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Proposed Amendments to North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 

106, Article 44. Unfair Practices by Handlers of Fruits and Vegetables. 

N.C.G.S. § 106-496. Protection against unfair trade practices. 

The Board of Agriculture is authorized to make such rules and regulations 

as it deems necessary to protect producers from loss caused by financial 

irresponsibility and unfair, harmful or unethical trade practices of 

handlers who incur financial liability for the purchase or production of 

fruits and vegetables.  

N.C.G.S. § 106-497. Definitions. 

(a) “Certificate of deposit” means a certificate of deposit at any 

recognized financial institution doing business in the United States. 

(b) “Commissioner” means the North Carolina Commissioner of 

Agriculture. 

(c) "Consignment" means any transfer of fruits and vegetables by the 

seller to the custody of another person who acts as the agent for the 

seller for the purpose of selling such fruits and vegetables. 

(c) "Department" means the North Carolina Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services. 

(d) "Handler" means any person in the business of buying, receiving, 

selling, exchanging, negotiating, processing for resale or soliciting the 

sale, resale, exchange, or transfer of any fruits and vegetables purchased 

from the producer, received on consignment from the producer, or 

received to be handled on net return basis from the producer.  

(e) “Net return basis” means a purchase for sale of fruits and vegetables 

from a producer or shipper at an unfixed or unstated price at the time 

the fruits and vegetables are shipped from the point of origin, and it shall 

include all purchases made “at the market price,” “at net worth,” and on 
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similar terms, which indicate that the buyer is the final arbiter of the 

price to be paid. 

(f) “Person” means a natural person, firm, corporation, or other legal 

entity. 

(g) "Processor" means any person operating any plant in North Carolina 

that freezes, dehydrates, cans, or otherwise changes the physical form 

or characteristics of fruits and vegetables. 

(h) “Producer” means any person who produces fruits or vegetables, or 

both. 

N.C.G.S. § 106-498. Annual license required. 

It shall be unlawful for any handler of fruits and vegetables who comes 

within the terms of this Article to engage in such business in North 

Carolina without an annual license issued by the Commissioner. 

N.C.G.S. § 106-499. Application for annual license. 

(a) Every handler of fruits and vegetables desiring to transact business in 

North Carolina shall file an application for an annual license with the 

Commissioner.  

(b) The Board of Agriculture may prescribe by regulation the form of the 

application, the information to be furnished to the Commissioner by the 

applicant for an annual license, and the date for filing the application. 

(c) Applicants are required to pay an initial or renewal license fee, as set 

by the Board of Agriculture, not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500), 

with each application. A penalty, as set by the Board of Agriculture, not 

to exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250), shall be paid by the applicant 

if the application is filed after the date established by the Board of 

Agriculture and no license shall be issued until such penalty is paid. Any 
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fees or late penalties collected by the Commissioner shall be used to help 

defray the costs of administering this Article. 

N.C.G.S. § 106-500. Denial, suspension, or revocation of license. 

The Commissioner may decline to grant a license or may suspend or 

revoke a license already granted if he or she is satisfied that the applicant 

or licensee has:  

(1) Suffered a money judgment to which that person cannot satisfy or is 

otherwise insolvent or financially irresponsible; 

(2) Made false charges for handling or services rendered; 

(3) Failed to promptly and properly account and pay any producer;  

(4) Made any false statement or statements as to the condition, quality, 

or quantity of goods received or held for sale when that person could 

have ascertained the true condition, quality, or quantity by reasonable 

inspection; 

(5) Made any false or misleading statement or statements as to market 

conditions or service rendered; 

(6) The handler has hired a person who has been convicted of a crime 

involving fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation in any capacity involving 

the buying, selling, or the handling of payments for fruits and vegetables; 

(7) The handler has failed either to file the required surety bond or 

certificate of deposit or to keep such surety bond or certificate of deposit 

in force; 

(8) Provided false or misleading information in the person’s application 

for license; or 

(9) Failed to comply with the terms of this Article any rules promulgated 

by the Board of Agriculture. 
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N.C.G.S. § 106-501. Surety bond or certificate of deposit required. 

(a) Before any license is issued, the applicant shall make and deliver to 

the Commissioner a surety bond executed by a surety corporation 

authorized to transact business in North Carolina and approved by the 

Commissioner or a certificate of deposit approved by the Commissioner. 

All surety bonds delivered to the Commissioner shall be accompanied by 

a certificate of “good standing” issued by the North Carolina Department 

of Insurance verifying that the surety is authorized to transact business 

in North Carolina. If any surety issuing a bond shall be removed from 

doing business in North Carolina, it shall be the duty of the North 

Carolina Department of Insurance to notify the Commissioner within 

thirty (30) days of removal. No certificate of deposit may be accepted 

unless the issuing institution is properly insured by either the Federal 

Deposit Insurance Corporation or the Federal Savings and Loan Insurance 

Corporation.  

(b) The surety bond or certificate of deposit to secure the faithful 

performance of that person’s obligations as a handler shall be based on 

the maximum amount of gross business the applicant did in any month 

in North Carolina during the preceding licensing year or an estimate if 

the applicant did not engage in business as a handler in North Carolina 

the preceding year, and in accordance with the following schedule:  

Maximum Monthly Gross Business   Bond or Deposit Required 

Up to $25,000……………………………………………..$25,000 

$25,001 to $50,000……………………………………..$50,000 

$50,001 to $75,000……………………………………..$75,000 

$75,001 to $100,000……………………………………$100,000 

$100,001 to $125,000………………………………….$125,000 
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$125,001 to $150,000………………………………….$150,000 

$150,001 to $175,000………………………………….$175,000 

$175,001 to $200,000………………………………….$200,000 

$200,001 to $225,000………………………………….$225,000 

$225,001 or More………………………………………..$250,000 

(c) Surety bonds and certificate of deposits shall have such surety or 

sureties, financial institution or financial institutions, subject to service 

of process in suits on the surety bond or certificate of deposit within 

North Carolina and shall contain such terms and conditions as the 

Commissioner may prescribe to carry out the purposes of this Article. 

(d) Whenever the Commissioner shall determine that a previously 

approved surety bond or certificate of deposit has for any cause become 

insufficient, the Commissioner may require an additional surety bond or 

certificate of deposit to be given, conforming with the requirements of 

this Article. Unless the additional surety bond or certificate of deposit 

are given within the time fixed by written demand therefor, or if the 

surety bond or certificate of deposit of a handler is canceled, the license 

of such person shall be immediately revoked by operation of law without 

notice or hearing. 

N.C.G.S. § 106-502. Action on surety bond or certificate of deposit by 

person injured. 

Any person claiming to be injured by nonpayment, noncompliance with 

the terms of a contract, fraud, deceit, negligence, or other misconduct of 

a handler shall be entitled to sue the handler and his or her sureties upon 

the surety bond or certificate of deposit in that person’s name in any 

court of competent jurisdiction to recover the damages that person may 
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have sustained by such breach without any assignment thereof by the 

Department or the State of North Carolina. 

N.C.G.S. § 106-503. Inspection of spoiled, damaged, unmarketable, or 

unsatisfactory produce before sale. 

Whenever fruits and vegetables are shipped to or received by a handler 

for handling, purchase, or sale in North Carolina, and the handler finds 

such produce to be in a spoiled, damaged, unmarketable, or 

unsatisfactory condition, the Department may provide inspection 

services and execute and deliver a certificate stating the day and the time 

and place of such inspection and the condition of such produce, and mail 

or deliver a copy of such certificate to both the handler and producer. 

The party requesting the inspection shall bear the cost of inspection. 

N.C.G.S. § 106-504. Additional powers of Commissioner to enforce 

Article. 

(a) In order to enforce this Article, the Commissioner, upon his or her 

own motion or upon the verified complaint of any person, shall have the 

following additional powers:  

(1) To inspect or investigate transactions for the sale or delivery of fruits 

and vegetables to persons acting as handlers; to require verified reports 

and accounts of all authorized handlers; to examine books, accounts, 

memoranda, equipment, warehouses, storage, transportation and other 

facilities, fruits and vegetables, and other articles connected with the 

business of the handlers; to inquire into failure or refusal of any handlers 

to accept produce under that person’s contracts and to pay for it as 

agreed; 

(2) To suspend or revoke the licenses of persons disobeying the terms of 

this Article or of rules and regulations made by the Board of Agriculture; 



 

Page 7 of 8 
 

(3) To issue all such rules and regulations, with the approval of the Board 

of Agriculture, and to appoint necessary agents and to do all other lawful 

things necessary to carry out the purposes of this Article; and 

(4) In addition to the remedies provided in this Article and 

notwithstanding the existence of any adequate remedy at law, the 

Commissioner is authorized to apply to any court of competent 

jurisdiction, and such court shall have jurisdiction upon hearing and for 

cause shown to grant, for a temporary or permanent injunction, or both, 

restraining any person from violating or continuing to violate any of the 

provisions of this Article or any rule or regulation promulgated 

thereunder. Such injunction shall be issued without bond. 

(b) For the purposes specified in Paragraph (a) of this Section, the 

Commissioner or his or her agents may examine the ledgers, books of 

accounts, memoranda, and other documents which relate to the 

transaction involved, at the place or places of business of the applicant 

or licensee, and may take testimony under oath. 

N.C.G.S. § 106-505. Violation of Article or rules made misdemeanor. 

Any person who violates the provisions of this Article or the rules and 

regulations promulgated thereunder shall be guilty of a Class 1 

misdemeanor. 

N.C.G.S. § 106-506. Civil penalties. 

The Commissioner may assess a civil penalty of not more than five 

thousand dollars ($5,000) per violation against any person or business 

entity who violates a provision of this Article or any rule adopted 

thereunder. In determining the amount of the penalty, the 

Commissioner shall consider the degree and extent of harm caused by 

the violation. The clear proceeds of civil penalties assessed pursuant to 
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this section shall be remitted to the Civil Penalty and Forfeiture Fund in 

accordance with G.S. 115C-457.2 

N.C.G.S. § 106-507. Exceptions to this Article. 

This Article does not apply to: 

(1) Farmers or groups of farmers in the sale of fruits and vegetables 

grown by themselves; 

(2) A handler of fruits and vegetables who pays at the time of purchase 

with United States cash currency or a cash equivalent, such as a money 

order, cashier’s check, wire transfer, electronic funds transfer, or PIN-

based debit transaction, or who pays with a credit card; 

(3) Handlers who purchase less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) worth 

of fruits and vegetables from North Carolina producers or their agents or 

representatives during the peak month of such purchases within the 

calendar year; 

(4) A handler to the extent that the handler purchases fruits and 

vegetables from a producer that is owned by the handler or if the handler 

is owned by the producer, or if both the handler and producer are owned 

by the same person; 

(5) Fruits and vegetables grown under contract for seed purposes. 

N.C.G.S. § 106-508. Bankruptcy. 

Nothing in this Article shall be construed as relieving a surety company 

or financial institution from responsibility for payment on properly 

established complaints against handlers involved in a federal bankruptcy 

proceeding. 


