North Carolina General Assembly Select Committee on Safer Schools Subcommittee on Student Health

April 9, 2018 Legislative Office Building, 643 LOB 9:00 AM

Representative Josh Dobson, Subcommittee Chair

Welcome and Introductions

Representative Dobson, Subcommittee Chair Representative Lewis, Committee Chair Representative Torbett, Committee Chair

North Carolina School Counselor Association (NCSCA)

- Elizabeth P Atkins, Onslow County Schools, President, NCSCA
- Tim K Hardin, Gaston County Schools, President-Elect, NCSCA

North Carolina School Psychology Association

 Heather Lynch Boling, Wake County Schools, President, North Carolina School Psychology Association

School Psychologists: Current Needs and Licensure Reciprocity

- Lynn Makor, MA, CAGS Consultant for School Psychology NC Department of Public Instruction/Carolina Institute for Developmental Disabilities
- Cynthia J. Floyd School Counseling Consultant, NC Department of Public Instruction

School-Based Mental Health: Recommended Programs

- Kym Martin, Executive Director, N.C. Center for Safer Schools
- Mark Benton, Deputy Secretary for Health Services, Department of Health and Human Services

Final Remarks

Representative Dobson, Subcommittee Chair Representative Lewis, Committee Chair Representative Torbett, Committee Chair