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§ 131E-255. Nurse Aide Registry

(a) Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1395i-3(e) and 42
U.S.C. § 1396r(e), the Department shall
establish and maintain a registry containing the
names of all nurse aides working in nursing
facilities in North Carolina. The Department shall
include in the nurse aide registry any findings by
the Department of neglect of a resident in a
nursing facility or abuse of a resident in a nursing
facility or misappropriation of the property of a
resident in a nursing facility by a nurse aide.



Overview

• Nurse aide is federally defined – Any individual
providing nursing or nursing-related services to
residents in a facility who is not a licensed health
professional, a registered dietitian, or someone
who volunteers to provide such services without
pay. 42CFR483.75(e)

• Other names used among various groups
include CNA, certified nurse aide, nursing
assistant.

• Nurse aides must hold a current listing on the
NC Nurse Aide I Registry.



NC and Federal Requirements
for Nurse Aide I Registry Listing

• Successfully complete either a state-approved
Nurse Aide I Training and Competency
Evaluation Program or a state-approved Nurse
Aide Competency Evaluation Program (42 CFR
483 Subpart B 483.75(e); 42 CFR 483 Subpart
D 483.150-158)

• May renew by working a minimum of 8 hours
during every 24 months as long as the work is 1)
for pay, 2) as a nurse aide, and 3) supervised by
a registered nurse

• Active Nurse Aides FY 08-09 - 110,726



Registry Verifications

• Before allowing an individual to serve as a
nurse aide, a skilled nursing facility must
receive registry verification that the
individual has met competency evaluation
requirements.
42 CFR 483, Subpart B 483.75, 42 CFR 483.13 (c)(1)(ii)(B)

• Verification confirmations given in
FY 08-09 – 650,279



Federal Requirements for
Nurse Aide I Training (NAT)

Programs
42CFR483.151-152

• State must review and approve or
disapprove NAT programs upon request

• State must withdraw programs that do not
meet applicable requirements

• Approval good for 2 years



Source: 42CFR483.152

Federally Required Content
for Nurse Aide I Training Programs

• Communication skills,
infection control,
safety/emergency
procedures

• Promoting residents’
independence and
rights

• Basics nursing skills

• Personal care skills

• Mental health and
social service needs

• Care of cognitively
impaired residents

• Basic restorative
services



Nurse Aide I Model Curriculum

• Developed in 1997 by DHSR in response
to the federal regulations

• Updated in 2002; continued to reflect
federal requirements, updated
skills/procedures

• Research and stakeholder feedback
began in 2009 to prepare for next revision



Representatives from the following
stakeholder groups were involved in
curriculum development:

• NC State Board of
Nursing

• Nurse Aide Registry &
Certification Sections of
the Division of Health
Service Regulation

• NC Health Care Facilities
Association

• Beverly Enterprises - Star
Mount Villa

• Mayview Convalescent
Center

• NC Association for Home
Care, Inc.

• NC Nurses Association

• NC Community College
System Office

• NC Hospital Association



North Carolina State-approved Nurse
Aide I Training Programs:

• Include all content required by federal
government.

• Follow extensive curriculum developed by
North Carolina or follow the North Carolina
curricular requirements (www.ncnar.org).

• Require student proficiency in 69 skills.



*includes community college,
licensed proprietary schools,
hospitals, & nursing facilities

NC state-approved* programs follow or
exceed federal requirements:

Minimum Total - 75

Requirement includes at least
16 hours of supervised

practical training (simulated
lab or clinical experience)

Federal Curricular Hourly
Requirements for Nurse Aide I

Training

Average Total – 142

Average hours supervised
simulated lab – 48

Average hours of clinical
experience - 43

State-Approved Program
Averages

(data sampled)



Other Training Programs

Anecdotal
information reveals
$200 - $800,
depending on length
of class

Varies, no minimum;
anecdotal information
reveals range of a few
hours to one day to
several classes; many
known as “fast track”
classes

Varies, no minimum classroom
content; anecdotal information
reveals “test prep” type classes
focusing on 25 testing skills
rather than content/skills
required in state-approved
training

Non-approved,
unlicensed, private
classes/courses &
schools

Free to enrollees180-360 (40 clinical
hours)

Covers state curriculum within
health science courses

NC Public High Schools
(Memorandum of
Understanding between NC
Department of Public
Instruction and NC Division of

Health Service Regulation)

No additional cost to
enrollees

Point which approved
school’s curriculum
meets all federal and
state requirements for
Nurse Aide I training

Covers state curriculum within
nursing courses

NC Schools of Nursing
(Memorandum of
Understanding between NC
Board of Nursing (BON) and
NC Division of Health Service

Regulation)

$150 (plus books +
various fees)

Varies –
approximately 27
hours

Reviews basic nurse aide
knowledge and skills (for
previously listed aides & out-of-
state aides)

Nurse Aide I Refresher
courses (taught at
community colleges and

licensed proprietary schools)

Average
Training Cost

HoursContentType



Types and Numbers of
State-approved NA I Training

Programs

110Schools of Nursing

162Community Colleges

212High Schools

0Hospitals

1Adult Care Homes

3Mental Health-State

12Nursing Homes

20Proprietary Schools

Number of State
approved
programs

School type



Federal Requirements for
Competency Evaluation

(42CFR483.154)

• Choice of written or oral exam

• All course requirements in 42CFR483.152
addressed

• Demonstration of randomly drawn skills

• Skills performed in a lab setting comparable
to setting of aide employment

• Evaluator is an RN with experience caring for
elderly or chronically ill of any age

• Individual has 3 chances to take the exam



North Carolina Competency
Evaluation Guidelines include:

• All federal guidelines/requirements.

• Required training or re-training in a state-
approved program for any tester failing
competency evaluation three times, before
re-testing a fourth time.



NC Nurse Aide Competency Exam

• Administered by Pearson VUE, a
nationally and internationally recognized
leading provider of assessment services to
regulatory agencies and national
associations

• Uses the National Nurse Aide
Assessment Program (NNAAP),
developed and owned by the National
Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.



NNAAP Exam
• National exam which measures minimal competence of

entry-level nurse aides in their knowledge, skills, and
abilities

• Written (also available as oral English and oral Spanish)
and skills (performance) component

• Skills component: candidates must successfully complete
five (5) randomly selected skills within 30 minutes

• Candidate cost to take exam - $96

• Exam is legally defensible

• Candidates who fail three times are required to complete
state-approved training in order to continue testing

• Number of tests administered FY 2008-09 – 23,829
(number includes repeaters)
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Federal Requirements for
Nurse Aide Inservice Training

• The skilled care facility must complete a
performance review of every nurse aide at least
once every 12 months, and must provide regular
inservice education based on the outcome of
these reviews.

• The inservice training must be sufficient to
ensure the continuing competence of nurse
aides, but must be no less than 12 hours per
year and based on performance review and
special needs of residents. 42CFR483(e)(8)



In response to the federal regulations,
the agency developed Continuing
Education Modules to assist facilities in
meeting the inservice requirements.
Topics include:

• A More Empathic You

• Advanced
Communication

• Being Part of a Team

• Fecal Impaction and
Hydration

• Infection Control

• Me, Myself and I

• Prevention of
pressure ulcers

• Principles of Adult
Learning



The agency continues to work
collaboratively with numerous
professional and industry stakeholders:

• North Carolina Board of
Nursing

• National Council for State
Boards of Nursing

• NC Division of Aging

• Direct Care Workers
Association

• NC-NOVA

• NC Department of Public
Instruction

• NC Community College
System Offices of
Proprietary Schools &
Continuing Education

• NC Health Care Facilities
Association



Nurse Aides - Supply & Demand
(Bureau of Labor Statistics, US Department of Labor - http://www.projectionscentral.com/lt_search.aspx)

48,340

13,900

27,860

6,580

Demand

(number
needed)

43%160,600112,260Totals

76%32,25018,350Personal &
Home Care

Aides

39%99,99072,130Home Health
Aides

30%28,36021,780Nurse Aides

Percent
change

2016
projections

2006
employment

*Note: in NC, the
majority of Home
Health Aides,
Personal and
Home Care Aides
are also Nurse
Aides



Nurse Aide I Employment Breakdown Report
Source: DHSR/Center for Aide Regulation and Education

2/10/10

111694TOTAL

3%2933Clinics (health dept, health clinics, MD

offices and dialysis centers)

6%6739Adult/Family Care Home

10%11097Not employed in health care

15%18060Hospital/Hospice/Mental Health

20%22432Nursing Homes

21%23909Other*

24%26524Home Health/Home Care (includes

nursing pools)

%Number EmployedEmployment Setting

*Other includes categories such as private duty, military/VA facilities, schools, Native American Indian Reservations,
adult daycare, cardiac rehab & ambulatory surgery



Source: Employment Breakdown
Report, Center for Aide

Regulation and Education

24%

21%

20%

16%

10%

6%
3%

Home Health/Care

Other

Nursing Homes

Hosp/Hospice/MH

Not in health care

Adult/Family Care Home
Home

Clinic

Employment Settings for Nurse Aide I



Duties for Nurse Aide I
Job duties approved by the Board of Nursing include, but are
not limited to, basic nursing tasks within the following
categories:

• Personal Care (Activities of Daily Living)
• Body Mechanics
• Nutrition
• Elimination
• Safety
• Special Procedures

The Registered Nurse is ultimately responsible for
determining competence of the aide before delegating
nursing or nursing-related tasks.



Expanded Role of the Nurse Aide I
in North Carolina

22
(2/12/09)

Learn new concepts to
help older adults:
dementia/challenging
behaviors, death/dying,
stress management

• State-approved Geriatric
Aide course

• Must be listed on Nurse Aide
I Registry

Geriatric
Aide

(began in
2009)

17,183
(2/12/09)

Performs more complex
nursing skills
emphasizing sterile
technique in elimination,
oxygenation, nutrition

• Must be listed on Nurse Aide
I Registry

•BON approved course

•No substantiated findings

•Fee

Nurse Aide
II (managed
by BON))

1889
(2/12/09)

Performs technical
aspects of medication
administration for certain
types of medicines

• 24-hour Board of Nursing
(BON) approved course

• State Med Aide Exam

Medication
Aide

Number

Active

Duties (requires RN
supervision)

Listing RequirementsType



Health Care Personnel Registry Law

• Investigations of unlicensed health care workers began in 1992 with
the investigations of nurse aides working in nursing homes in the
areas of abuse, neglect, and misappropriation of property of nursing
home residents - result of federal nursing home reform legislation
(OBRA).

• GS 131E-256 expanded investigations & “findings” of the Nurse
Aide I Registry; expanded types of reportable allegations and health
care facilities reporting allegations and required names of individuals
under investigation for any reportable allegation to be listed on the
registry.

• In 1998, 1999, 2000, and 2008, expansions of the HCPR law
increased the types of unlicensed health care personnel reported
and the types of health care facilities that must report allegations.

• “Health care personnel” was defined as any unlicensed staff of a
health care facility that has direct access to residents, clients, or
their property.

• Facilities must access the registry before hiring unlicensed staff.
Most facilities, by rule, are prohibited from hiring individuals who
have findings.



The Health Care Personnel Registry
contains information about unlicensed
health care workers for any of the
following allegations:

• Resident abuse

• Resident neglect

• Misappropriation of property (from a
resident or facility)

• Diversion of resident of facility drugs

• Fraud against a resident or facility



The following types of facilities are
required to report allegations:

• Adult Care Homes

• Hospitals

• Home Care Agencies

• Nursing Pools

• Hospices

• Nursing Facilities

• State-Operated Facilities

• Licensable Facilities for
mentally ill,
developmental disabled,
and substance abusers

• Multiunit Assisted
Housing with Services

• Community-Based
Providers of Services for
the mentally ill,
developmentally
disabled, and substance
abusers

• Agencies providing in-
home aide services
funded through the Home
and Community Care
Block Grant Program



Pending Allegations and
Substantiated Findings on the

Health Care Personnel Registry

4,709506Total Number

367

Pending
Allegations

3,491Total Individuals

Substantiated
Findings

As of June 30, 2009



For additional information go to
agency’s website for the Center for
Aide Regulation and Education at

www.ncnar.org


