

North Carolina Courts Commission

AGENDA November 16, 2015 10:00 a.m., Room 643 Legislative Office Building

I. CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS

Representative Sarah Stevens, Commission Chair

II. PRESENTATIONS

Magistrate Appointment and Supervision Panel

Hon. Brenda G. Branch, Chief District Court Judge (District 6) (Not confirmed)

Mr. Jason Cheek, Magistrate (Davidson), Vice-President, NC Magistrates Association

Hon. Lindsay R. Davis, Jr., Senior Resident Superior Court Judge (District 18)

Hon. Robert H. Hobgood, Senior Resident Superior Court Judge (District 9)

Hon. Jennifer J. Knox, Clerk of Superior Court (Wake)

Hon. Regan A. Miller, Chief District Court Judge (District 26)

Mr. Don Paschall, Chief Magistrate (Durham), President-Elect, NC Magistrates Association

Hon. Todd W. Tilley, Clerk of Superior Court (Perguimans)

Comments and Discussion

Report from Motions for Appropriate Relief Subcommittee

Hon. R. Locke Bell, District Attorney (District 27A)

Hon. Robert C. Kemp, III, Chief Public Defender (District 3A)

Comments and Discussion

Estimate of Outstanding Criminal Cases

Administrative Office of the Courts

Comments and Discussion

Criminal Case Calendaring Panel

Hon. Michelle C. Ball, Clerk of Superior Court (Johnston)

Hon. Brenda G. Branch, Chief District Court Judge (District 6) (Not confirmed)

Hon. Lindsay R. Davis, Jr., Senior Resident Superior Court Judge (District 18)

Ms. Samantha M. Dooies, Administrative Assistant (District 5)

Hon. Clark Everett, District Attorney, Ret. (District 3A), N.C. Conference of District Attorneys

Hon. Robert H. Hobgood, Senior Resident Superior Court Judge (District 9)

Hon. Jan G. Kennedy, Clerk of Superior Court (New Hanover)

Hon. Regan A. Miller, Chief District Court Judge (District 26)

Ms. Kathy Shuart, Trial Court Administrator (District 14)

Jeffrey B. Welty, Associate Professor of Public Law and Government, School of Government

Comments and Discussion

III. ADJOURNMENT