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Property Insurance Rate 

Making - Overview 

Statutorily defined roles 

• North Carolina Rate Bureau(NCRB) 

– Calculates and files proposed rates 

 

• North Carolina Dept. of Insurance 

– Reviews rate filings & sets rates 

– Ensures statutory compliance 

 

 



Property Insurance Rate 

Making - Overview 

North Carolina Rate Bureau(NCRB) 

• Proposes rates for NC residential 
property insurance 

• Rates filed on election of member 
companies (no required filing) 

• Since 1993 – Eight homeowners’ 
insurance rate filings 

 

 

 



Property Insurance Rate 

Making - Overview 

North Carolina Dept. of Insurance 
• Reviews rate filings submitted by NCRB  

• Ensures rates are: 
“…not excessive, inadequate, or unfairly 
discriminatory.” (per GS 58-36-10.(1)) 

• Commissioner may order a hearing if 
contends filing fails to comply with 
requirements (GS 58-36-20.(a)) 

• Commissioner establishes overall rate, 
between existing and proposed rates 

 

 



Elements of Premium Determination 

Elements used by homeowners’ insurance companies in determining 
Homeowners’ Insurance Premium: 
• Territory Code (county or city locale) 
• Protection Class (1‐10) 
• Construction of the home (frame or masonry) 
• Type and extent of coverage 
• Amount of insurance 
• Amount of deductible 
• Optional coverages 
• Claims Experience 

Underwriting Factors 



NCRB Homeowners Territories (pre-6/1/15) 



Homeowners Territories Effective June 1, 2015 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

1. NC Rate Bureau (NCRB) files with 
Commissioner (GS 58-36-15): 

• rates, loss costs, classification plans, 
rating plans and rating systems used 
by its members 

 

• Rate filings are made on as needed 
basis, per decision of NCRB 

 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

2. NCRB gives public notice of filing 
within 10 business days of filing 
(GS 58-36-120) 

• Notice must state that COI may or 
may not schedule a hearing 

• Same info from Notice must be 
posted on DOI and NCRB websites 
within 3 days after the filing 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

3. Thirty days before a Notice of Hearing 
issues, the DOI shall receive public 
comments regarding the rate filing.   
• The public comments may be received by 

email, mail, or in person, and  

• The public comments shall be shared with the 
NCRB. (G.S. 58-36-15(b)). 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

4. A rate filing must contain 
supporting data as required by 
statute (G.S. 58-36-15 (e), (h)) and 
by regulations (11 NCAC 10.1105). 

 

• The Rate Bureau must include in the 
filing all testimony, exhibits and      
other information upon which it will 
rely at a hearing (G.S. 58-36-15(i)). 

 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

5. Within 50 days of the filing, the COI 
must issue a Notice of Hearing: 

a) Specifying the issues with the filing, and  
b) Fixing a date for the hearing (G.S. 58-36-

20(b)).   
 

Note: Only issues specified in the notice of 
hearing may be addressed at the hearing. 

 
• If the Notice is not timely issued, the 

filing is “deemed approved,” meaning it 
automatically takes effect by operation 
of law.  

 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

 

6. At least 20 days before the 
hearing, DOI must file its own 
testimony, exhibits, and 
information it intends to rely on at 
the hearing (G.S. 58-36-15(i)). 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

7. The hearing is litigation by adversarial 
parties (NCRB and DOI), who are 
represented by counsel. 
 

8. The Commissioner or his designee sits as 
hearing officer. 
• May not consult with or discuss the rate filing 

with anyone inside or outside of DOI except 
those designated to assist him on the case (e.g. 
his Chief Actuary). 
 

9. The hearing operates just like a trial, and, 
once begun, a hearing must proceed without 
undue delay (G.S. 58-36-20(a)). 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

10. NCRB has the burden of proving 
that the proposed rates are not 
excessive, inadequate, or unfairly 
discriminatory (G.S. 58-36-20(a)). 

 

11. If after a hearing the COI finds the 
proposed rates to be excessive, he 
shall set his own rates between the 
existing rates and the rates 
proposed in the filing.(G.S. 58-36-
20(a)). 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

12. The COI must issue his order 
within 45 days after the 
completion of the hearing.   
• If no order is issued with 45 days, the 

filing is deemed approved (G.S. 58-
36-20(a)). 

 

13. After the COI issues his order, the 
Rate Bureau may appeal directly to 
the Court of Appeals (G.S. 58-36-
25(a); G.S. 58-2-80). 

 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

14. If the Rate Bureau appeals, it may 
implement its proposed rates during 
the appeals process  
• Member companies must escrow the 

difference between the COI’s ordered 
rates and the Rate Bureau’s implemented 
rates.   

• Upon a final determination by the 
appellate courts or upon settlement 
between the Rate Bureau and the COI, 
the COI will order the escrowed funds to 
be distributed appropriately (either to 
the consumers who have overpaid or to 
the companies (G.S. 58-36-25(b)). 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Homeowners Rate Filings 

15. Once the COI’s ordered rates go into 
effect (become Rate Bureau manual 
rates), all companies must use these 
rates.  
 

16. If the rates do not fit with an individual 
company’s underwriting criteria, the 
company has two options: 

a) Deviations:  A company may deviate (or 
discount) from the manual rates. 

b) Consent to Rate (CTR):  A company may also 
charge higher rates than the Rate Bureau 
manual rate on individual risks with the 
policyholder’s written consent. 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Insurer Options 

• Deviations:  A company may deviate (or discount) 
from the manual rates.  In order to deviate, a  
• company must file the proposed deviation with the 

Rate Bureau and with the COI for approval.   
• The proposed deviation must be based on “sound 

actuarial principles” to be approved (G.S. 58-36-30(a)).   
• Companies in North Carolina do deviate (offer 

discounts) on HO insurance although probably not in 
the coastal communities. 
 

• Consent to Rate (CTR):  A company may charge 
higher rates than the manual rate if it: 
• Obtains the written consent of the insured on the initial 

CTR form.   
• Complies with applicable statute and code 

requirements: 
– Include required content on CTR form and on renewals and 

endorsements with subsequent rate increases 
– Does not exceed 250% of manual rate 

 
 



NC Rate Making Process – 

CTR Concerns 

• Once the initial written consent of the insured is 
obtained, the company is not required to obtain consent 
on any future renewals or endorsements (up to 250%).   
 

• Unlike deviations:  
• CTR policies/rates need not be filed with the COI for approval  
• No requirement that CTR rates be based on sound actuarial 

principles.  
 

• Observations: 
• Companies have been using CTR to write homes in riskier 

areas, such as the coastal areas.   
• There is some evidence that companies are using CTR as a 

pricing mechanism rather than as a means to properly rate 
individual policies that do not fit the manual rate underwriting 
criteria (e.g. the $1 CTR for which one company obtained CTR 
signatures from a good portion of its N.C. clients).   
 

– See G.S. 58-36-30(b) and 11 NCAC 10.0602 and 10.0606 for CTR 
statutes and regulations. 



• Most Recent Homeowners’ Insurance Rates 
– NCRB filed with NCDOI on January 3, 2014 
– Requested rate increase of 25.6% 

 
• Commissioner convened hearing October 2015 to review NCRB property 

insurance rate filing (per GS 58-36-20.(a)) 
 

• Commissioner ordered 0% Statewide aggregate rate increase 
– Some territories rates’ dropped, some rose, overall unchanged 
  

• NCRB appealed Commissioner’s ordered rate (per GS 58-36-25) 
 

• Court of Appeals upheld Commissioner’s Order 
 

• NCRB filed a petition for the Supreme Court to review the case 

Status Report – Recent Filing 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Lowest Rates in Region 

Under our current ratemaking system: 
 

• NC has the lowest average homeowners 
insurance prices for median cost homes 
($200-300,000) for HO-3 policies (most widely 
available policy form/std policy form) of all SE 
coastal states 

• NC consistently has among the lowest HO 
rates of all Southeast coastal states (NC to TX)   

• NC coastal rates are lower than all of our 
neighboring coastal states   

• Even with these low rates, NC has 126 insurers 
writing homeowners insurance in the state 



NC Rate Making Process – 

Lowest Rates in Region 

STATE AVE. HO RATE 

North Carolina $1,012 

Georgia $1,049 

United State Ave. $1,049 

South Carolina $1,273 

Alabama $1,451 

Mississippi $1,607 

Texas $1,883 

Florida $2,016 

Louisiana $2,030 


