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Handler’s Act

• Article 44 of G.S. 106-496 was created in 1941 and was last 
updated in 1994.

• The act pertains only to handlers of fresh fruits and 
vegetables.

• Anyone who deals with the purchase or transportation of 
fresh produce is considered a handler.

• The purpose is to protect NC farmers against unfair trade 
practices.
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Handler’s Act-Permit

• The article covers only written contracts with no association to 
spot market sales. 

• Handlers must request a permit from NCDA&CS.

• Permit applications are required by March 1 every year before any 
written contracts are made.

Handlers must provide: 

1) Two copies of a blank contract along with related

requirements that would apply to the grower. 

2) A notarized letter of bonding.
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Permits

• 19 companies have a 2017 Handler’s Act permit.

• 25,100 acres are grown under contract for companies who 
have a Handler’s Permit.
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State by State Comparison

NC Virginia Georgia South 

Carolina

Florida Maine

Coverage Written 

Contracts  

All handlers All handlers All handlers All 

handlers

Potatoes and 

rotation crops

Fees $0.00 $50.00 $50 -$100 $50 $170-$300 $100

Promotion Website Website/ list Website /list Website Website/ 

list

Website

Bond MIN $10,000 $1,000 $10,000 highest 

month

$5,000 $50,000

Bond MAX $50,000 $40,000 $500,000 $25,000 $100,000 $500,000

Penalty Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Fine and 

Misdemeanor

$100 + no 

listing

Fine and 

Misdemeanor
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Handler’s Act-Permit

• The penalty for not applying for a permit is $25.00.

• Any person who violates the provisions of this Article or the 
rules and regulations promulgated thereunder shall be guilty of 
a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

• A bond is required made payable to the Commissioner of 
Agriculture in the amount of not less than $10,000.00 or more 
than $50,000.00.
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Questions?
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