.

Minnesota......ceuenee Supplies provided in Capitol. In the House, Yes (j) (k) The state pays 100% The state pays 81%  S.A. O.P,STD,LTD— State pays premium for
staffing is provided centrally. Senators have for single coverage  for single coverage Optional life for benefit of $35,000.
one legislative assistant and are given $75/w and 90% of family ~ and 60% for family member, spouse, and
for interns. No district offices. coverage. coverage. child; AD&D and

long-term care.

MissisSippi cccuececsene $1,500/m out of session. No None S.P.—Legislator OP. O.P. O.P. S.PP.

only premiums.

MiSSOUTi.ueuererasaerenees $700/m to cover all reasonable and necessary ~ Yes (1) None S.PP. O.P. O.P. S.P. S.P.— Additional amounts
business expenses. are optional at legislator’s

expense.

Montana .......eceeeenee None. Yes (m) (x) S.P.—Dependents S.P.—Dependents O.P. N.A. State pays $14,000 term

are not covered.

are legislators’
responsibility.

policy. Additional at
legislator’s expense.

See footnotes at end of table.
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Insurance benefits

Transportation
Legislator’s compensation for Phone offered to Disability Life insurance
State office supplies, district offices and staffing  allowance legislators — Health Dental Vision insurance benefits

Nebraska co.cooeeeseenns No allowance; however, each member is Yes (a) None O.P. O.P. O.P. O.P. O.P.
provided with two full-time capitol staff
year-round.

Nevada... None. Yes— (n) OP. OP. O.P. O.P. O.P.

$2,800/y
allowance

New Hampshire...... None. No None O.P. O.P. N.A. N.A. N.A.

New Jersey .....cceeeee Allowed $1,250 for office supplies. Equipment ~ No (o) S.A.—Members S.A.—Members S.A.—Members Temporary disability Members enrolled in the
and furnishings supplied through a district appointed or elected appointed or elected appointed or elected insurance is not pension plan have up to
office program and there is $110,000/y for after 5/21/10 are not  after 5/21/10 are not  after 5/21/10 are not  available to members. three times the annual
district office personnel. State provides cligible for coverage. eligible for coverage. eligible for coverage. Some members have salary. Members enrolled
stationery for each legislator and $10,000 for permanent disability in the defined contribution
postage stamps. options available plan have one and a half

through their pension times the annual salary.
plan; those not Members not covered by
eligible for pension  either plan have no death
are offered long-term benefit.

disability insurance

unless they are

already retired from

a public pension plan.

New Mexico ..ceeenee None. No None N.A. N.A. N.A. N.A. N.A.

New YorK.....cceeeuenee Staff allowance (district and Capitol) is set Yes (a) (p) S.PP. S.P. S.P. S.P. O.P.
by the majority leader for majority members
and by the minority leader for minority
members. Geographic location, seniority
and leadership responsibilities will cause
variations.

North Carolina....... Non-leaders receive $6,708/y for any legislative ~ Yes (q) None The state paysthe ~ O.P. O.P. O.P. O.P.

expenses not otherwise provided. Full-time
secretarial assistance is provided during session.

full amount for the
PPO 70/30 plan. For
the 80/20 plan, legis-
lators pay a variety
of rates depending
on participation in
wellness activities.
Optional family cov-
crage for both plans
is at legislators’
expense.

See footnotes at end of table.
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Insurance benefits

Transportation

Legislator’s compensation for Phone offered to Disability Life insurance
State office supplies, district offices and staffing — allowance legislators — Health Dental Vision insurance benefits

North Dakota......... None. No None S.P. O.P. O.P. O.P. State pays for $1,300 term

life policy.

(0] 1111 JSU None. Yes (a) None S.P.P.—The state S.P. S.P. N.A. State pays for an amount
pays 85%, and equal to salary. Member may
legislators pay 15%. purchase a supplemental

policy, which is also offered
to state employees.

Oklahoma............... Each member is given a $1,500/y allotment. Yes (s) None Allowance ranging ~ S.A. S.A. S.A. SA.

This may be spent on electronic communica- from $608.57 for

tions such as cell phone bills as well as office legislator only to

expenses. $1,596.95/m for
family.

Oregon...cecsenee $36,367/y for session staffing and $2,692.80 Yes (t) None S.A.,SPP. S.A.,SPP. S.A.,SPP. O.P,S.A. O.P,S.A.

for services and supplies. For interim periods,
legislators receive $68,538/biennium to spend
as they choose. They also receive an additional
$450-$750/m during interim only, as a district
allowance, depending on geographic size of
district.

Pennsylvania .......... Staffing is determined by leadership. No (u) Medical/hospital, dental, vision, Rx. Legislators are not A group life policy is for up

Legislators pay 1% of salary toward benefits. eligible for disability to the amount of salary.
insurance.
None. No None S.A. S.A. S.A. O.P. O.P.
Senate $3,400/y for postage, stationery and Yes (aa) None S.PP. S.P.P. N.A. S.P.P. S.PP.
telephone. House $1,800/y for telephone and
$600/y for postage. Legislators also receive
$1,000/m for in district expenses that is treated
as income.

South Dakota.. None. Yes (v) None N.A. N.A. N.A. S.P. for accidental N.A.

death/dismember-
ment ins. only.

Tennessee ....oueeeenene Allowed $1,000/m for expenses in district (U). ~ Yes (w) None State pays 80%, O.P. N.A. N.A. State pays $15,000;
legislator pays 20%. Legislator pays $7,000.

TeXAS eeeuesrrsassanssanss Approved allowance for staff salaries, No None S.P,S.A. O.P. Included in health O.P. O.P.

supplies, stationery, postage, district office
rental, telephone expense, etc. Senate and
House allocations are not the same.

coverage.

See footnotes at end of table.
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Insurance benefits

Transportation
Legislator’s compensation for Phone offered to Disability Life insurance
State office supplies, district offices and staffing  allowance legislators Health Dental Vision insurance benefits
None. Yes (bb) None S.PP.—Similar to S.PP.—Similar to Optional group S.P. S.P.
state employees. state employees. discounts; similar to
state employees.

Vermont......ccoeeesuenes None. Yes None OP. N.A. N.A. N.A. N.A.

Virginia.. Legislators receive $1,250/m and leadership Yes None S.PP. S.PP. S.PP. S.P.—only permanent S.P.P.
receives $1,750/m office expense allowance. disability retirement
Legislators receive a staffing allowance of through retirement
$56,000/y; leadership receives $79.879/y. system.

Washington............. Senate —$7,800/y for legislative expenses, for ~ Yes (a) None S.A. S.A. Included in medical. S.P.P. S.PP.
which the legislator has not been otherwise
entitled to reimbursement. No staffing
allowance.

West Virginia.......... None. Yes None O.P. O.P. O.P. N.A. O.P.

Wisconsin . $15,000/two-year session in the Assembly. No  (y) None S.P.P.—Single or Some HMOs offer ~ N.A. O.P. Legislators may have up to
available staffing at district office. $45,000/ family coverage coverage. five times their salary as life
two-year period for office expenses. $191,700/ with premiums from insurance under group term
two-year period for staffing allowance. $84/m to $576/m; coverage. Spouses and de-

26 health insurance pendents may be covered at

carriers offer plans lower levels. Premiums for

across the state. legislators vary with salary
and age.

Wyoming ......ceueenee $750/quarter through the constituent service  Yes (z) None N.A. N.A. N.A. N.A. N.A.
allowance.

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures, 2014.

Key:

(U) — Unvouchered. (V) — Vouchered. d — day. m — month. w — week. y — year.

N.A. — Not available.

S.P. — State pays full amount. S.P.P. — State pays portion and legislator pays portion.

S.A. — Same as state employees. O.P. — Optional at legislator’s expense.

(a) Official state business only.

(b) Access to motor pool for approved legislative travel.

(c) One round-trip flight for each week of session; Use of a pool car for those members who fly to
Sacramento.

(d) Official business only; charges for personal calls are reimbursed by legislator.

(e) Rental cars for official business.

(f) Round-trip airfare for non-Oahu legislators to travel from their home island to the Capitol on Oahu.

(g) Phone cards allowed for certain districts; none used at this time.

(h) State cars are available but not assigned to members.

(i) District office line with one extension.

(j) House members: $75/month communications allowance. Senators: $200/month communications
reimbursement.

(k) Car rental is available with prior approval.

(1) Phone cards issued but expenditures deducted from monthly expense allowance.

(m) Leadership positions only.

(n) Motor pool or private car. Legislative police shuttle to/from Reno airport.

(0) Automobiles for some top leadership positions.

(p) Top leadership has access to vehicles.

(q) Allowance of $2,275 for postage, stationery and telephone.

(r) Senate members may claim cell phone service expenses related to official legislative business, paid
from the member’s annual allowance for legislative expenses.

(s) $1,500/year for electronic communications such as cell phone bills as well as office expenses.

(t) State-provided office and district office phone for legislative business only.

(u) Mileage basis or vehicle from Department of General Services fleet.

(v) Telephone allowance: $600/6 months for legislators and $900/6 months for leadership.

(w) Phone cards.

(x) Limited access to state-owned cars.

(y) Members’ office expenses, including phone expense, are limited to the amount of each legislator’s
office budget, as established by the committees on Senate and Assembly organization.

(z) Phone card for official business only with a $2,000 limit during 2 years.

(aa) Senate: $3,400/year for postage, stationery and telephone. House: $1,800/year for telephone and
$1,100/year for postage.

(bb) State-paid mobile phone or reimbursement for personal phone at same rate as state-paid plan.

(cc) Health: The state pays $410 monthly; legislators pay the balance depending on the plan chosen.
Vision: Vision screening with co-pay, once/2 years with health plan; additional coverage optional at
legislators’ expense.

(dd) Health: The state pays a portion (20% less than the contribution paid for state managerial
employees); legislators pay a portion. Dental: Legislators pay 18% of the basic dental premium; enhanced
coverage is available at an additional cost to the member. Vision: Legislators pay 18 % of the basic vision
premium; enhanced coverage is available at an additional cost to the member.
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STATE RETIREMENT PROVISIONS FOR STATE LEGISLATORS

National Conference of State Legislatures, July 2012

This table shows the retirement plans currently effective for state legislators. In some instances, the table also includes information on plans closed to newly elected legislators that remain in
effect for those elected to a legislature before the current plan became effective. In most cases, more detail on legislators’ plans can be found on the websites of the public employees’ retirement
plan of the state in question. The information in this table was taken from plan descriptions and from legislation enacted in recent years.

Information for Guam and the Virgin Islands dates from 2002.

Ten states do not provide retirement benefit credit for legislative service: Alabama, California, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont and
Wyoming. Many states allow legislators to opt out of the legislative pension program if they wish to do so.

This table was compiled by NCSL staff.

State Participation Plan Name Minimum Age Employee Benefit Formula
Requirement and Service Requirement Contribution Rate
AL None available
AK Optional Public Employees Age 60 with 10 years 6.75% employee 2% (first 10 years); or 2.25% (second 10 years); or 2.5% over 20 x
Retirement System average over 5 highest consecutive years x years of service. Disability
Defined Benefit Plan benefits are available.
AK Optional For those elected No age and service requirements; 8% employee pre-tax | DC account balance plus investment earnings. May be received in
after July 1, 20006: Taxes and penalties may apply if contribution and 5% several different payment options. No provision for post-retirement
Public Employees withdrawn before age 59 1/2. employer benefit increases. Disability benefits are available.
Retirement System Member account contributions are | contribution, plus an
Defined vested as follows: 100% vested in employer contribution
Contribution Plan employee contributions from to the Health Plan
inception. Vested in employer determined by
contributions based on the actuarial valuation.
following schedule: 25% after
2 years of service, 50% after 3
years, 75% after 4 years and 100%
after 5 years.
AZ Mandatory except Elected Officials Age 65 with 5+ years of service; 7% employee 4% x years of credited service x highest 3 yr. average in the past 10
that officials subject | Retirement System age 62 with 10+ years of service; or years The benefit is capped at 80% of FAS.
to term limits may 20 years of service; earlier
opt out for a term of retirement with an actuarial An elected official may purchase service credit in the plan for service
office reduction of benefits. Vesting at 5 earned in a non-elected position by buying it at an actuarially
years determined amount.
AZ Contribution Unchanged For those elected to office after 2011 legislation For those elected to office after 1/1/2012: 3% x years of credited
SB requirements affect all 1/1/2012. Age 65 with 5+ years of | increases contribution | service x highest 5 yt. average in the past 10 years The benefit is
1609  imembers; benefit and service; age 62 with 10+ years of rates in annual steps capped at 75% of FAS.
0f eligibility requirements service. Vesting at 5 years. No from the present 7%
2011  pffect those elected provision for retirement after 20 of gross salary to, in

after January 1, 2012

years or for early retirement.

FY 2014, 13% or an

National Conference of State Legislatures, July 2012
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State Participation Plan Name Minimum Age Employee Benefit Formula
Requirement and Service Requirement Contribution Rate
actuarially based
calculation, which can
be revised. Affects all
members.
AR Optional. Those Arkansas Public Age 65 with 10 years of service; Non-contributory plan | For service that began after 7/1/99:
elected before Employees 55/12; any age with 28 years of in effect for those 2.07% x FAS x years of service
7/1/99 may have Retirement System service; any age if serving in the elected before 2006.
service covered as a General Assembly on 7/1/79; any | For those elected then | FAS based on three highest consecutive years of service.
regular state age if in elected office on 7/1/79 and thereafter, a
employee but must with 17 and 1/2 years of service. contributory plan that | For service that began after July 1, 1991, $35 x years of service =
have 5 years of As a regulat employee, 65/5 ot any | requites 5% of salary. | monthly benefit.
regular service to do age/28 years. Members of the
sO. contributory plan established in For contributory plan, 2% X FAS x years of service.
2005 must have a minimum of 10
years legislative service if they have
only legislative state employment
CA Legislators elected after 1990 are not eligible for retirement benefits for legislative service. See West's Ann.Cal.Const. Art. 4, § 4.5.
CcoO Mandatory: Either Public PERA: age 65 with 5 years of Employee: 8% PERA: 2.5% x FAS x years of service, capped at 100% of FAS.
Employees' service; age 50 with 30 years of
Retirement service; when age + service equals DCP benefit depends upon contributions and investment return.
Association OR State | 80 or more (min. age of 55).
Defined
Contribution Plan. A | DCP: no age requirement and
choice is not immediate vesting.
irrevocable.
CT Mandatory State Employees Age 60 with 25 years credited 2% (.0133 X average annual salary)+(.05 X average salary over
Retirement System service; age 62 with 10-25 years "breakpoint]) X credited service up to 35 yeats
Tier ITA credited service; age 62 with 5 2003 - $36,400
years actual state service 2004 - $38,600
2005 - $40,900
Reduced benefit available with 2006 - $43,400
earlier retirement ages 2007 - $46,000
2008 - $48,800
2009 - $51,700
After 2009 - increase breakpoint by 6% per year rounded to nearest
$100
DE Mandatory State Employees Age 60 with 5 years of credited 3% of annual 2% times FAS times years of service before 1997 + 1.85% times
Pension Plan service; or 55 with 10 years of compensation in FAS times years of service from 1997 on. FAS = average of highest
service excess of $6,000 3 years
DE Mandatory for those | State Employees 65 with 10 years of service; or 60 5% of annual Unchanged
HB 81 | elected after January | Pension Plan with 20 years of service. Vesting at | compensation in
of 1, 2012 10 years. excess of $6,000
2011

National Conference of State Legislatures, July 2012
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State Participation Plan Name Minimum Age Employee Benefit Formula
Requirement and Service Requirement Contribution Rate
FL Optional. Florida Retirement Vesting in DB plan, 6 years; in DC | No employee DB plan: 3% x years of creditable service x average final
Elected officials may | System: Elected plan, 1 year. contribution. compensation (average of highest 5 years)
opt out or may Officers’ Class DB plan: Age 62 with 6 years; 30 Employer DC plan: dependent upon investment expetience.
choose between DB years at any age. Changed in 2011 contribution for 2009-
and DC plans to age 62 without a service 2010 for legislators is
minimum. 14.48% of salary.
DC plan: any age Changed to 3%
employee contribution
as of July 1, 2011.

FL SB 2100 affects those Vesting in DB plan, 8 years. Employee Unchanged for the DB plan except that for those enrolled in the

SB enrolled in the Retirement eligibility at age 65 or contribution of 3% to | system after July 1, 2011, average final compensation will be based

2100 Elected Officers’ with 33 years of service at any age. | affect all members. on the highest 8 years.

of Class on or after July Employer

2011 1, 2011, except for a No changes affecting the DC plan. | contribution about 8%

contribution in FY 2012 and about
requirement for all 29% for FY 2013.
members.
GA Optional; choice Georgia Legislative Vested after 8 years. Age 62 with 8 | Employee: 3.75% + $36/month for each year of service. Post-retitement benefit
when first elected. Retirement System years of service; age 60 with $7 / month. increases are not available to any person who joins the system after
reduction for early retirement July 1, 2009.

HI Mandatory Public Employees Age 55 with 5 years of service, any | Main plan is 3.5% x years of service as elected official x highest average salary
Retirement System; age with 10 years of service. noncontributory; 7.8% | plus annuity based on contributions as an elected official. Highest
elected officials’ plan | Vesting at 5 years. for elected officials’ average salary = average of 3 highest 12-month periods as elected

plan for annuity official. Annual COLA of 2.5%.

HI Act 163 affects For Any age with 10 years of service Contribution rate of Multiplier for elected officials’ reduced from 3.5% to 3.0%; COLA

Act those who enter the Vesting at 10 years 9.8% reduced from 2.5% annually to 1.5%.

163 of | plan after July 1,

2011 2012,

ID Mandatory Public Employee Age 65 with 5 years of service; 6.97% Average monthly salary for highest 42 consecutive months x 2% x
Retirement System of | reduced benefit at age 55 with 5 months of credited service
Idaho years of service.

IL Optional General Assembly Age 55 with 8 years service or age 8.5% for retirement; FAS is highest four years of the last 10, capped at $245,000. Benefit
Retirement System 62 with 4 years service 2% for survivors; 1% | is 3% for each of first 4 years of service; 3.5% for each of the next 2

for automatic years; 4% for each of the next 2 years; 4.5% for each of the next 4

increases; total 11.5% | years; 5% for each year of service above 12. Benefit capped at 85%
of FAS with 20 years of service. Annual COLA at 3%, compounded
and not included under the 85% cap.

IL Optional General Assembly Age 67 with 8 years of service; Same Formula is unchanged. FAS was changed to highest 8 of the last 10

SB Retirement System reduced benefits available at 62 years of service, and capped at $106,800 with an annual adjustment

1946 Changes effective for in the cap at the rate of the CPI. Benefit capped at 60% of FAS.

of those taking office Annual COLA at the lesser of 3% or CPI, compounded.

2010 after 1/1/2011

National Conference of State Legislatures, July 2012
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State Participation Plan Name Minimum Age Employee Benefit Formula
Requirement and Service Requirement Contribution Rate
IN DB plan was Legislators' DB plan: Vesting at 10 years Age | DC plan: 5% DB benefit plan monthly benefit: Lesser of
mandatory for those | Retirement System 65 with 10 years of legislative employee, 20% state (a) $40 x years of General Assembly service completed before
serving before April service; or, if no longer in the (of taxable income) 11/8/89 OR
30, 1989, except that | Defined Benefit legislature, these options apply: at | through 2009. At (b) 1/12 of the average of the three highest consecutive yeats of
those setving on that | (DB) Plan and least 10 years of service; no state present, the General Assembly service salary.
day could opt to Defined salary; at age 55+ Rule of 85 contribution is
transfer to the DC Contribution Plan applies; or age 60 with 15 years of | recalculated annually DC plan: numerous options for withdrawing accumulations in accord
plan. DO service. Early retirement with not to exceed the state | with IRS regulations. Loans are available.
Defined contribution reduced benefit. contribution to the
has been mandatory Immediate vesting in the DC plan. | employee retirement A participant in both plans may receive a benefit from both plans.
for those elected or plan. The DB plan is
appointed since funded by employer
4/30/89 and employee
contributions.
IA Optional Public Employees Age 65; age 62 with 20 years of 3.7 % individual 2% times FAS. x years of service for first 30 years, + 1% times FAS
Retirement System service; Rule of 88; reduced benefit times years in excess of 30 but no more than 5 in excess of 30. FAS
at 55 with at least 4 years of is average of 3 highest years
service.
KS Optional Public Employees Age 65, age 62 with 5 years of 4% if service began 3 highest years x 1.75% x years of. service + 12= monthly benefit.
Retirement System service, or when age plus years of before July 1, 2009;
service equals 85. 6% if service began
after that date. (base
may include salary, per
diem, non-session
allowance, session
expenses; or various
combinations at the
legislatot's option.)
KY Optional. Those who | Kentucky Legislators' | Age 65 with five years of service; 5% of creditable 2.75% of FAS (based on creditable compensation) x years of service.
8/05 opt out are covered Retirement Plan any age with 30 years of service, compensation set by FAS is the average monthly earnings for the 60 months preceding
by the state and intermediate provisions. Early law at $27,500: not retirement.
employees' plan. retirement with reduced benefits. the same as actual HB 1 of the 2008 Special Session reduced the annual COLA for
salary. Revised to be retired legislators from the CPI (capped at 5%) to 1.5% effective on
payable on compensation | July 1, 2008. This applies to current as well as to future retirees. The
reported on W-2 forms statutes reserve to the legislature the power to make such changes.
beginning in 2005. The amount of the COLA may be increased by the legislature if the
HB 1 of 2008 Special | legislature prefunds the cost of the increase.
Session raised the
contribution level to
6% for legislators
clected after 7/1/08
LA Legislative service for legislators elected after January 1, 1997, is ineligible for State Employee Retitement System benefits, by terms of a 1996 constitutional amendment. See LSA-

Const. Art. 10, § 29.1.
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State Participation Plan Name Minimum Age Employee Benefit Formula
Requirement and Service Requirement Contribution Rate
ME Mandatory Maine State Age 60 (if 10 years of service on 7.65% legislators; 2% of average final compensation (the average of the 3 high salary
Retirement System 7/1/93) and age 62 (if less than 10 employer contribution | years) times yeats of service.
years of service on 7/1/93). is actuarially
Reduced benefit available for -
. : determined.
earlier retirement.
MD Optional State Legislators' Age 60 with 8 years; age 50 with 5% of annual salary 3% of legislative salary for each year of service up to 22 years 3
Pension Plan 8+ years creditable service for early months. Benefits are recalculated when legislative salaries are
reduced retirement changed.

MA Optional after each State Retirement Age 55 with 6 years Service; 9%. Some legislators 2.5 times years of service times FAS. FAS = average of highest 36
election or re- System legislators’ unreduced benefit at 65. Vesting at | are grandfathered at months. Service credit is allowed for membership in other
election to the plan 6 years. Reduced benefits for lower rates. Massachusetts retirement plans.

General Court retirement before age 65.
MI Optional Legislative Age 55 with 5 years or when age 7-10% for DB plan. For DB plans, various provisions, depending on when service
Retirement System plus years of service equal 70. started. For the DC plan, benefits depend upon contributions and
(DB) for legislators Employee contributions are For the DC plan, the earnings.
elected before immediately vested. Employer state contributes 4%
3/31/97. Othets may | contributions are vested as follows: | of salaty. Members
join the state defined | Zero after one year; 50% after two | may contribute up to
contribution plan. years; 75% after three years; 100% | 3% of salary. The state
after four years. will match the
membet's contribution
in addition to the state
4% contribution.
MN Mandatory Legislators LRP: 62 years with 6 years of LRP: 9%; 2.7% x high 5 year average salary x years of service.
Retirement Plan service and fully vested. DCP: Age | DCP: 4% from
before 7/1/97, 55 and immediate vesting. member, 6% from DCP benefits depend upon contributions and investment return.
Defined LRP members do not have Social state.
Contribution Plan Security coverage. DCP members
(DCP) since then. have Social Security coverage.
MS Mandatory Legislators’ plan Age 60 with 4 or more years of Regular: 7.25% state Legislators who qualify for regular state retirement benefits also
within the Public service, or 25 years of service 9.75% to 10.75 automatically qualify for the legislators’ supplemental benefits.
Employees’ effective July 1, 2005 | Regular: 2% times FAS times years of service up to and including 25
Retirement System Supplement for years of service +
legislative service: 2.5% times FAS times service in excess of 25 years FAS is based on
3%/6.33% the high 4 years
Supplement: 1% times FAS times years of legislative service through
25 years, + 1.25% times FAS times vyears of service in excess of 25
MO Mandatory Missouri State Age 55; service in three full Non-contributory Monthly pay divided by 24 x years of creditable service, capped at

Employee biennial assemblies (6 years) or 100% of salary. Benefit is adjusted by the percentage increase in pay
Retirement Rule of 80. Vesting at 6 years of for an active legislator.
System service.
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State Participation Plan Name Minimum Age Employee Benefit Formula
Requirement and Service Requirement Contribution Rate
MO No change No change For those entering system after For those entering No change
HB1, January 1, 2011: Age 62; service in | system after January 1,
1st three full biennial assemblies (6 2011: 4% of salary
Speci years) ot the Rule of 90 with a
al minimum age of 55. Vesting at 6
Sessio years of service.
n
2010
MT Optional Public Employees Vesting at 5 years. Age 60 with at 6.9% for DB plan. DB plan: 1/56 times years of service times FAS. Eatly retitement
Retirement System. least 5 years service; age 65 Employer with reduced benefits is available.
Either a DB or a DC | regardless of years of service; or 30 | contribution of 4.19% | DC plan: Employee contributions and earnings are immediately
plan is available. years of service regardless of age. plus employee vested. Employer contributions and earnings are vested after 5 years
contribution of 6.9 %
for DC plan
NE None available
NV Mandatory; but Legislators’ Age 60 with 10 years of service 15% of session salary | Number of years x $25 = monthly allowance
chapter 380, Laws of | Retirement System (legislators elected after July 1,
2005, allows 1985)
legislators to
withdraw from the
system at will. The
decision is final.
NH None available
NJ Mandatory Public Employees' Age 60; no minimum service 5% of salary 3% x Final Average Salary x years of service. FAS = higher of three
Retirement System requirement. Early retirement with highest years ot three final years Benefit is capped at 2/3 of FAS,
no benefit reduction with 25 years Other formulas apply if a legislator also has other service covered by
of service. Vesting at 8 years the Public Employee Retirement System.
NM Optional Legislative Plans 1A and 1B: Age 65 with 5 Plan 1A: $100 per year | Plan 1A: $250 per year of service.
Retirement Plan years of service; 64/8; 63/11; for service after 1959 Plan 1B: $500 per year of service after 1959.
60/12; or any age with 14 years of | Plan 1B: $200 per year | Plan 2: 11 percent of the IRS Legislative per diem rate in effect on
service (now closed to new December 31st of the year a legislator retires x 60 x the years of
Plan 2: 65 with five years of enrollments). credited service. For a legislator who retired in 2111 the benefit
service or at any age with 10 years Plan 2: $500/year. would be $1,129 per year of credited service. Annual 3% COLA.
of legislative service. Increased to $600 per
year by 2012
legislation.
NY Mandatory New York State and | Age 62 with 5 years of service; 55 3% for first 10 years Tier 4: 2% x final average salary (average of 3 highest consecutive
Local Retirement with 30 years; reduced benefit of membership (Tier 4 | years) x years of service to 30 years; multiplier of 1.5% after 30 years
System available at 55/5. Vesting at 5 years | provisions) For members who retire with fewer than 20 years of service, the
multiplier is 1.67.
NC Mandatory Legislative Age 65 with 5 years of service; 7% Highest annual compensation x 4.02% x years of service
Retirement System reduced benefit available at earlier
ages
ND None available.
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State Participation Plan Name Minimum Age Employee Benefit Formula
Requirement and Service Requirement Contribution Rate
OH Optional Public Employees Age 60 with 5 years service or 55 8.5% of gross salary. 2.2% of final average salary times years of service up to and through
Retirement System with 25 years service or at any age | A 10% contribution 30 years of service. 2.5% starting with the 31st year of service and
with 30 years service rate for legislators will | every year thereafter.

be phased in over
three years starting in
2006.

OK Legislators may Elected Officials® Elected Officials’ Plan: Optional contribution | Average participating salary x length of service x computation factor
retain membership as | Plan of the Public Age 65, or age 60 with 6 years’ levels: 4.5%, 6%, depending on optional contributions ranging from 1.9% for a 4.5%
regular public Employee service. Vesting at 6 years 7.5%, 8.5%, 9% or contribution to 4% for a 10% contribution.
employees if they Retirement System 10%, of total
have that status when compensation. S.B. 1641 (Chapter 105, Laws of 2008) provides that for people
elected; one time elected to office on or after July 1, 2008, the formula described here
option to join elected can apply only to years of service as an elected official and can be
officials’ plan. based only on the higher year of salary received as an elected official

(not on any subsequent salary from a non-elective post as was
possible under the original provisions). Capped benefits at 100% of
salary as a member of the Oklahoma Public Employee Retirement
system (not clear whether this is highest salary as an elected official).
S.B. 1889 (Chapter 435, Laws of 2010) reduced the menu of options
to the highest and lowest, which are shown above, for people elected
to office after November 1, 2010. Those who fail to make a choice
within 90 days of taking office default to the highest contribution
and computation factor.

OK New provisions Unchanged Age 65 or age 62 with 10 years of Schedule of options 2% of final average salary times years of service.

SB affect people elected membership in the plan. Farly was repealed.

794 of | to office after retirement with reduced benefits at | Required contribution | SB 2322 of 2012 allows members to choose a benefit option of 2.5%

2011 November 1, 2011 age 60 with 10 years of service. of 3.5% of total of final average salary, for which members’ contributions will be

Vesting at 8 years. compensation increased by an amount that will equal the actuarial cost of the
increased benefit.

OR Optional Public Employee Normal retitement age for general | For the OPRSP DC For the OPRSP individual account component, or DC component,

Retirement System.
Those elected for a
term beginning after
Aug. 29, 2003, may
choose to join the
Oregon Public
Service Retirement
Plan (OPRSP)--a
hybtid DB/DC plan;
the Oregon Savings
Growth Plan—a 457
deferred comp. plan,
or neither.

service members is age 65 or age
58 with 30 years of retirement
credit.

component,
employees contribute
6% of salary. The DB
component is non-
contributory. For the
457 plans, members
may contribute
amounts to limits set
by IRS.

at retirement, employees may receive the IAP as a lump-sum
payment or in equal installments over a 5, 10, 15 or 20-year period.
For the DB component, benefit calculation is 1.5 percent x final
average salary x years of service.
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State Participation Plan Name Minimum Age Employee Benefit Formula
Requirement and Service Requirement Contribution Rate
PA Optional State Employees' Age 50 with 3 years service; any 6.25% 3% x final average salary x credited years of service (x withdrawal
Retirement System, age with 35 years of service; eatly factor if under 50), with a maximum benefit of 100% of FAS
retirement with reduced benefit.

PA Applies to those who | State Employees’ Vesting at 10 years. Retirement age | 6.25% or 9.3% Like general state employees, new legislators may choose between

Act become state Retirement System is 55 with 3 years of credited (membet’s choice). plans with different contribution rates. The multiplier for the lower

120 of | legislators on or after service or according to the Rule of | Rate will vary with contribution will be 2% and for the higher contribution 2.5%. Cap

2010 December 1, 2010 92 with a minimum of 35 years of actuarial conditions; on benefits is unchanged.

service. these are minimums.

PR Optional Retirement System of | After 1990, age 65 with 30 years of | 8.275% 1.5% of average earnings multiplied by the number of years of

the Employees of the | service accredited service.
Government of
Puerto Rico

RI Legislators elected after January 1995 are ineligible to earn credit for public retirement benefits. Those who served before that time are eligible for a pension of $600 a year for each
year of legislative service, capped at an annual retirement benefit of $12,000. See Const. Art. 6, § 3.

SC Mandatory (but not South Carolina Age 60 with 8 years of service. 30 10% 4.82% x earnable compensation x years of service. Earnable
available to anyone Retirement System: years of service regardless of age compensation" means 40 times the daily rate of remuneration, plus
first elected to the General Assembly 11% as of January 1, $12,000, of a member of the General Assembly, as from time to time
General Assembly Retirement Plan 2013 in effect.
after November
2012).

SC Mandatory choice for | S.C. Retitement Plan | SCRS: vesting at 8 years; retirement | SCRS: 7% as of July 1, | SCRS: 2.25% x years of service x final average compensation, which
those elected in or (a defined benefit benefits at age 65 with 8 years of 2012, rising to 8% on | is the average of the member’s 5 highest years of earned
after November plan) or S.C. State service or in accord with the Rule July 1, 2014. compensation.

2012: Act 278, Laws | Optional Retitement | of 90. Reduced benefits are
of 2012 Plan (a defined available at age 60 with 8 years of ORP: 7% + 5% ORP: upon retirement a member may annuitize the balance in the
contribution plan) service. employer account or take a lump sum or partial distribution. Federal provisions
contribution, apply.
ORP: immediate vesting in immediately vested.
employer contributions

SD None available.

TN Optional Age 55 with 4 years service 5.43% $70 per month x years of service with a $1,375 monthly cap 2006
legislation provides for an annual adjustment in the base amount (not
an annual COLA to recipients) and provides that a legislator may
reject the increase in writing.

X Optional Employee Age 60 with 8 years; or age 50 with | 8% 2.3% x district judge’s salary x length of service, with the monthly

Retirement System:
Elected Class
Members

12 years Vesting at 8 years

benefit capped at the level of a district judge’s salary, and adjusted
when such salaries are increased. Various annuity options are
available. Military service credit may be purchased to add to elective
class service membership. In July, 2005, a district judge’s salary was
set at $125,000 a year.
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State Participation Plan Name Minimum Age Employee Benefit Formula
Requirement and Service Requirement Contribution Rate
UT Mandatory Governors’ and Age 62 with 10 years and an Non-contributory $24.80/month (as of July 2004) x years of service; adjusted semi-
Legislators’ actuarial reduction; age 65 with 4 annually according to consumer price index up to a maximum
Retirement Plan years of service for full benefits increase of 2%
2010 legislation The new DC plan will be a 401 (k) Employer will Benefits will be based upon accumulations in the employee account.
closed the plan with distribution of accumulations | contribute 10% of
described above to subject to federal rules compensation, which
legislators elected will vest after four
after July 1, 2011 and years of service.
replaced it with the Employees may, but
New Public are not required, to
Employees’ Tier 11 contribute.
Contributory
Retirement Plan
Defined
Contribution Plan
vT None available. Deferred compensation plan available.
VA Mandatory Virginia Retirement Age 50 with 30 years of service 8.91% of creditable 1.7% of average final compensation x years of service
system (unreduced); age 55 with 5 years compensation
and age 50 with 10 years (reduced)
WA Optional. If before See column to left. PERS plan 2: Age 65 with 5 years | PERS plan 2: PERS plan 2: 2% x years of service credit x average final
an election the PERS plan 2is a DB | of service credit. Employee compensation.
legislator belonged to | plan. PERS plan 3 is contribution of 2.43%
a state public a hybrid DB/DC Plan 3: Age 65 with 10 years of for 2002. Estimated at | Plan 3: DB is 1% x service credit years x average final
retirement plan, he plan. service credit for the DB side of 3.33% for 2005-2007. | compensation. DC benefit depends upon the value of accumulations.
or she may continue the plan; immediate benefits
in that by making (subject to federal restrictions) on Plan 3: No required
contributions. the DC side of the plan. The member contribution
Otherwise the new member may choose various for the DB
legislator may join options for investment of component. The
PERS Plan 2 or Plan contributions to the DC plan. member may
3 contribute from 5% to
15% of salary to the
DC component.
wv Optional Public Employees Age 55 - If years of service + age 4.5% gross income 2% x final average salary x years of service. Final average salary is
Retirement System equal 80 based on 3 highest years out of last 10 years
WI Mandatory Wisconsin Age 62 normal; age 57 with 30 2.6% of salary in 2003: | Higher benefit of formula (2.165% x years of service x salary for
Retirement Fund years of service adjusted annually service before 2000; 2% x years of service x salary for service 2000
and after) OR money-purchase calculation
WI No change No change No change No change For creditable service after the effective date of the bill, an accrual
SB 10 rate of 1.6%.
of
2011
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State Participation Plan Name Minimum Age Employee Benefit Formula

Requirement and Service Requirement Contribution Rate
WY None available
DC Mandatory Age 62 with 5 years setvice; age 55 | Before 10/1/87 7%; Multiply high 3 years average pay by indicator under applicable years
10/02 with 30 years, Age 60 with 20 years | after 10/1/87 5% and months of service
GU Optional Age 60 with 30 years of service. 5% or 8.5% An amt equal to 2% of average annual salary for each of the first 10
10/02 Age 55 and 15 years of service years of credited service and 2.5% of average annual salary for each

yr or part thereof of credited service over 10 years

VI Optional Age 60 with 10 years of service. 8% At age 60 with at least 10 years of service, at 2.5% for each year of
10/02 service or at any age with at least 30 years

For more information, contact Luke Martel or Tamara Rivale at pensions-info@ncsl.org.
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2014 State Legislator Compensation—Office Supplies, District Offices and Staffing

State Office Supplies, District Offices and Staffing

Alabama None, although annual appropriation to certain positions may be allocated.
Senators receive up to $20,000/ year and representatives receive up to

Al $16,000/year for postage per their choice for postage, stationery and other

aska L . . . -

legislative expenses. Staffing allowance is determined by the rules and presiding
officers, depending on the time of year.

Arizona None.
Legislators receive a maximum reimbursement of $14,400/year for legislative

Arkansas expenses. Committee chairs, vice chairs and standing subcommittee chairs may
claim additional reimbursement up to $3,600/year.
Assembly members have a base allowance of $263,000/year to cover these

California expenses. Senate member expenses are paid directly and maintained by the
Senate Rules Committee.

Colorado None.

Connecticut

Senators receive $5,500/year and representatives receive $4,500/year in
unvouchered expense allowance.

Delaware

Office supplies are distributed out of the general House supply budget.

Florida

Senate: $2,921/month for district office expenses. House: $2,482/month for
district office expenses.

Georgia

Legislators have $7,000/year reimbursable expense account. If members
request, and provide receipts, they are reimbursed for personal services, office
equipment, rent, supplies, transportation, telecommunications, etc.

Hawaii

No district offices. The allocation for session staffing is approximately $5,000—
$8,000/month for the January—April legislative session.

Idaho

$1,875/year for unvouchered constituent expense. No staffing allowance.

Ilinois

Senators receive $83,063/year and representatives $69,409/year for office
expenses, including district offices and staffing.

Indiana

These expenses come out of one main Senate budget. No district offices.

lowa

$300/month to cover district constituency postage, travel, telephone and other
expenses. No staffing allowance.

Kansas

Allowed $7,083/year, which is taxable income for the legislators. Staffing
allowances vary for leadership, which has its own budget. Legislators are
provided with secretaries during session only.

Kentucky

$1,788.51/year for district expenses during interim.

Louisiana

Allowed $500/month. Senators and representatives receive an additional
$1,500/month supplemental allowance for vouchered office expenses, rent and
travel mileage in district. Senators and representatives have staff allowances of
$2,000/month starting salary up to $3,000/month, with annual increases.

Maine

None; however, supplies for staff offices are provided and paid for out of
general legislative account.

Maryland

$18,265/year for normal expenses of an office with limits on postage, telephone
and publications; members must document expenses. Legislators must use
$5,800 for clerical services. Senators receive one administrative assistant and
session secretary.

Massachusetts

Allowed $7,200/year for office expenses.
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State Office Supplies, District Offices and Staffing
Michi $51,900 per majority Senator for office budget and $51,900 for minority
ichigan -
Senator for office budget.
Supplies provided in the Capitol. In the House, staffing is provided centrally.
Minnesota Senators have one legislative assistant and are given $75/week for interns. No
district offices.
Mississippi $1,500/month out of session.
Missouri $700/month to cover all reasonable and necessary business expenses.
Montana None.
N No allowance; however, each member is provided with two full-time Capitol
ebraska
staff year-round.
Nevada None.
New
Hampshire MO
Allowed $1,250 for office supplies. Equipment and furnishings are supplied
New Jersey through a district office program, _and there is $110,0_00/year for district office
personnel. The state provides stationery for each legislator and $10,000 for
postage stamps.
New Mexico | None.
Staff allowance (district and Capitol) is set by the majority leader for majority
New York members and by the minority leader for minority members. Geographic
location, seniority and leadership responsibilities will cause variations.
North Non-leaders receive $6,708/year for any legislative expenses not otherwise
Carolina provided. Full-time secretarial assistance is provided during session.

North Dakota

None.

Ohio

None.

Each member is given a $1,500/year allotment. This may be spent on electronic

Oklahoma . . .
communications such as cell phone bills as well as office expenses.
$36,367/year for session staffing and $2,692.80 for services and supplies. For
Oregon interim periods, legislators receive $68,538/biennium to spend as they choose.

They also receive an additional $450-$750/month during interim only, as a
district allowance, depending on geographic size of district.

Pennsylvania

Staffing is determined by leadership.

Rhode Island | None.
South Senate: $3,400/year for postage, stationery and telephone. House: $1,800/year
Carolina for telephone and $600/year for postage. Legislators also receive $1,000/month

for district expenses that is treated as income.

South Dakota

None.

Tennessee Allowed $1,000/month for expenses in district (U).
Approved allowance for staff salaries, supplies, stationery, postage, district
Texas office rental, telephone expense, etc. Senate and House allocations are not the
same.
Utah None.
Vermont None.
Virginia Legislators receive $1,250/month and leadership receives $1,750/month as an

office expense allowance. Legislators receive a staffing allowance of
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State Office Supplies, District Offices and Staffing
$56,000/year; leadership receives $74,879/year.
Washington Senate: $7,8_00/yea_r for Iegis_lative expenses, for which the legislator has not
been otherwise entitled to reimbursement. No staffing allowance.
West Virginia | None.
$15,000/two-year session in the Assembly. No available staffing at district
Wisconsin office. $45,000/two-year period for office expenses. $191,700/two-year period
for staffing allowance.
Wyoming $750/quarter through the constituent service allowance.

Source: National Conference of State Legislatures 2014
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