March 7, 2016

Via Electronic Submission

Revenue Laws Study Committee
Raleigh, NC

Re: Tax on Other Tobacco Products: N.C. Gen. Stat. 105-113.35

Dear Sir/Madam:

Madvapes Holdings, LLC (“Madvapes™) appreciates the opportunity to submit comments to the
Revenue Laws Study Committee in regard to proposed changes to N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-113.35,
tax on tobacco products other than cigarettes.

Madvapes 13 among the largest companies in the United States with business interests
represented in all segments of the vapor industry; including the manufacturing of, distribution of
and sales of e-liquid and other vapor products. Madvapes is a leading retailer of electronic
cigarettes headquartered in Mooresville NC, employing over 300 people in 50 stores and two
corporate facilities across the state. Madvapes’ operates an e-liquid manufacturing facility in
Mooresville that supports both retail stores and a $12,000,000 wholesale vaping supply business.
Under the excise tax on vapor products (N.C. Gen. Stat. 105-113.35), Madvapes anticipates
remilting to the State excise tax liability approaching $1,000,000 for 2016,

Following the enactment of the vapor products excise tax on June 1, 2105, North Carolina
wholesalers suffered a competitive disadvantage as compared to wholesalers located outside of
the state. The proposed Wholesaler’s Option, as.outlined on the attached form (N.C. Gen. Stat.
105-113.35 Sec. F), would enable North Carolina wholesalers to price e-liquids competitive with
wholesalers located outside of the state. Madvapes has discussed the possibility of a
Wholesaler’s Option and provided a copy of the proposed language to Al Milak, Assistant
Director of the NC Department of Revenue Excise Tax Division.

- Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

Sincerely,
Mike Russell Teresa Shields
Chief Operating Officer ' General Counsel

Madvapes Holdings, LLC - 138 Cedat Point Drive - Mootesville, North Carolina 28117
Phone: 704-624-8551 - cotporate(@Madvapes.com



N.C. Gen. Stat. § 105-113.35
Statutes current through the 2015 Regular Session

General Statutes of North Carolina > CHAPTER 105. TAXATION > SUBCHAPTER 01. LEVY OF TAXES
> ARTICLE 2A. TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX > PART 3. TAX ON OTHER TOBACCO PRODUCTS

§ 105-113.35. Tax on tobacco products other than cigarettes

{a) Tax on Tebacco Products. --An excise fax is levied on tobacco products other than-cigarettes
and vapor products at the rate of twelve and eight-tenths percent (12.8%) of the cost price of the

products.

{al) Taxon - Vapor Products. --An excise tax is levied on vapoer products at the rate of five
cents (5 cent(s) ) per fluid milliliter of consumable product. All invoices for vapor products issued
by manufacturers must state the amount of consumable product in milliliters.

r

(a2) Limitation.--  The taxes imposed under this section do not apply to the following:
(1) A tobacco product sold outside the State.
(2) A tobacco product sold to the federal government,
(3) A sample tobacco product distributed without charge.

(b) Primary Liability. --The wholesale dealer or retail dealer who first acquires or otherwise handles
tobacco products subject to the tax imposed by this section is lable for the tax imposed by this
section. A wholesale dealer or retail dealer who brings into this State a tobacco product made
outside the State is the first person to handle the tobacco product in this State. A wholesale dealer
or retail dealer who is the original consignee of a tobacco product that is made outside the State

- and is shipped into the State is the first person to handle the tobacco product in this State, -

(¢) Secondary Liability. -- A retail dealer who acquires non-tax-paid tobacco products subject
to the tax imposed by this section from a wholesale dealer is liable for any tax due on the tobacco
products. A retail dealer who is liable for tax under this subsection may not deduct a discount

from the amount of tax due when reporting the tax.

(d) Manufacturer's Option. -- A manufacturer who is not a retail dealer and who ships tobacco
products other than cigarettes to either a wholesale dealer or retail dealer licensed under this Part
may apply to the Secretary to be relieved of paying the tax imposed by this section on the tobacco
products. A manufacturer who ships vapor products to either a wholesale dealer or retail dealer
licensed under this Part may apply to the Secretary to be relieved of paying the tax imposed by
this section on the vapor products shipped to either a wholesale dealer or retail dealer. Once
granted permission, a manufacturer may choose not to pay the tax until otherwise notified by the
Secretary. To be relieved of payment of the tax imposed by this section, a manufacturer must
comply with the requirements set by the Secretary.

Permission granted under this subsection to a manufacturer to be relieved of paying the tax imposed
by this section applies to an integrated wholesale dealer with whom the manufacturer is an affiliate. A
manufacturer must notify the Secretary of any integrated wholesale dealer with whom it is an affiliate
when the manufacturer applies to the Secretary for permission to be relieved of paying the tax and
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when an integrated wholesale dealer becomes an affiliate of the manufacturer after the Secretary has
given the manufacturer permission to be relieved of paying the tax.

If a person is hoth a manufacturer of cigarettes and a wholesale dealer of tobacco products other.than
cigarettes and the person is granted permission under G.S. 105-113.10 to be relieved of paying the
cigarette excise tax, the permission applies to the tax imposed by this section on tobacco products
other than cigarettes. A cigarette manufacturer who becomes a wholesale dealer after receiving
permission to be relieved of the cigarette excise tax must notify the Secretary of the permission
received under G.S. 7105-113.10 when applying for a license as a wholesale dealer.

(d1) Limitation. -- Except as otherwise provided in this Article, integrated wholesale dealers
may not sell, borrow, loan, or exchange non-tax-paid tobacco products other than cigarettes to,
from, or with other integrated wholesale dealers.

(e) Repealed by Session Laws 2009-451, s. 27A.5(c), effective September 1, 2009.

(f) Wholesaler’s Option. -- A wholesaler who ships vapor products to a retail dealer licensed under
this Part may apply to the Secretary to be relieved of paying the tax imposed by this section on the
vapor products shipped to a retail dealer. Once granted permission, a wholesaler may choose not to
pay the tax until otherwise notified by the Secretary. To be relieved of payment of the tax imposed by
this section, a wholesaler must comply with the requirements set by the Secretary.
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