Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore, North Carolina Senate



Joe Hackney Speaker, North Carolina House of Representatives

Raleigh, North Carolina 27601-1096

Joint Study Committee on Alcoholic Beverage Control

Section 1. The Joint Study Committee on Alcoholic Beverage Control (hereinafter "Committee") is established by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives pursuant to G.S. 120-19.6(a1), Rule 31 of the Rules of the Senate of the 2009 General Assembly, and Rule 26(a) of the Rules of the House of Representatives of the 2009 General Assembly.

Section 2. The Committee consists of 28 members, 14 of whom are appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and 14 of whom are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. The President Pro Tempore of the Senate shall appoint eight members of the Senate, and six public members. The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint eight members of the House of Representatives, and six public members.

President Pro Tempore Appointments	Speaker of the House Appointments
Senator Don Vaughan, Co-Chair	Representative Ray Warren, Co-Chair
Senator Charlie Albertson	Representative Larry M. Bell
Senator Stan Bingham	Representative James W. Crawford, Jr.
Senator Dan Blue	Representative Pryor Gibson
Senator Dan Clodfelter	Representative Dewey L. Hill
Senator Fletcher Hartsell	Representative Marvin W. Lucas
Senator Linda Garrou	Representative Edgar V. Starnes
Senator Steve Goss	Representative Fred F. Steen, II
Chief Tim Adams, Gaston County	Ronald Bogle, Orange County
Edward Cook, Mecklenburg County	Karen Gottovi, Wake County
Howard Hunter, III, Hertford County	Walter Harris, Chatham County
Eddie Maynor, Cumberland County	Edward Holmes, Orange County
Paul Powell, Guilford County	Bill Hurley, Cumberland County
Fields Scarborough, Dare County	Peggy Richmond, Orange County

The President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall each appoint a co-chair, who shall be a member of the General Assembly, from among their respective appointees. A co-chair or other member of the Committee continues to serve until a successor is appointed. A vacancy shall be filled within 30 days by the officer who made the original appointment. Members serve at the pleasure of the appointing officer.

Section 3. The Committee shall study all aspects of the current State and local structure of alcoholic beverage control (ABC) in North Carolina, including:

- (1) Analyzing the December 2008 report of the North Carolina General Assembly Program Evaluation Division on the effectiveness of the ABC system, and its recommended improvement options for the system.
- (2) Evaluating the need for Statewide consistency and uniformity in ABC structures, rules, and ethics standards.
- (3) Examining the current compensation structure for both State and local ABC board members and employees and making recommendations for any salary limitations or oversight that might be needed.
- (4) Examining the governance structure of local ABC boards, the geographical proximity of local ABC boards, and making recommendations for any changes or reforms.
- (5) Examining the amount and distribution of revenues from the current ABC system.
- (6) Examining what ethics rules are currently applicable to ABC Board members and employees, and making recommendations for any ethics rules that should be applied.
- (7) Examining the oversight and accountability of ABC boards, and making recommendations for any increase in oversight or procedures in order to increase accountability.
- (8) Examining whether additional gubernatorial authority over ABC Boards and employees, including the power to remove employees, should be granted.
- (9) Examining the issue of privatization of the ABC system, and making recommendations as to the advisability of privatization and any potential savings to the State.
- (10) Any other issues related to alcoholic beverage control structure, governance, and revenue in the State.

Section 4. The Committee shall meet upon the call of its House and Senate cochairs. A quorum of the Committee is a majority of its members. No action may be taken except by a majority vote at a meeting at which a quorum is present.

Section 5. The Committee, while in the discharge of its official duties, may exercise all powers provided for under G.S. 120-19 and Article 5A of Chapter 120 of the General Statutes. The Committee may contract for professional, clerical, or consultant services, as provided by G.S. 120-32.02.

Section 6. Members of the Committee shall receive per diem, subsistence, and travel allowance as provided in G.S. 120-3.1, 138-5 and 138-6, as appropriate.

Section 7. The expenses of the Committee shall be considered expenses incurred for the joint operation of the General Assembly. Individual expenses of five thousand dollars (\$5,000) or less, including per diem, travel, and subsistence expenses of members of the Committee, and clerical expenses shall be paid upon the authorization of a co-chair of the Committee. Individual expenses in excess of five thousand dollars (\$5,000) shall be paid upon the written approval of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives. All expenses of the Committee shall be paid from the Legislative Services Commission's Reserve for Studies.

Section 8. The Legislative Services Officer shall assign professional and clerical staff to assist the Committee in its work. The Director of Legislative Assistants of the House of Representatives and the Director of Legislative Assistants of the Senate shall assign clerical support staff to the Committee.

Section 9. The Committee shall not meet during a regular or extra session of the General Assembly. The Committee may meet at various locations around the State in order to promote greater public participation in its deliberations.

Section 10. The Committee shall submit a final report on the results of its study, including any proposed legislation, to the members of the Senate and the House of Representatives, on or before May 12, 2010, by filing a copy of the report with the Office of the President Pro Tempore of the Senate, the Office of the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the Legislative Library. The Committee shall terminate on May 12, 2010, or upon the filing of its final report, whichever occurs first.

Effective this 16th day of February, 2010.

The Bu

Marc Basnight President Pro Tempore of the Senate

Goe Hackenergy

Joe Hackney Speaker of the House of Representatives