
PRIVATE ASSIGNED COUNSEL RATE INCREASES AND FEE

APPLICATION MODIFICATIONS 

REPORT

MARCH 1, 2020 

Submitted to the North Carolina General Assembly 
Pursuant to Section 10.1.(d) of Session Law 2020-83. 

On 

03 I 01 I 2021 

Safeguarding individual liberty and the Constitution by equipping the North Carolina public defense community 

with the resources it needs to achieve fair and just outcomes for clients 



North Carolina Indigent Defense Services Report on Rate Increases and Form Modifications 
[ 1 ]  

IDS REPORT ON RATE INCREASES AND FEE APPLICATION MODIFICATIONS 

This report is submitted pursuant to Section 10.1.(d) of Session Law 2020-83, which directs the 

IDS Office to report to the chairs of the Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on Justice and 

Public Safety by March 1, 2021 regarding the implementation of rate increases to the Private 

Assigned Counsel Fund and modifications to appointed counsel fee application forms. 

I. Increases to the Private Assigned Counsel Fund

IDS fiscal staff made a recommendation for rate increase to the Indigent Defense Services 

Commission (“Commission”) during its January 22, 2021 meeting. With future demands on public 

defense funding difficult to predict during the ongoing pandemic and the small amount of 

revenue anticipated from the new fees, particularly in the short term, IDS fiscal staff was 

comfortable recommending only targeted rate increases. By unanimous vote, Commissioners 

approved the new rates recommended for implementation on March 1, 2021. Tables with the 

new rates and all rates are attached to this report as Appendices A and B respectively. 

In making its recommendation, IDS relied on two factors. 

1. Receipts from two new funding sources authorized by Session Law 2020-83. In Section

10.1.(a), S.L. 2020-83 increased the appointment fee that is assessed in most cases

covered by the Indigent Defense Services Act from $60 to $75. Of the entire fee, $70 is to

be remitted to IDS for support of the Indigent Persons' Attorney Fee Fund and $5 is to be

remitted to the Administrative Office of the Court’s Information Technology Fund. In

Section 10.1.(b), it amended G.S. 7A-304(a) by inserting a new court cost in the amount

of $2 to be remitted to IDS.

2. Modest current availability. Depressed court activity during the pandemic has meant that

IDS began the calendar year with modest availability. However, depressed court activity

has led to depressed recoupment receipts.

Sections 10.1.(a) and 10.1.(b) became effective on December 1, 2020. Thus, at the time of this 

report, we have seen three months of new receipts. As of February 26, 2021, the new court cost 

provided for by G.S. 7A-304(a)(3c) has generated $79,620. IDS is not able to calculate the impact 

of the increased appointment fee as, due to other factors, total appointment fee revenues to 

date are down from prior years. Compared to prior years, appointment fee receipts were down 

20% during the three months preceding the fee increase and 22% during the three months 

following the increase.  

Although IDS fiscal staff does not expect the fees to generate significant revenue during FY2021, 

it does expect it to generate as much as $1.6 Million by FY2023, with the increase in the 

appointment fee generating an additional $400,000 annualized and the new court cost 

generating approximately $1.2 Million annualized.  
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The forecasted additional revenue along with the current availability allowed IDS fiscal staff to 

recommend an immediate modest targeted increase to counsel rates. The estimated total for 

the approved targeted increases is approximately $1 Million when applied to private assigned 

counsel paid by the hour. When applied to future contract renewals, the cost increases to $1.1 

Million based on FY2019 dispositions as of July 7, 2020, with a modest additional cost related to 

a 1.5% increase in the juvenile defense contracts. Projected itemized costs and the volume of 

payments are attached to this report as Appendix C. 

For more information about the targeted rate increases, please see the attached February 12, 

2021 memorandum from Darrin Jordan, Chair of the IDS Commission, and Mary Pollard, IDS 

Executive Director, which is attached to this report. 

II. Modifications to Appointed Counsel Fee Application Forms

In compliance with Sections 10.1.(a) and 10.1.(c) of Session Law 2020-83, which directed that IDS 

and the Administrative Office of the Courts Office of the Courts (“NCAOC”) “update all appointed 

counsel fee application forms in order to provide space for the itemization of time spent on 

appointed cases,” the NCAOC revised the below forms.  

Fee Application/ Order for Payment New 
Appointment 
Fee 

Itemized 
Time 

AOC-CR-225 (Non-Capital Criminal Case Trial Level) ✓ ✓

AOC-CR-425 (Capital Case Fee Application) ✓ ✓

AOC-CR-426 (Non-Capital Criminal or Non-Criminal Appeals) ✓

AOC-J-411 (Juvenile Delinquency Trial Level Fee Application) ✓

AOC-G-200 (Civil Case Trial Level Fee Application) ✓

The revised forms were made available for use by public defense attorneys on December 1, 2021. 

Prior to these revisions, the fee applications allowed for itemization of time in court, time in court 

waiting, time out of court, travel, copying, and other expenses.  

After extensive review of all affected forms, IDS asked AOC staff to leave the itemization as is 

while inserting a note to attorneys referencing Section 10.1.(c) of Session Law 2020-86. This 

decision was based on several factors. First, the forms already had space for itemization. Second, 

there is no room on the forms for further details. Finally, and perhaps most significantly, local 

judicial offices have the authority to request time sheets pursuant to local policy or to metrics 

applied on case-by-case basis. For example, many judges routinely request itemized time sheets 

in cases where the attorney has requested payment for more than five hours on a misdemeanor. 

IDS has requested the Clerks include the timesheets to IDS as attachments to the fee applications. 

Requiring attorneys to submit itemized timesheets in every case would create a significant 

logistical burden for clerks and IDS. Given that the fee applications provide for itemization and 
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the process provides Judges the opportunity to seek input, IDS does not intend to return fee 

applications submitted without time sheets. IDS advised attorneys to attach a timesheet if, in 

their own judgment, they are unable to sufficiently itemize their time using the provided fields 

or the presiding judge requests one. IDS respectfully requests that the General Assembly repeal 

Section 10.1.(c) of Session Law 2020-83, which will allow IDS to make clarifying revisions to the 

form. 

III. Conclusion

While IDS is grateful to have been able to make modest targeted rate increases, private 
practitioners who are willing to take appointed cases are still earning less money than they were 
in 2011, particularly when inflation is taken into account.  It has become increasingly difficult to 
recruit attorneys to represent indigent clients in many areas of the state.  

 
Consider that compensation for most 
district court dispositions today is 
$55, the same as it was in 2000 and 
twenty dollars an hour less than it was 
in 2011. Todays $55 rate, when 
adjusted for inflation since 2000, is 
only 66% of what was paid in 2000. 

In conclusion, the IDS Commission and Office respectfully request the General Assembly 
appropriate $17.1 Million in recurring funding to do widespread significant increase in hourly 
rates for all case types.  
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Table 1: District Court Hourly Rate Historical Changes and Adjusted for Inflation 



APPENDIX A: 2021 TARGETED RATE INCREASES 

 

Case Type  Current 

Rate  

New  

Rate  

Date  

Class A – D felonies paid by hourly rate  

(including satellite-based monitoring “bring 

back” hearings and reviews of NGRI 

determinations) whether disposed of in 

district or superior court  

$75 $80  

Cases finally disposed on or 

after March 1, 2021  

Driving While Impaired offenses disposed of in 

district court  

$55  $60  Cases finally disposed on or 

after March 1, 2021  

Class A1 misdemeanors disposed of in district  $55  $60  Cases finally disposed on or 

after March 1, 2021  

Potentially capital cases proceeding non-

capitally at the trial level  

$75  $80  Work done on or after 

March 1, 2021  

Provisional counsel in capital cases  $75  $80  Work done on or after 

March 1, 2021  

Non-capital appeals and non-capital 

postconviction where the most serious 

conviction was a Class A-D felony, and appeals 

of satellite-based monitoring hearings  

$75  $80   

Work done on or after 

March 1, 2021  

 

The counties operating under the Uniform Fee Pilot will see the following fee increases based on the 
rate restoration:  

• Class A – D felonies disposed of in district court will increase from $425.00 to $450.00; and, 

• Class A – E felonies adjudicated and disposed in juvenile delinquency proceedings will increase 
from $535.00 to $575.00. 

For counsel providing representation on high-level felonies under contracts, there will be a 
proportionate increase in the non-hourly compensation. 

 
 



Hourly Attorney Rates – Current Rev. 03/01/2021 Indigent Defense Services 

 

CURRENT HOURLY ASSIGNED COUNSEL RATES 
March 1, 2021 

Case Type1, 2  Effective Date for Current Rate Current Rate 

Superior Court Division 
Non-potentially capital Class A-D felony Final disposition on or after March 1, 2021 $80 

Satellite-based monitoring “bring back” 
hearings  

Final disposition on or after March 1, 2021 $80 

Reviews of NGRI determinations Final disposition on or after March 1, 2021 $80 

Non-capital post-conviction where the most 
serious conviction was a Class A-D felony 

Final disposition on or after March 1, 2021 $80 

Class E-I felony or felony probation violation Final disposition on or after December 1, 2018 $60 

All other cases resolved in Superior Court  Final disposition on or after December 1, 2018 $60 

District Court Division 
Non-potentially capital Class A-D felony Final disposition on or after March 1, 2021 $80 

Driving While Impaired Final disposition on or after March 1, 2021 $60 

Class A1 misdemeanor Final disposition on or after March 1, 2021 $60 

Class E-I felony or felony probation violation Final disposition on or after December 1, 2018 $60 

Civil cases (abuse, neglect, dependency, 
termination of parental rights, child support 
contempt, civil contempt, and involuntary 
commitment proceedings) 

Work done on or after July 1, 2011  $55 

All other cases resolved in District Court  Final disposition on or after May 2, 2011 $55 

Capital Cases 
Provisional counsel Work done on or after March 1, 2021 $80 

Potentially capital cases proceeding non-
capitally (cases declared non-capital at Rule 24 
hearing or by the DA, or cases that are 1 or 
more years from warrant served date) 

Work done on or after March 1, 2021 $80 

Potentially capital cases (undesignated cases 
within 1 year of warrant served date) 

Work done on or after May 2, 2011 $85 

Capital cases (cases declared capital at a Rule 
24 hearing) 

Work done on or after November 1, 2017 $90 

Capital post-conviction Work done on or after November 1, 2017 $90 

Appellate Division 
All other non-capital criminal or non-criminal 
appeals 

Work done on or after July 1, 2011 $60 

Non-potentially capital Class A-D felony appeals 
and appeals of satellite-based monitoring 
hearings 

Work done on or after March 1, 2021 $80 

Capital appeals Work done on or after November 1, 2017 $90 

Hearings Before Post-Release Supervision or Parole Commissions or Clerk of Court 
Parole and post-release supervision revocation 
hearings 

Final disposition on or after March 1, 2021 $60 

Competency proceedings pursuant to Chapter 
35A 

Final disposition on or after May 2, 2011 $55 

1 Applicable rates are based on the highest charge against the defendant or juvenile.  
2 Unless otherwise specified, rates for the juvenile division of district and superior courts are the same as the equivalent charge 

against an adult defendant.  

APPENDIX B: CURRENT RATE CHART 
 



 
 

APPENDIX C: ITEMIZED COSTS AND VOLUME OF PAYMENTS 

 

 

 Old Hourly 
Rate 

(pre- 03.01.21) 

New Hourly 
Rate 

(post 03.01.21) 

# of 
Payments 

FY2019 

Estimated 
Cost 

# of 
Contract 

Dispositions 
FY2019 

Estimated 
Cost of 

Contract 
Extension 

Total 
Estimated 

Cost 
 

High level 
Felony 
(district & 
superior trial 
level) 

$75 $80  4,458 $450,000   
 
1,093 

$ 192,600 $642,600 

High level 
Felony (non-
capital 
appeals) 

$75 $80  145 $30,000    $30,000 

Capital Trial 
(proceeding 
non-capitally) 

$75 $80  1,800 $275,000    $275,000 

DWI (district 
court trial 
level) 

$55 $60  4,882 $135,000  1,303 $20,000 $155,000 

A1 
Misdemeanor 
(district & 
superior trial 
level) 

$55 $60  7,962 $157,000  2,384 $35,000 $192,000 

Total Costs: $1,047,000    $247,500 $1,294,600 
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NOTICE OF TARGETED RATE HIKES FOR PAC AND CONTRACT ATTORNEYS  

On January 22, the Indigent Defense Services Commission voted for a very modest rate 
hike for some classes of case. This is possible based on revenue forecasts that include receipts from 
the Court of Justice fee that went into effect on December 1 and from the fifteen dollar increase in 
the indigent appointment fee.  

We hope that this measure is only an interim step towards an across-the-board rate hike 
that will restore the effective hourly rate paid to attorneys before the 2011 legislative budget cuts 
required a significant rate cut. The additional revenue was insufficient to raise rates across the 
board, and the Commission and staff carefully considered how best to allocate it.   

The IDS Commission and staff are committed to seeking recurring funding that will allow 
for hourly rates that reflect the value of the work that you do for your clients. We will need your 
help in that effort and hope that all of you will reach out to your elected representatives to talk with 
them about the importance of the work that you do for your communities and the impact that 
unfairly low rates have on you and your practice.  

We are grateful for the work that you do for indigent clients.  

Important information about the new rates, including how and when they are to be 
implemented, is summarized below. For your convenience, a table with the current and new hourly 
rates for all affected case types also is attached to this memo.   

Potentially capital cases will continue to have three hourly rates: While the case is 
potentially capital, the rate remains $85, and if the case becomes non-capital, either because the 
prosecution informs counsel that the case will not be a capital case or does not declare the case 
capital in the first 12 months, the rate will revert to $80 an hour. Work done after the case is 
declared capital at a Rule 24 hearing, and for capital appeals and capital post-conviction work, will 
continue to be paid at $90.   

For counsel providing representation on high-level felonies under contracts, there will be a 
proportionate increase in the non-hourly compensation. The current compensation for a single 
high-level felony unit under the contract system will increase by $1,800.00, or from $25,300.00 to  



Safeguarding individual liberty and the Constitution by equipping the North Carolina public defense 
community with the resources it needs to achieve fair and just outcomes for clients.  

$27,100.00. For counsel providing representation to juveniles pursuant to contracts, the monthly 
rate of compensation will increase by 1. 5%.   

Driving While Impaired and Class A1 misdemeanors disposed of in the district court will 
increase from $55 to $60 an hour. (Note both classes currently are compensated at $60 an hour 
when disposed of in the superior court.) For misdemeanor contract units, dispositions for Driving 
While Impaired and Class A1 offenses will entitle contractors to an additional half case credit— 
e.g., a DWI disposed of on March 1, 2021 will be worth 1.25 case credits. 

The counties operating under the Uniform Fee Pilot will see the following fee increases 
based on the rate restoration:  

• Class A – D felonies disposed of in district court will increase from $425.00 to $450.00; 
and, 

• Class A – E felonies adjudicated and disposed in juvenile delinquency proceedings will 
increase from $535.00 to $575.00. 

The new hourly rates are to be applied prospectively. In no case should it be applied 
retroactively. In other words, interim fee applications approved under the current rate will not be 
revisited even if the case is finally disposed or the date of the last appellate ruling is March 1, 2021 
or later.   

Case Type  Current 
Rate  

New  
Rate  

Date  

Class A – D felonies paid by hourly rate  
(including satellite-based monitoring “bring 
back” hearings and reviews of NGRI 
determinations) whether disposed of in district or 
superior court  

$75  $80  

Cases finally disposed on or after 
March 1, 2021  

Driving While Impaired offenses disposed of in 
district court  $55  $60  Cases finally disposed on or after 

March 1, 2021  
Class A1 misdemeanors disposed of in district  $55  $60  Cases finally disposed on or after 

March 1, 2021  
Potentially capital cases proceeding non-
capitally at the trial level  $75  $80  Work done on or after March 1, 

2021  
Provisional counsel in capital cases  $75  $80  Work done on or after March 1, 

2021  
Non-capital appeals and non-capital 
postconviction where the most serious conviction 
was a Class A-D felony, and appeals of satellite-
based monitoring hearings  

$75  $80  

Work done on or after March 1, 
2021  

Safeguarding individual liberty and the Constitution by equipping the North Carolina public defense 
community with the resources it needs to achieve fair and just outcomes for clients.  
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