General Assembly of North Carolina

Task Force on Sentencing Reforms for Opioid Drug Convictions

CO-CHAIRS

SEN. JIM DAVIS REP. GREGORY F. MURPHY, MD

LEGISLATIVE MEMBERS

REP. JOSH DOBSON SEN. LOUIS PATE

PUBLIC MEMBERS

BRANDON E. GOSEY HON. JEFFERSON G. GRIFFIN JENNIFER HARJO CHIEF WILLIAM H. HOLLINGSED JULIE H. HUNEYCUTT HON. MAUREEN KRUEGER HON. DANIEL A. KUEHNERT ERNIE LEE JESSICA LOCKLEAR HON. STEVEN H. MESSICK HON. W. TODD POMEROY J. BEACHAM WRAY



AGENDA

9:00 a.m. Tuesday, March 6, 2018 Room 423 Legislative Office Building Raleigh, North Carolina EX OFFICIO MEMBERS HON. MANDY K. COHEN MICHELLE HALL HON. ERIK HOOKS HON. JOSHUA H. STEIN HON. MARION WARREN REUBEN YOUNG

STAFF

AUGUSTUS WILLIS JENNIFER BEDFORD WILLIAM CHILDS NICOLE DUPRÉ LUKE GILLENWATER SUSAN SITZE

545 LEGISLATIVE OFFICE BUILDING 300 NORTH SALISBURY STREET RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA 27603 (919) 733-2578

CLERK ANNE HARVEY SMITH

- 1. Call to Order and Introductory Remarks

 *Representative Gregory F. Murphy, MD, Presiding Co-Chair

 Senator Jim Davis, Co-Chair
- 2. Presentations
 - A. Overview of Current Sentencing Laws and Data

 Michelle Hall and John Madler

 North Carolina Sentencing and Policy Advisory Commission
 - B. Snapshot of Current Incarceration Statistics

 Joe Prater, Department of Public Safety
 - C. Sequential Intercept Model

Hon. Joe Buckner, Orange County District Judge Robert A. Kurtz, Ph.D., Department of Health and Human Services Joe Prater, Department of Public Safety Hon. Marion Warren, Administrative Office of the Courts

- 3. Committee Discussion and Announcements
- 4. Adjournment