MEMORANDUM

TO: JOINT LEGISLATIVE COMMISSION ON GOVERNMENT
OPERATIONS

FROM: NORTH CAROLINA BOARD OF MASSAGE AND BODYWORK
THERAPY

RE: 21 NCAC 30.1013

DATE: JUNE 22, 2015

The North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork Therapy has submitted for adoption
permanent Rule 21 NCAC 30.1013 to charge various fees to issue and renew licenses for
massage and bodywork therapy establishments. The licenses are for a two year period and are
renewed every other year. The fees are similar to those currently being charged to issue and
renew licenses for massage and bodywork therapy practitioners. The current fees to isue and
renew licenses for massage and bodywork therapy establishments are $0.

The amounts of the proposed fees are:

21 NCAC 30.1013 FEES

(a) Fees shall be as follows:

(1) Application for Examination of Requirements for License $ 20.00
(2) License fee 150.00
(3) License renewal 100.00
(4) Late renewal penalty 75.00
(5)  Duplicate license 25.00

(b) Fees shall be nonrefundable and shall be paid in the form of a cashier's check, certified
check, or money order made payable to the North Carolina Board of Massage and Bodywork
Therapy.

(c) If the applicant is currently licensed to practice massage and bodywork therapy in North
Carolina and is practicing massage and bodywork therapy as a sole practitioner, the

establishment license fee and license renewal fee shall be waived.

The Practice Act in 90-626(8) provides for charging fees. The Practice Act also states in 90-
626(9) that the Board has the power to “Adopt, amend, or repeal any rules necessary to carry out



the purposes of this Article and the duties and responsibilities of the Board, including rules
related to the approval of ....massage and bodywork therapy establishments.” The Board has the
power and duty to charge fees to license and renew licenses for massage and bodywork therapy
establishments.

The Board currently does not license massage and bodywork therapy establishments. In its
formative years the Board focused its attention on licensing, renewing and disciplining massage
and bodywork therapists and then the approval of massage and bodywork therapy schools. The
Board is now in a position to fulfill its duty to approve massage and bodywork therapy
establishments. The Board will have the authority to discipline establishments that hire
unlicensed persons or that offer illegal activities under the guise of massage therapy. Regulation
of massage and bodywork therapy establishments will assist State and local law enforcement by
identifying unlicensed establishments and will protect the public by identifying and disciplining
establishments that offer illicit, illegal services.



