

North Carolina Child Fatality Task Force MEETING AGENDA August 29, 2022 | 10:00 am to 12:00 pm

This meeting is in room 612 of the Legislative Office Building at 300 N. Salisbury Street, Raleigh. Members are encouraged to attend in person but a link to join virtually will be sent to all members to be used by those who cannot attend in person. Non-members interested in attending this meeting virtually may register at the following link and will then receive an email with information on how to join the meeting: https://ncdhhs-itd.webex.com/ncdhhs-itd/j.php?RGID=r5cd695888c0f5dbd8532b667c9f8e13d

10:00	Welcome and introductions Approval of minutes from meeting on 2/7/22 available on CFTF website at: https://www.ncleg.gov/DocumentSites/Committees/NCCFTF/Meeting%20Documents/2021-2022/CFTF%20Minutes%202-7-22%20unapproved.pdf	Karen McLeod, MSW Chair, NC Child Fatality Task Force
10:15	Election of Committee Co-Chairs (see page 2 of this agenda)	Karen McLeod
10:20	Executive Director Report & Updates	Kella Hatcher, JD Executive Director, NC Child Fatality Task Force
10:30	Legislative Update	Karen McLeod
10:40	Preview of fall committee work	Committee Co-Chairs
10:45	Data update: Recent Trends in Child Injury Deaths	Shana Geary, MPH, Epidemiologist, NC Division of Public Health, Injury & Violence Prevention Branch
11:00	Panel Discussion: perspective on child fatality prevention systems in other states	 Introduction and facilitator: Kella Hatcher Heidi Hilliard, MPH, Senior Program Advisor, Center for Child & Family Health, Michigan Public Health Institute (leads Michigan's Child Death Review Program) Kate Jankovsky, Child Adversity Prevention Manager, Colorado Department of Public Health & Environment (leads Colorado's Child Fatality Prevention System) Paige Rosemond, MSW, Senior Director, Child and Adult Services, Alliance Health (Co-Chair, NC CCPT State Advisory Board)
By 12:00	Announcements and adjourn	

Combined presentation slides for this meeting will be posted on the <u>Child Fatality Task Force website</u> under the section marked "presentations" – slides are usually posted the same day as the meeting.

Nominations for Committee Co-Chair Roles

(Nominations will also be taken from the floor)

Unintentional Death Prevention Committee Co-Chairs

- Alan J. Dellapenna, Jr. RS, MPH recently retired from his role as Branch Head of the Injury and Violence Prevention Branch, NC Division of Public Health. In addition to serving as a Co-Chair of the Unintentional Death Prevention Committee of the NC Child Fatality Task Force, he serves on the NC Brain Injury Advisory Council, and advisory boards for the UNC Injury Prevention Research Center and the UNC Highway Safety Research Center. Prior to his role at NC DPH, he had a 27-year career as a Commissioned Officer in the US Public Health Service. In 2018, he was awarded the Alex Kelter Vision Award by the national organization Safe State's Alliance which is the organization's highest honor in the field of injury and violence prevention.
- Martha Sue Hall, MS, is retired from a career in the North Carolina court system where she served in multiple roles such as Family Court Administrator, Guardian ad Litem Program Administrator, NC Juvenile Court Improvement Project Director, and Victim/Witness Assistant. Ms. Hall is currently serving her fourth term on the Albemarle City Council and is now in the role of Mayor Pro Tem. She also has served in numerous other public service roles such as Stanly County Commissioner, a member of the NC League of Municipalities where she has served as Vice Chair, and President of the North Carolina Women in Municipal Government. Ms. Hall has served on the Child Fatality Task Force since 2008.

Perinatal Health Committee Co-Chairs

- Belinda Pettiford, MPH, is Section Chief for Women, Infant, and Community Wellness in the NC Division of Public Health (DPH) where she provides oversight to the state's maternal health, family planning, preconception health, teen pregnancy prevention, sickle cell, tobacco use, and numerous programs focused on equity in birth outcomes. Her past roles in DPH have included Program Manager for Healthy Beginnings (North Carolina's Minority Infant Mortality Reduction Program), Healthy Start Baby Love Plus (3 federally funded perinatal disparities programs), and Unit Supervisor for Perinatal Health and Family Support. Belinda is the recipient of the Ronald H. Levine Legacy award which recognizes her distinguished history of achievement in improving public health.
- Sarah Verbiest, MSW, MPH, DrPH, is the Director of the Jordan Institute for Families in the UNC School of Social Work and the Executive Director of the Collaborative for Maternal and Infant Health in the UNC School of Medicine. Dr. Verbiest has over 25 years of experience in maternal, child, and family well-being. She supervises programs that serve clinics across North Carolina, serves on policy teams, holds a robust research portfolio, and has convened statewide coalitions to address maternal and infant mortality disparities. Dr. Verbiest has led complex mixed-methods research studies and leveraged the findings into on-the-ground change. She also has written and edited books and textbooks focused on maternal and child health. She is a Co-Principal Director for the national Maternal Health Learning and Innovation Center, is on the steering committee for the HRSA MCHB Lifecourse Intervention Research Network, and also leads the national NC Preconception Health and Health Care Initiative.

Intentional Death Prevention Committee Co-Chairs

- Jennie Kristiansen, MSW, MSW, LCSW is the Director of Social Services in Chatham County where she has worked since 2007. Ms. Kristiansen is a tri-chair of the Children's Services Committee of the NC Association of County Directors of Social Services and serves on the Unified Leadership Team, a partnership between state and county leaders to transform child welfare. She co-chairs the Chatham County Community Child Protection- Child Fatality Prevention Team, is a member of the Juvenile Crime Prevention Council, and the Vaya Health Region 4 Board of Directors. In 2022, Ms. Kristiansen was named Director of the Year by the NC Association of County Directors of Social Services. Ms. Kristiansen has served on the Child Fatality Task Force since 2018.
- [Whitney Belich, JD, is the other co-chair of this committee but she was elected last year for a two-year term so is not up for election today]