Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore, North Carolina Senate



Joe Hackney Speaker, North Carolina House of Representatives

Raleigh, North Carolina 27601-1096

21st Century Transportation Committee

Section 1. The **21**st **Century Transportation Committee** (hereinafter "Committee") is established by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to G.S. 120-19.6(a1), Rule 31 of the Rules of the Senate of the 2007 General Assembly, and Rule 26(a) of the Rules of the House of Representatives of the 2007 General Assembly.

Section 2. The Committee consists of the 24 members listed below. The President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall appoint 12 members of the Committee, and 4 of these 12 appointments shall be made upon the recommendation of the Governor. The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint 12 members of the Committee, and 4 of these 12 appointments shall be made upon the recommendation of the Governor.

The Committee shall select its chair upon the recommendation of the Governor. The Committee and the terms of the members shall expire when the Committee submits a final report to the General Assembly. Members serve at the pleasure of the appointing officer.

President Pro Tempore Appointments

Speaker of the House Appointments

Senator David Hoyle	Representative Nelson Cole
Senator Clark Jenkins	Representative Becky Carney
Senator Richard Stevens	Representative Lorene Coates
Dr. Joseph Monroe, Dean, Guilford County	Representative Phillip Frye
Mr. Lanny Wilson, New Hanover County	Representative William C. "Bill" McGee
Mr. Billy Sewell, Onslow County	Representative William L. Wainwright
Mr. Stephen Zelnak, Jr., Wake County	The Honorable George W. Miller, Jr., Durham
	County
The Honorable Richard Blackburn, Ashe	Ms. Nina Szlosberg, Wake County
County	
*The Honorable Terry Bellamy, Buncombe	*Mr. Charles F. Bowman, Mecklenburg
County	County
*The Honorable Sam Hunt, Alamance County	*The Honorable Chuck McGrady, Henderson
	County
*The Honorable Allen Joines, Forsyth County	*Mr. D. Jordan "Jordy" Whichard, III, Pitt
	County
*Mr. Gregory Plemmons, Guilford County	**Mr. Brad Wilson, Chair, Wake County

^{*} Recommendation from Governor Michael F. Easley

^{**} Recommendation for appointment as Chair by Governor Easley

Section 3. The Committee shall study the transportation infrastructure needs of the State. The Committee shall study and report on the following:

- (1) Ways to improve the transportation systems of the State in order to promote economic growth and ensure that the State can compete and participate in the global economy.
- (2) Innovative methods to fund the transportation needs of the State, including an examination of traditional and nontraditional methods of financing transportation infrastructure.
- (3) Priorities of the Department of Transportation, including methods to ensure adequate funding for corridors and projects of statewide significance.
- (4) Methods to use new and innovative technology to improve the transportation system.
- (5) Local funding options for transportation.
- (6) Ways to adequately fund road construction to address urban congestion and to improve mobility.
- (7) Methods to spend transportation funds in the most effective and cost efficient manner, including ways to use recycled materials, and reuse and recycle road materials.
- (8) Ways to maintain the continued safety of the current transportation system, including an analysis of the safety and reliability of bridges in the State.
- (9) The appropriate division of responsibility for transportation infrastructure between State and local government and any federal role in providing transportation infrastructure needs.
- (10) An examination of the role of ports, airports, mass transit, rail, and pedestrian and cycling access in providing the transportation needs of the State.
- (11) A review of public transportation needs in urban areas.
- (12) Methods to encourage fuel conservation and energy conservation in North Carolina.
- (13) Any other issues the Committee finds relevant to this study.

Section 4. The Committee shall meet upon the call of the chair. A quorum of the Committee is a majority of its members. No action may be taken except by a majority vote at a meeting at which a quorum is present.

Section 5. The Committee, while in the discharge of its official duties, may exercise all powers provided for under G.S. 120-19 and Article 5A of Chapter 120 of the General Statutes. The Committee may contract for professional, clerical, or consultant services, as provided by G.S. 120-32.02.

Section 6. Members of the Committee shall receive per diem, subsistence, and travel allowance as provided in G.S. 120-3.1, 138-5 and 138-6, as appropriate.

Section 7. The expenses of the Committee shall be considered expenses incurred for the joint operation of the General Assembly. An initial allocation of \$50,000 shall be provided to the Committee from funds appropriated to the General Assembly.

Section 8. The Legislative Services Officer shall assign professional and clerical staff to assist the Committee in its work. The Director of Legislative Assistants of the House of Representatives and the Director of Legislative Assistants of the Senate shall assign clerical support staff to the Committee.

Section 9. The Committee may meet at various locations around the State in order to promote greater public participation in its deliberations. The Legislative Services Commission shall grant adequate meeting space to the Committee in the State Legislative Building or the Legislative Office Building.

Section 10. The Committee may submit an interim report on the results of its study, including any proposed legislation, to the members of the Senate and the House of Representatives, on or before May 1, 2008, by filing a copy of the report with the Office of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, the Office of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the Legislative Library. The Committee shall submit a final report on the results of its study, including any proposed legislation, to the members of the Senate and the House of Representatives, on or before December 31, 2008, by filing a copy of the report with the Office of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, the Office of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the Legislative Library. The Committee shall terminate on December 31, 2008, or upon the filing of its final report, whichever occurs first.

Effective this 29th day of October, 2007

Mese Built

Marc Basnight

President Pro Tempore of the Senate

Joe Hackney

Speaker of the House of Representatives

Joe Hackeney