

<u>CANDIDATES FOR THE NORTH CAROLINA SENATE</u> <u>2023 GENERAL ASSEMBLY</u> <u>2022 PRIMARY – MAY 17, 2022</u>

SENATE DISTRICTS UNOPPOSED (10)

(*Democrat 1*) District 38 Senator Mujtaba A. Mohammed

(Republicans 9)

District 2	Senator Jim Perry
District 6	Senator Michael Lazzara
District 8	Senator Bill Rabon
District 9	Senator Brent Jackson
District 26	Senator Philip E. (Phil) Berger
District 31	Senator Joyce Krawiec
District 35	Senator Todd Johnson
District 43	Brad Overcash
District 44	Senator Ted Alexander

INCUMBENT SENATORS OPPOSED IN PRIMARY (12)

(Democrats 4)District 3Senator Ernestine BazemoreDistrict 4Senator Milton F. (Toby) FitchDistrict 19Senator Kirk deViereDistrict 49Senator Julie Mayfield

(Republicans 8)

- District 1 Senator Norman Sanderson
- District 1 Senator Bob Steinburg
- District 12 Senator Jim Burgin
- District 30 Senator Steve Jarvis
- District 37 Senator Vickie Sawyer
- District 46 Senator Warren Daniel
- District 47 Senator Deanna Ballard
- District 47 Senator Ralph Hise

FORMER SENATORS SEEKING ELECTION (4)

- District 4 Buck Newton (R)
- District 19 Wesley Meredith (R)
- District 30 Eddie Gallimore (R)
- District 36 Shirley B. Randleman (R)

CURRENT HOUSE MEMBERS SEEKING SENATE ELECTION (8)

(Democrats 5)	
District 4	Raymond E. Smith, Jr.
District 5	Kandie D. Smith
District 16	Gale Adcock
District 23	Graig R. Meyer
District 42	Rachel Hunt
(Republicans 3)	
District 3	Bobby Hanig
District 36	Lee Zachary
District 48	Tim Moffitt

SENATORS NOT SEEKING SENATE RE-ELECTION (8)

(Democrats 6)

Senator Don Davis * Senator Wiley Nickel * Senator Sarah Crawford ** Senator Ben Clark * Senator Valerie Foushee * Senator Jeff Jackson *

(Republicans 2)

Senator Kathy Harrington Senator Chuck Edwards *

* Congressional candidate ** N.C. House of Representatives candidate

Office of the Senate Principal Clerk 919.733.7761

3/7/2022