
Subject  Statute Description of Issue Referral Source

Advanced Health Care 
Directives G.S. 32A-25.1

Currently in North Carolina, both a notary AND two witnesses have to sign off on documents for valid advanced 
health care directives. In this emergency, a special provision could be implemented that allows for either a 
notary OR two witnesses to sign off on these documents.

Secretary of State 

Business Registration G.S. 55-1(22); G.S. 57D-
1(22)

North Carolina should consider waiving annual report fees for LLCs, Corporations etc. to help small businesses 
that are dealing with an economic downturn. G.S. 55-1(22) and G.S. 57D-1(22). In addition the state should 
consider waiving all of the fees being charged on businesses and individuals as the state responds to an 
unprecedented crisis.

Secretary of State 

Charitable Solicitation G.S. 131F-5(b)
Charitable Solicitation Division would like the 10-day statutory limit by which an application has to be reviewed to 
be extended to 20 days during the emergency as it takes longer for employees to review these applications 
given teleworking and social distancing requirements

Secretary of State 

Communicable 
Disease Information G.S. 130A-143 Align state law with HIPAA to allow disclosures to law enforcement that are necessary to prevent or lessen a 

serious and imminent threat; remove outdated language; make clarifying changes School of Government

DMV Chapter 20 DMV Commissioner authority to extend expiration deadlines for various privileges and requirements – e.g. driver 
licenses, vehicle inspections, station licenses – during a declared emergency Department of Transportation

DMV Chapter 20 DMV Commissioner authority to waive fines and fees during a declared emergency Department of Transportation
Elections Chapter 163 Expand delivery of absentee requests to include fax and email of the requests State Board of Elections
Elections Chapter 163 HAVA document allowed with absentee request form State Board of Elections

Incompetency and 
Adult Guardianship 

Proceedings
G.S. 35A-1109

Requires copies of the petition and notice initiating an incompetency proceeding to be personally served on the 
respondent.  For the most part, this requires service on the alleged incompetent adult by the sheriff.  There are 
cases where the respondent is at an adult care home, hospital, or other facility that will not allow the sheriff to 
enter to serve the respondent.  The result is that incompetency and adult guardianship proceedings cannot go 
forward for these respondents.....For the duration of this public health crisis only, allow for another type of 
service on these respondents.

School of Government

Incompetency and 
Adult Guardianship 

Proceedings
G.S. 35A-1114

Without a party’s consent, pursuant to the Chief Justice’s order, these interim proceedings may not be 
conducted remotely despite the fact that they most often involve vulnerable adults in emergency 
situations….Add to G.S. 35A-1114(c1):  The hearing to consider the appointment of an interim guardian may be 
held, or any party or witness may appear, via video conference if the clerk determines good cause exists.  Prior 
to any hearing held or appearance by video conference, the clerk shall submit to the Administrative Office of the 
Courts the procedures and type of equipment for video conference for approval by the Administrative Office of 
the Courts.

School of Government
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Involuntary 
commitment custody 
and transportation.

G.S. 122C-251(g);     
G.S. 122C-261(b) & 

(d)(4);               
G.S. 122C-202.2(a).

Currently, the designation process and the training requirements involve a months-long process. Consider 
amending the relevant statutes to permit an expedited process for designating and training personnel other than 
law enforcement officers--personnel who would have the authority to carry out the various phases of 
transportation relating to involuntary commitment in lieu of law enforcement officers.

School of Government

Involuntary 
commitment/ 
telemedicine.

G.S. 112C-263; GS 
122C-266; GS 122C-
283; GS 122C-285

During the pandemic allow for (1) telemedicine for the second IVC examination in lieu of face-to-face 
examination; (2) telemedicine for the first examination for purposes other than geographic distance; and (3) 
telemedicine for substance abuse commitment examination.

School of Government

Local Gov't Finance Chapter 159 School capital outlay report, required to be submitted by May 1 to GA, will likely need delay to July 1 for 2020 
and 2021 due to late filings of reports by counties Local Government Commission

Local Gov't Finance - 
Daily Deposit 
Requirement

Article 2, Chapter 159 Daily deposit requirement – may need relief in the form of a temporary suspension of requirement in certain 
circumstance and with certain safeguards in place Local Government Commission

Marriage License G.S 51-8-2

Personal appearance for applicants seeking a marriage license – many of our vital record services are able to 
be performed remotely including the issuance of birth and death certificates but NC law requires personal 
appearance for the issuance of a marriage license.  The only exception the statutes make is G.S. 51-8.2 which 
gives options for one applicant to appear in person with a signed affidavit from the other applicant who cannot 
appear in person.  Registers would not advocate for a permanent change in the statute, however, the fear of 
statewide stay at home orders has driven a heavy volume of applicants to Registers offices across the state 
seeking marriage licenses. This has led many Registers to seek remote options for the issuance of marriage 
licenses. Currently most Registers have the ability for customers to fill out the application and submit 
electronically.  The personal appearance is simply to sign the license and administer the required oaths.  While 
electronic signatures are already validated in NC law, a short term solution to be able to use virtual technology 
to administer oaths removing the personal appearance requirement would be helpful.  

Register of Deeds
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Items for Potential Legislation Action, 4/14/20 Continuity of State Government Working Group Discussion

Marriage License G.S. 51-16; G.S. 51-7

60 day expiration on marriage licenses that have been issued - G.S. 51-16 states that an officiant can perform a 
ceremony anytime within 60 days of the issuance of a license.  G.S. 51-7 states the officiant could be subject to 
a $200 fine and guilty of a misdemeanor for conducting a ceremony after a license has expired.  With many 
couples having wedding venues cancelling or postponing planned events, the 60 day expiration on licenses is 
becoming an issue.  Couples should not be penalized for this by having to purchase a new license and this 
issue should not be driving customers to our office during the current pandemic to reapply for licenses.  A 
temporary extension on the 60 day expiration would be very helpful.

Register of Deeds

Notary G.S. 10B-3(16)

The Secretary of State has considered remote notarization and would be the appropriate source for a 
recommendation about an amendment, either to allow remote notarization in general, or to allow it during a 
state of emergency. Without such legislation, a real estate instrument or other documents notarized remotely in 
this State could be challenged as invalidly notarized.

School of Government

Notary - Commission G.S. 10B-8(a) A notary, after taking the required class, should be allowed 6-9 months to complete the notary commission 
requirements, not 3 months as it is now. G.S. 10B-8(a) Secretary of State 

Notary - Commission G.S. 10B-10

Notary expiration dates – Many of our offices have had unnecessary customer traffic for notaries who are having 
to appear to take notary oaths because commissions expire during this pandemic.  A short term solution to 
extend the expiration dates of notaries whose commissions expire during the statewide state of emergency for 
an additional 45-60 days would be helpful.

Register of Deeds 

Notary - Commission G.S. 10B-10(b) Notaries should be allowed 9 months to get sworn in, not 45 days as it is now. G.S.10B-10(b). Secretary of State 

Notary - Commission G.S. 10B-10(b)
This statute could be amended with the following qualification:  "If the governor declares that a state of 
emergency exists, notaries may take their oath remotely by audio-video communication during such state of 
emergency, provided the register of deeds can positively  identify the appointee."   

School of Government

Notary - Commission G.S. 10B-11(c ) Notaries should be allowed to renew within 18 months, thus extending the current requirement that notaries 
renew every 12 months. G.S. 10B-11(c) Secretary of State 

OAH - contested cases Chapter 150B
Authorize the Chief Administrative Law Judge, during times of catastrophic conditions, to extend the time period 
for filing a petition for a contested case OAH

OAH -emergency rules Chapter 150B Clarify ability to reschedule meetings during the emergency/temporary rulemaking process OAH

Open Meetings Article 33C, Chapter 
143 Clarify Authority to Meet Remotely - Full Council, Other Board Meetings, Public Hearings NC League of Municpalities
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Items for Potential Legislation Action, 4/14/20 Continuity of State Government Working Group Discussion

Open Meetings Article 33C, Chapter 
143 Flexibility with Open Meeting Laws and Remote Participation NC Assoc of County 

Commissioners

Open Meetings Article 33C, Chapter 
143 Public meeting/public hearing requirements – consideration of some virtual options Local Government Commission

Open Meetings/ 
County G.S. 153A-43

The statute is unclear about whether a county commissioner must be physically present to count towards a 
quorum. This can create uncertainty about the validity of actions taken by boards of county commissioners that 
meet electronically during a state of emergency. 

School of Government

Open Meetings/ Public 
Records

Article 33C, Chapter 
143; Article 2, Chapter 

159
Public display of proposed budget – we are doing further research of options including electronic Local Government Commission

Open Meetings/City G.S. 160A-74

The statute is unclear about whether a city council member must be physically present to count towards a 
quorum. This can create uncertainty about the validity of actions taken by city councils that meet electronically 
during a state of emergency.                                                                                                                                      
Narrower Fix:  Add a provision authorizing city councils to count members who participate electronically as 
present for quorum purposes during states of emergency. The drawback to this approach is that the provision 
could imply that no authority for electronic participation exists at other times.                                                           
Broader Fix: Add a provision allowing electronic participation more generally. 

School of Government

Open Meetings/City G.S. 160A-75
The statute’s use of the phrase “physically present” calls into question whether city council members who attend 
by electronic means can vote. This can create uncertainty about the validity of actions taken by a council that 
meets electronically during a state of emergency. 

School of Government

Open Meetings/Land 
Use Quasi-judicial 

hearings  

G.S. 160A-388, 160D-
406 Quasi-judicial evidentiary hearings raise due process concerns beyond those of basic public hearings School of Government

Regulatory Relief
Either authorize or require State agencies to waive, delay, or modify the collection of any fees, fines, or late 
payments assessed by the agency under its statutes, including the accrual of interest associated with any fees, 
fines, or late payments.

Co-chairs

Regulatory Relief Either authorize or require State agencies to Delay the renewal dates of permits, licenses, and other similar 
certifications, registrations, and authorizations issued by the agency pursuant to its statute Co-chairs

Regulatory Relief Either authorize or require State agencies to Waive, delay, or modify any educational or examination 
requirements implemented by the agency pursuant to its statutes Co-chairs
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Items for Potential Legislation Action, 4/14/20 Continuity of State Government Working Group Discussion

Service G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5

G.S. 1A-1, Rule 5 - Rule 5. Service and filing of pleadings and other papers.   Amendment to Rule 5 Service:  
This SOG draft amendment includes proposed language which would make email a proper method of Rule 5 
service.  Proposed language is in yellow.  Amended language is primarily intended to be temporary and related 
to COVID-19 needs for electronic service.

AOC

State Health Plan - 
Payment Deadlines

In the event of a federal and state declared disaster, allow the Treasurer (subject to approval by the SHP Board) 
to grant time-limited flexibility around payment deadlines.  This would not mean that premiums are not owed to 
the Plan, only that due dates can be extended and temporarily disconnected from the requirement that we 
cease health coverage 30 days after non-payment.    Additionally, it’s also worth noting that a similar deferral 
arrangement has been approved by the Department of Insurance for private sector health insurance plans, but 
that deferral does not apply to the State Health Plan. 

NC Treasurer's Office
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