NC Child Fatality Task Force Members Statutory Authority: N.C.G.S. 7B-1402

[Accurate as of November 8, 2024]

Governor Appointees (4)			Appointment expiration
1.	A director of a county department of social services, appointed by the Governor upon recommendation of the President of the North Carolina Association of County Directors of Social Services	Jennifer Kristiansen Director of Social Services Chatham County	1-31-26
2.	A representative from a Sudden Infant Death Syndrome or safe infant sleep counseling and education program, appointed by the Governor upon recommendation of the Maternal and Child Health Section of the Department of Health and Human Services	Dr. Sarah Verbiest Executive Director UNC Collaborative for Maternal & Infant Health	1-31-25
3.	A representative from NC Child, appointed by the Governor upon recommendation of the President of the organization	Tiffany Gladney Policy Director NC Child	1-31-25
4.	A director of a local department of health, appointed by the Governor upon the recommendation of the President of the North Carolina Association of Local Health Directors	Wes Gray Health Director Pitt County Health Department	1-31-25
Но	ouse Speaker Appointees (10)		
	A representative from a private group, other than NC Child, that advocates for children, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives upon recommendation of private child advocacy organizations	Karen McLeod President and CEO Benchmarks	1-31-26
2.	A pediatrician, licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives upon recommendation of the NC Pediatric Society	Dr. Martin McCaffrey Pediatrician UNC	1-31-26
3.	A representative from the North Carolina League of Municipalities, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives upon recommendation of the League	Martha Sue Hall Albemarle City Council; Board of Directors NC League of Municipalities	1-31-26
4.	One public member, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives	Katherine Pope	1-31-26
5.	One representative of the NC Domestic Violence Commission, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives upon recommendation of the Director of the Commission	TeAndra Miller <i>Managing Attorney & Project Director, DVSA Practice Group, Legal Aid of North Carolina</i>	1-31-26
6.	Five members of the House of Representatives, appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.	Dr. Kristin Baker Carla Cunningham Donnie Loftis Diane Wheatley Donna White	1-31-26 (all)

NOTES:

- According to law enacted in 2015, third-party recommendations for legislative appointments are discretionary, not binding, and legislative appointments on this chart where a third-party recommender is noted may or may not have been made according to a third-party recommendation.
- If a member's appointment has expired, the member serves until a new appointment or reappointment is made.

Senate Appointees (10)		Appointment expiration
A representative from the North Carolina Association of County Commissioners, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate upon recommendation of the Association	Hope Haywood County Commissioner, Randolph County	1-31-25
One public member, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate	Jill Cox President & CEO Communities in Schools NC	1-31-25
One representative of the NC Coalition Against Domestic Violence, appointed by the President Pro Tem of the Senate upon recommendation of the Executive Director of the Coalition	Trishana Jones Programs Director NC Coalition Against Domestic Violence	1-31-25
A county or municipal law enforcement officer, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate upon recommendation of organizations that represent local law enforcement officers	VACANT	
5. A district attorney appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate upon recommendation of the President of the North Carolina Conference of District Attorneys	Sarah Kirkman District Attorney Judicial District 22A	1-31-25
 Five members of the Senate, appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate 	Jim Burgin Todd Johnson Vickie Sawyer Sydney Batch Gale Adcock	1-31-25 (all)
Ex Officio Members	Member or Designee	
The Chief Medical Examiner	Dr. Michelle Aurelius Chief Medical Examiner	ongoing
The Attorney General	Laura Brewer Deputy Chief of Staff, AG Josh Stein, NC DOJ	ongoing
The Director of the Division of Social Services of the Department of Health and Human Services	Lisa Cauley Senior Director of Child, Family, & Adult Services, Division of Social Services, NC DHHS	ongoing
The Director of the State Bureau of Investigation	Kevin Tabron Asst. Director, SBI	ongoing
The Director of the Maternal and Child Health Section of the Department of Health and Human Services	Dr. Kelly Kimple Senior Medical Director for Health Promotion, NC Title V Director, NC Division of Public Health	ongoing
The Director of Council for Women and Youth Involvement	Danielle Carman Executive Director CWYI	ongoing
The Superintendent of Public Instruction	Karen Fairley Executive Director NC Center for Safer Schools	ongoing
The Chairman of the State Board of Education	Dr. Ellen Essick Section Chief NC Healthy Schools, DPI	ongoing
The Director of the Division of Child and Family Well-Being of the Department of Health and Human Services	Dr. Gerri Mattson Senior Medical Director Division of Child & Family Well-Being	ongoing
The Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services	Dr. Betsey Tilson State Health Director	ongoing
The Director of the Administrative Office of the Courts	Lorrie L. Dollar Administrator Guardian Ad Litem Program	ongoing
Director of the Juvenile Justice Section, Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice, Department of Public Safety	William Lassiter Deputy Secretary for Juvenile Justice, DPS	ongoing