# JOINT LEGISLATIVE STUDY COMMITTEE ON THE DIVISION OF LOCAL SCHOOL ADMINISTRATIVE UNITS

## AGENDA March 13, 2018 1:00 PM, ROOM 544 Legislative Office Building Representative Brawley, chairing

## Welcome and Introductions

Representative Brawley, Co-Chair Senator Curtis, Co-Chair

# **Approval of February 21 Minutes**

**Implementation and Governance Issues** Kara McCraw, Legislative Analysis Division, North Carolina General Assembly

#### **Constitutional Issues in School District Division**

Brian Gwyn, Legislative Analysis Division, North Carolina General Assembly

#### **Budgeting in Counties with Multiple School Units**

Kara Millonzi, Professor of Public Law and Government, UNC School of Government

#### **Bond and Debt Issues**

Gregory Gaskins, Deputy Treasurer for State and Local Government, Department of State Treasurer

# Logistical Considerations in Counties with Multiple School Units

- Dr. Maria Pitre-Martin, Deputy State Superintendent, Department of Public Instruction
- Nathan Maune, Architect, School Planning Section of the Department of Public Instruction
- Eileen Townsend, Public School Insurance Section Chief, Department of Public Instruction
- Kevin Harrison, Transportation Services Section Chief, Department of Public Instruction
- Dr. Lynn Harvey, School Nutrition Services Section Chief, Department of Public Instruction
- Michael Nicolaides, Chief Information Officer, Department of Public Instruction
- Eric Snider, Staff Attorney, State Board of Education

**Final Remarks** Representative Brawley, Co-Chair Senator Curtis, Co-Chair